Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

  1. #1
    Jon1776's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    Alright, here's a problem that I've been faced with for the past week or so:a

    Every time I go to start (or load) a campaign in RTW, it crashes to desktop. I have no idea why, and I know that it isn't a fluke, unless my install discs are corrupted now. Here's how: I've uninstalled, reinstalled, and patched multiple times over the past week, and each time, it happens. The only time it doesn't do this, is when I run the game immediately after patching it to 1.5, but on the next play, even five minutes later, it crashes again.

    Here's the full Windows error report:

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: RomeTW.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.0
    Application Timestamp: 438afb5a
    Fault Module Name: RomeTW.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 438afb5a
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 00ab1869
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 9fca
    Additional Information 2: 0c7a94d70badbd89705dcf5c3bec35ae
    Additional Information 3: 55a5
    Additional Information 4: d8fe09cdf78f15fae6adfd400dd970d7


    If anyone can help me with this, I will be forever grateful. RTW is one of my favorite Total War games, and it really depresses me that I cannot play it.

  2. #2
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    43,969

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    Have you ever been able to play on this computer?

  3. #3
    Jon1776's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    Have you ever been able to play on this computer?


    Yes, I have. This is the only computer that I've had it on for about 5 years.

  4. #4
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    43,969

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    What version of Wndows?

  5. #5
    Jon1776's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    Quote Originally Posted by irishron View Post
    What version of Wndows?
    Windows Vista (2008), but, like I said, I've been playing this game on this laptop for years. It's only now, recently, happened.

  6. #6
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    43,969

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    It could be the laptop is wearing out. Nothing new.

    Out of curiosity, when was the last time you cleaned out the case? Especially the vents, fans, heatsink(s)?

  7. #7
    Jon1776's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Cannot Start or Load any RTW Campaign, AT ALL

    Just last week (the day before I started having the troubles...) I try keeping my computer in good condition. o~o

    By any chance, this idea popped into my head a few minutes ago:
    A long time ago, I used the Rome Total Realism mod, and after I uninstalled it, did a system wipe of Rome Total War. Could, if by any chance, left over folders (despite being in an entirely separate program file) be the problem? Because that is the only thing I can think of anymore, really.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •