Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Regarding Samurai

Elianus's Avatar Ordinarius

Default Regarding Samurai

I have to say that this mod keeps getting even more awesome as time passes. I love both the gameplay and the eye candy. However, there are a couple of things that I find odd. First of all, foot samurai. A few months back I suggested that the katana samurai and the archers should be merged into a hybrid unit (that would be the ''generic'' samurai and historically accurate, please correct me if I am wrong). I understand that back then there might have been an issue with variety (no problem IMO) but things have changed. This wonderful mod has added many new units and even though I am by no means an expert on Japanese History I am certain that there are many ''named'' units that can be included so no problems there. If you do that you could perhaps include an elite ''guard'' archer unit (but with great melee stats as well).

The same thing applies to yari cavalry. I suggest that you make them excellent melee fighters and turn the katana cavalry into an elite (tachi perhaps?) unit with great melee stats and bows but not quite as good ranged capabilities as dedicated horse archers (who should also have at least decent melee stats).

Last, I have no knowledge of Hankyu Samurai but if they are inteded to be used as an assault unit I think that the should have better melee stats. That is all. I trully love your work and hope that at least some of these make it into the mod

Edit: How am I supposed to use ashigaru kashira?
    ''Πας μη Έλλην, βάρβαρος.''

Akaie's Avatar Sangi Ukon'e no Chūjō

Default Re: Regarding Samurai

Ashigaru Kashira are like mini-generals, due to their rally and inspire abilities. They'll also hold their own in melee and against cavalry, but of course, not as effective as yari ashigaru .

Hankyu was a shorter bow, so I took a stylistic leaning with CAs Daikyu Samurai and made their range shorter to represent that for a bit of tactical variety .