Page 100 of 101 FirstFirst ... 50 75 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 LastLast
Results 1,981 to 2,000 of 2005

Thread: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

  1. #1981

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Hi, just started playing SS over the weekend. Really good mod so far.

    I have a few questions which lead me here.

    Is there a manual?

    How do I make generals/family members rich so they don't borrow money and end up getting banished because they can't pay it back, without using them to take a settlement?

    Can I train generals at any point in the game or do I have to rely on marriages and "man of the hour"?

    Can I use a banished general in a crusade to try and get him back on good terms with the king?

    Any tips on managing the economy so the nobles don't end up bankrupting me, or I don't end up bankrupting the nobles and they end up rebelling, would be great.
    Thanks

  2. #1982
    Losthief's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,833

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    1. kinda: http://www.twcenter.net/wiki/Stainless_Steel

    its outdated/unfinished. There is also guides in that sub forum (look up top) but dunno how great they are.

    2. Thats a submod called byg's bgr trait. Look in that (bgr) submod thread for his manual. The bgr 2/4 depending on what you have ticked is in the back of his bgrV manual.

    3. Defalut you have to rely. theres a 'trainable general' mod floating around, but be careful, if you train too many and have no family members (aka on family tree) and the last one dies you lose.

    4. Again read the bgr manual or turn it off in ss_setup.exe. Pre-banished no, you can either sit him in with your faction leaders army (and he can recover funds that way) or you can just let him go rebel. If he is just broke and goes on crusade he won't get banished/punished cause of the crusade, so useful if you have a poor general or two.

    5. Early on focus on markets and ports and roads. But if you don't have bgr on you will have an easy time with economy/money in default ss6.4. there are more tips in the manual and submod thread for bgr if you want to keep using it. Big no no is mercs, they are expensive per turn in bgr.
    LoSTHieF
    I'd rather be lucky than skilled!

    Guaranteed Working Install Guide for SS6.4 (and thus for SS6.3) with Pictures on Windows 7 and Vista operating systems.
    available here:

    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...1#post10831841


  3. #1983

    Icon14 Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Cheers bro.

  4. #1984

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Ok, sorry for posting twice in a row but I don't see an edit function.

    I've changed the timescale to 0.25 (4 turns a year) but characters are still ageing at 1 year per turn.
    How do I change it so it matches the timescale?
    (I realise this will quadruple the length of the game)

  5. #1985

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    I'm playing SS 6.4 as the Crusader States. In the settlements that I start with, I am given the opportunity to build Templar (and Hospitalier) chapter houses as I would any other building--and not only that, these chapter houses don't preclude me from being offered a second kind of guild in those settlements (merchant's and theologian's so far)!

    What I want to know is: Is this a bug, or a feature? And if I get the guild points to build Templar Chapter Houses in other cities (Cairo, for instance) will I be able to build a second guild there too?

    Thanks!

  6. #1986
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Quote Originally Posted by caleb_trask View Post
    I'm playing SS 6.4 as the Crusader States. In the settlements that I start with, I am given the opportunity to build Templar (and Hospitalier) chapter houses as I would any other building--and not only that, these chapter houses don't preclude me from being offered a second kind of guild in those settlements (merchant's and theologian's so far)!

    What I want to know is: Is this a bug, or a feature? And if I get the guild points to build Templar Chapter Houses in other cities (Cairo, for instance) will I be able to build a second guild there too?
    Thanks!
    IIRC the chapter houses are regular buildings in the SS - you can build them in a normal way in certain provinces being a right faction (is such a faction which historically had access to the relevant orders). The guilds are separate and you can still build just one in a province. (but in your example in Cairo I expect you to be able to build both.
    For those who want to play a historical mod in a medieval setting:
    try either the Stainless Steel Historical Improvement Project + minimods,
    or the Broken Crescent + Buff and Shine submod.
    ..........................................................................................................................................................................
    Reviews of the mods: SSHIP (2018), Wrath of the Norsemen (2018), Broken Crescent (2018).
    Minimods for the SSHIP: Generals Traits, Provincial Titles, Crowns.
    Short guides for the SSHIP: population growth, forts and watchtowers.
    Pros and cons of having Merchants in an M2TW mod.
    Home rules for playing a game without exploiting the M2TW engine deficiencies.
    Dominant strategy in Attila TW and Rome 2 TW: “Sniping groups of armies”.
    A review of the Thrones of Britannia after the Sept 2018 update.

  7. #1987

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Quote Originally Posted by caleb_trask View Post
    I'm playing SS 6.4 as the Crusader States. In the settlements that I start with, I am given the opportunity to build Templar (and Hospitalier) chapter houses as I would any other building--and not only that, these chapter houses don't preclude me from being offered a second kind of guild in those settlements (merchant's and theologian's so far)!

    What I want to know is: Is this a bug, or a feature? And if I get the guild points to build Templar Chapter Houses in other cities (Cairo, for instance) will I be able to build a second guild there too?

    Thanks!
    It's a feature. As to whether you go with Templars or Hospitallers, it's entirely up to you as the unit stats are pretty much identical, though Templars IIRC have slightly less discipline.

  8. #1988
    Maiar93's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    3,251

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    What time periods does this mod span?
    Predictor of AAR Plot Points and a wannabe forum ninja

  9. #1989
    Zooasaurus's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Is this mod still in development or is v6.4 the final?

  10. #1990
    Marble Emperor's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Where soul meets body
    Posts
    97

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    I think that 6.4 is the final official version, however, there are still several submods in development that aim to further the scope of the mod. SSHIP and Titanium are the two most popular, but HURB is also pretty well done.

