Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

  1. #1
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    I tried putting -ne, -w and -windowed in the directory thing but it doesnt work, also the option doest appear in the RS2 preference thing. How can I go about this.

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  2. #2
    Pinkie Pie's Avatar Tribunus Augusticlavii
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    12,861
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    I think it has something to do with how the game is seperated into many mod folders.

    As far as I know none of those commands work, I myself tried the -ai command (all factions are ai controlled) as I like to watch the ai fight each other every now and then but it did not work.

  3. #3
    Post Hoc's Avatar Princeps Prior
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,468
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Did you make sure that there is a space beteween 'cam' and '-ne'? With no space it doesnt work for me, but with a space it works.
    "To say of what is that it is not, or of what is not that it is, is false, while to say of what is that it is, and of what is not that it is not, is true" ~ Aristotle

  4. #4
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Yes.

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  5. #5
    Paedric's Avatar RS local moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,288
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Have you try to put it in the launcher? In the small box at the bottom. You need to click on save then.
    Under the patronage of apple.
    Patron of ybbon66.

  6. #6
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Well yeah, thats what I did, on the launcher thing.

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  7. #7
    Paedric's Avatar RS local moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,288
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    And then it doesn't save it? If you reload the launcher later, you can't see -ne in the box?
    Under the patronage of apple.
    Patron of ybbon66.

  8. #8
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Its there, I put the "-" save and start, doesnt work, and when I open it again its still there and still doesnt work.

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  9. #9
    Paedric's Avatar RS local moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,288
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Could you try to put it directly in the shortcut to see if it works please?
    Under the patronage of apple.
    Patron of ybbon66.

  10. #10
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    In the launcher shortcut or in the Rome/BI/Alex shortcut?

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  11. #11
    Munifex
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    I actually got it work! This is how I did:

    In the top folder of the installation, I opened the RS2_RTW command file with wordpad (RS_RTW because I'm launching with RTW and not BI or Alex)

    Scrolled down to this line:

    lay_Rome_One_Turn
    START /MAX rometw.exe -nm -show_err -ne -modlay_Rome_One_Turn
    goto end

    (lay_Rome_One_Turn because that's the campaign I'm playing) and typed in the -ne command as shown above.

    Saved and closed wordpad

    Double click on the command file to open and play the game

    Voila!

  12. #12
    tone's Avatar Just visiting
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    23,162
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    I've always just put it in the launcher.


    Under patronage of Spirit of Rob; Patron of Century X, Pacco, Cherryfunk, Leif Erikson. Become a Roma Surrectum 2 Beta tester!

  13. #13
    Munifex
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    I would also love to do it in the launcher, but somehow the launcher just won't load correctly.

    It just freezes, and I have to ctrl+alt+del to get out of it...

    That's why I always have to go via the command file...

  14. #14
    saxdude's Avatar Centurio Primus Pilus
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    House of Erotic Maneuvering
    Posts
    9,488
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Hmm I think I might have gotten the gist of it tho, ya see, I believe the -ne in the launcher does work, you have to change the resolution in video options to a lower setting and then press the computer screen to the right of the resolution drop box, the one that says apply resolution change. And boom, windowed. I just assumed it would work like Medieval 2 total war.

    And now you dont have to change the file Sweavenger.

    I also Paint! do check out my deviantart page to see whats up!:
    http://thesax66.deviantart.com/

  15. #15
    Miles
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    113
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Anyway to play this in a windowed mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paedric View Post
    Could you try to put it directly in the shortcut to see if it works please?
    How do you do that?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •