Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Campaign - Vanilla or Modded?

Default New Campaign - Vanilla or Modded?

Hey, I am going to start a new campaign as Otomo. I am wondering whether to play vanilla or use mods like DarthMod or Radious Mod. I played DarthMod in my last campaign while it was good in some aspects it was annoying in others, my cav couldnt get out of the gates in sieges, the battles lasted too long meaning the campaign as a whole was very long, the AI still seemed to make alot of mistakes, the large unit sizes made it feel like moving units around was harder and i am still undecided on the garrisons as it is so easy to protect from AI naval landings because you already have a big garrison but it is realistic i guess but feels a bit like cheating and it means i never do attacking sieges, i starve them out. Or i could use Radious mod but i have never tried it out before, so i dont know about it.

Any help would be appreciated.

john duca's Avatar Biarchus

Default Re: New Campaign - Vanilla or Modded?

vanilla or tenka fubu.

If you like DM mod, so play DM mod. No need to start vanilla campaign as long as DM mod support Otomo, else, just back to Vanilla.
    Its easy to make war with others, its never been easy when we need a peace.

My holy damn simple tactic; Strike First, Strike HARD and SHOW NO MERCY.

Vanilla, from my experience, is the hardest version. Mods offer more variety. Many of the things mod makers like to change are things that might be somewhat annoying but which the AI benefits from far more than the player side (RD, diplomacy reliability, income and upkeep, tech rate, garrisons).

People started modding the game before they even understood it. So for a good player, a lot of these changes are misinformed because many of these things were overcome by practice and familiarity with the game.

Radius lower upkeep from 70-80 to 22.