  11. #1991

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Hi

    I just started playing SS6.4 with the HRE, but there one thing (probably plenty more..) when it comes to recruitment that I still don't unterstand:

    In the Early Game I am trying to recruit more Cavalry Units, but the counter, until more Troops will be available, seems to be stuck.
    It says "7 turns until next unit will be available..", but in the next turn it still says 7?

    Its the same in every other castle, but it works for spearmen and archers.

  12. #1992
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Looks like you're using the BGR_IV option. You need to read the manual for this submod to understand what are the conditions to recruit better troops. It's quite complicated.
    For those who want to play a historical mod in a medieval setting:
    try either the Stainless Steel Historical Improvement Project + minimods,
    or the Broken Crescent + Buff and Shine submod.
    ..........................................................................................................................................................................
    Reviews of the mods: SSHIP (2018), Wrath of the Norsemen (2018), Broken Crescent (2018).
    Minimods for the SSHIP: Generals Traits, Provincial Titles, Crowns.
    Short guides for the SSHIP: population growth, forts and watchtowers.
    Pros and cons of having Merchants in an M2TW mod.
    Home rules for playing a game without exploiting the M2TW engine deficiencies.
    Dominant strategy in Attila TW and Rome 2 TW: “Sniping groups of armies”.
    A review of the Thrones of Britannia after the Sept 2018 update.

  13. #1993

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Thanks for your answer.

    It seems that theres a maximum number of feudal/early professionals units I can keep in my empire at once.
    When I abandon or lose a whole unit in battle, im able to recruit more in the next turn.

  14. #1994

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    I have often wondered if there is a particular number of enemies you have to kill on the battle map before you gain a chevron. [?]

    In the past, I have noticed that if I have a small unit number of cavalry (say 3 Mailed Knights) who I keep back for most of the battle, but once the army begins routing...send them to mop up those enemies that are fleeing...the smaller the number of cavalry that I have seem to quickly rack up chevrons.

    Any thoughts on this?

  15. #1995
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    1,805

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Quote Originally Posted by malleebull View Post
    I have often wondered if there is a particular number of enemies you have to kill on the battle map before you gain a chevron. [?]

    In the past, I have noticed that if I have a small unit number of cavalry (say 3 Mailed Knights) who I keep back for most of the battle, but once the army begins routing...send them to mop up those enemies that are fleeing...the smaller the number of cavalry that I have seem to quickly rack up chevrons.

    Any ideas?
    It depends on the enemies killed / own losses ratio (in terms of number of men, irrespectively of their quality). If you lose less then you can kill less as well and still get experience (chevrons). Therefore heavy cavalry and archers are usually the best (HC: little loses, many kills, A: no loses, some kills)
    For those who want to play a historical mod in a medieval setting:
    try either the Stainless Steel Historical Improvement Project + minimods,
    or the Broken Crescent + Buff and Shine submod.
    ..........................................................................................................................................................................
    Reviews of the mods: SSHIP (2018), Wrath of the Norsemen (2018), Broken Crescent (2018).
    Minimods for the SSHIP: Generals Traits, Provincial Titles, Crowns.
    Short guides for the SSHIP: population growth, forts and watchtowers.
    Pros and cons of having Merchants in an M2TW mod.
    Home rules for playing a game without exploiting the M2TW engine deficiencies.
    Dominant strategy in Attila TW and Rome 2 TW: “Sniping groups of armies”.
    A review of the Thrones of Britannia after the Sept 2018 update.

  16. #1996

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Hi, I just started playing SS mod and I've noticed something during my last siege battle.

    I build balista towers in one of my citadels so it would be a better stronghold against invasions. But when I was playing the siege battle I noticed the balista towers barely doing any damage, even to weak units like spear militias. Now I remember balista towers being a bit too strong in vanilla, but this seems to be the other extreme.

    Is there a way I can tweak the damage on towers so the defenders have an edge over the attackers? I've been looking into the descr_walls.txt file but all I could find were hitpoints and rate of fire.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  17. #1997

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Rate of fire is probably what you're looking for. As far as I know, a ballista bolt that actually hits a unit should one-shot it like a cannon or catapult would, so if you're suffering a lack of overall damage, increasing the rate of fire should handle it.

    However if you do want to edit the actual damage of the projectile itself it probably falls under descr_projectile.

    It's been so long since I've played vanilla I can't remember if vanilla ballista towers were stronger than the ones we see in SS.
    Last edited by Lin117; April 02, 2018 at 12:37 AM.

  18. #1998

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    I'm not sure if this is the right place for this sort of questiom, so forgive me if it isn't. I never posted on this forum, I think.
    I'm trying to make the Byzantine cavalary unit "Archontopoulai" available since the Militia Barracks, but I wasn't able to. Help please me.

  19. #1999

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Where am I downloading this from? http://www.moddb.com/mods/stainless-...nless-steel-64 I found 6.4 here which seem to be newer is this a legit download?

  20. #2000
    Navajo Joe's Avatar SS Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,108

    Default Re: The Stainless Steel Answer Station - ask all questions here - NOT FOR BUG REPORTS!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ausghostdog View Post
    Where am I downloading this from? http://www.moddb.com/mods/stainless-...nless-steel-64 I found 6.4 here which seem to be newer is this a legit download?
    That is fine, somebody recently updated it





    'Proud to be patronised by cedric37(My Father and My Guardian)

Page 100 of 101 FirstFirst ... 50 75 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •