Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 61 to 66 of 66

Thread: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

  1. #61
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Barackolypse Now
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    22,558

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    Earlier today I broke Apache and swapped back to lighttpd, which is actually not piling on load anymore so I am going to leave it running. However I do think I got Apache working with fast-cgi instead of the default config. I tested it on a local box here and it runs, so if lighttpd pukes again I will switch over to apache again and we will see.

    I also just made some changes to mysql on thor. I increased the table_cache to 800 as we were maxed out at 128 and when I bumped it to 400 we maxed that out too, and I bumped the max connections from 500 to 1000. Right now we are only using 34 but have a historic max of 500 which was the previous cap. Possibly we hit that during the upgrade and havent hit it since but I will let it run for a couple of days and find out for sure.

  2. #62
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Barackolypse Now
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    22,558

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    Apache is fixed if we need to load it up again for some reason. I just tested it but its awfully slow compared to lighttpd.

  3. #63
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Barackolypse Now
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    22,558

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    I made a few changes to apc.ini and to 15-fastcgi-php.conf and booted the server. Loads are down a bit.

  4. #64
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Barackolypse Now
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    22,558

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    Squid, are you running a task on thor/mysql? I noticed that the load is over 2 on thor for the first time since we moved the site to mjollnir. Its been averaging 5-6 all day and there is a lot more drive activity. If this isnt something you are running, then we are hitting the database a lot more than we have been recently which might be why the site is running a little better. Maybe the bottleneck has been in getting php to send requests from mjollnir to thor, and now they are getting processed faster and getting out.

  5. #65
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Barackolypse Now
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    22,558

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    I made some changes to apc.ini, upped the memory limit to 4 gigs.

  6. #66
    magpie's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ireland,Co Kilkenny
    Posts
    10,183

    Default Re: VBulletin 4 Upgrade Thread

    Sorry if this is the wrong thread to post in regarding TWC technical behaviour.

    I noticed a time difference between my computer and posts in the TWC forums.

    Its not large some 2 minutes, Say my computer reads 15:00 hours but the posts are reading 15:02 .

    Of course it could be my computer is out of sync or just maybe its the server that,s slightly out ?

    I am on GMT time zone.
    Just thought I would bring this up.

    regards,

    mags

    sponsered by the noble Prisca

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •