Thread: Anno Domini 395 Mod

Junker's Avatar Laetus

Default Anno Domini 395 Mod

I am not a programmer, modeler or editor. However, I am a sophomore history student. Games like those from CA and the mods released here truly impress me, and give me hope for the gaming community. In contrast the farthest I have come to modding TW games has been to scriptEdit the campaign years and starting treasury for ETW and NTW.

I have been wanting to try making a mod for a long time, one era that has really caught my interest is the fall of the (Western) Roman Empire in the 5th and 6th centuries. Not a lot of history books really go into depth on this time period and basically just gloss over it for a chapter as a scheduled stop on the way to the Medieval Ages. I have been researching it somewhat in my free time for a while now, and I think this might make a really interesting mod. I am somewhat familiar with what can and cannot be edited in NTW with the present tools and editors. PLEASE NOTE I WAS THINKING OF THIS BEFORE ROME II WAS ANNOUNCED. But I still want to devote my time to it. Anyway please tell me what you think and if I seem to overlook something.

Ideas; (more to come)

Start in 395 with Theodosius' reign coming to a close. (The beginning of the 5th century is great for a Dark Ages mod. Even though the Roman Empire didn't technically collapse until Odovacar deposed Little Augustus in 476, the Empire was much already a 'barbarian' kingdom. Theodosius was also the last emperor to officially rule over the East AND Western Empires as well.)

I have considered adding 12 more turns per year to slow the momentum of the barbarian takeover of Western Europe. This would mean an early, mid, and late turn for each month totaling 36 turns per year.