Thread: The rise of the demos

I Have a Clever Name's Avatar Clever User Title
    I have no absolute knowledge of where I live, much is based on trust and cartography.

Default The rise of the demos

Athens on the dawn of the 6th century reeked of the provincial. Though times were changing, and the revolutionary invention of coinage in Ionia had sparked prosperty and innovation across the rest of Greece, Athens remained stubbornly in the past. Athenian aristocrats, known as the Eupatrids or 'well-born', responded with disdain to a fickle concept such as money. Understandably so, as previously all capital had been locked up in their extensive estates. The merchants, shrugging their shoulders, continued raking in the cash. Trade, now more lucrative than ever with the introduction of the clinking of silver, had seduced almost every elite in Greece. The two principle exceptions were the parochial Eupatrids, and their puritanical tradionalist Spartan counterparts, the Heraclids. Athens was regarded, for all intents and purposes, as a backward :wub:.

Where all other polis in Greece strived for eunomia or 'good governance', the Athenians were only rivalled in their apalling social situation by the pre-Lycurgan Spartans. The Eupatrid land owners, by oppressing the lower orders, had unleashed an agrarian nightmare upon Attica. The aristocratic estates served to consume all in their path. Desperate farmers, prepared to sell their freedom in a bid to survive, might well end up in shackles, toiling away in what was previously their own farm. Debtors, unable to pay their creditors, were forced to exchange their liberty for collateral. With the poor powerless, it appeared that the class imbalance would continue in perpetuity.