Page 33 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33
Results 641 to 658 of 658

Thread: modding campaign map

  1. #641
    Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Chicago,IL
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    is it possible to create a new map? e.g. europe or usa?

  2. #642

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Yes, from what I've seen and heard though it is very time consuming because of how much work goes into each new region.

  3. #643
    Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Chicago,IL
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    is there any update about the campain map?

  4. #644

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by djangooo View Post
    is there any update about the campain map?
    yeah, check the mod threads under gameplay tweaks

  5. #645

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    so do you think people will eventually mod the campaign map for etw and ntw?

  6. #646
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    736

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by philiposV View Post
    so do you think people will eventually mod the campaign map for etw and ntw?
    GeneralWolfe, uanime5, give an ear to us

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  7. #647
    Goutlard's Avatar Janissary
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France / Turkey
    Posts
    769

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Nizam View Post
    GeneralWolfe, uanime5, give an ear to us
    Indeed we're all waiting !
    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award !



  8. #648
    MagicCuboid's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    687

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Unfortunately the ability to mod the Shogun 2 campaign map is not compatible with Empire.
    "I've snapped and plotted all my life. There's no other way to be alive, king, and fifty all at once." - Henry II, The Lion in Winter

  9. #649

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    In theory it should be possible to make a new map using Shogun 2's tools, then convert it into an ETW or NTW mod; however this would involve a lot of work. Also I don't think you can make a map larger than 1280 by 640, which is a quarter the size of ETW's map (much of the southern parts of ETW's map was offscreen).
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  10. #650
    Malcolm's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    325

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    In theory it should be possible to make a new map using Shogun 2's tools, then convert it into an ETW or NTW mod; however this would involve a lot of work. Also I don't think you can make a map larger than 1280 by 640, which is a quarter the size of ETW's map (much of the southern parts of ETW's map was offscreen).
    I know it has been a long time since you posted this Uanime5 but how exactly do you think it would be possible to convert a map to NTW from S2TW?

    The size of the map doesn't bother me.

  11. #651

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcolm View Post
    I know it has been a long time since you posted this Uanime5 but how exactly do you think it would be possible to convert a map to NTW from S2TW?

    The size of the map doesn't bother me.
    What I was proposing was the following:

    1) Make a replica of the NTW map in 3d Max.
    2) Make all the esf files associated with this map using Bob.
    3) Convert these esf files so they work with NTW.

    While 1 and 2 should be possible I don't know about 3 as it will depend upon how different NTW and S2TW are. Unless you can use a pathfinding.esf from S2 in NTW you will never be able to get the new regions/settlements/towns/ports/farms to work correctly.

    If you want to play an NTW campaign in S2TW then you just need to edit the S2TW map so it looks like an NTW map. However this will be time consuming as you'll need to make an entirely new map.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  12. #652
    Malcolm's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    325

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Thanks for the reply Uanime5!

    Yeah I think I will have to end up modding the Shogun II campaign map instead of importing into NTW. Might have just saved a lot of time if it could have been converted but that sounds beyond my skill to achieve.

    I will have to see how North & South get on with their complete re-haul of the map!

    Thanks again.

  13. #653
    alhoon's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chania, Greece
    Posts
    20,595

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    In theory it should be possible to make a new map using Shogun 2's tools, then convert it into an ETW or NTW mod; however this would involve a lot of work. Also I don't think you can make a map larger than 1280 by 640, which is a quarter the size of ETW's map (much of the southern parts of ETW's map was offscreen).
    Yes, but ETW has theatres. Or it's still too small size?

  14. #654

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Unsure if you can make the map bigger. You could make several maps and use one for each theatre.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  15. #655

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by wangrin View Post
    Supertexture Tool and tutorial : Stupid from Crux3d

    1. S2TW SUPERTEXTURE


      S2TW supertexture can be find in campaign_maps\..._japan\display\supertexture folder from data.pack

      To use Stupid, you have to :
      • extract supertexture files in the same folder as stupid.exe
      • use SHIFT + right clic on the folder and select "open command windows here"
      • use command line below depending of your goal


      Exemple :
      • extract sho_japan supertexture in a C:\s2tw folder
      • launch cmd
      • use this command line : stupid extract "C:\s2tw\supertexture" "C:\s2tw\test" 0 0 50 32


      supertexture is the name of supertexture files (supertexture.stpi and .stpd)
      test is the name of extracted bitmap from supertexture files

      Bitmap I've extracted are particularly big : 25600x16384 pixels.

    2. SUPERTEXTURE PREVIEW :
      • CLI
        stupid preview <path to supertexture> <path to extracted preview bitmaps>

        example:
        stupid preview "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\empire total war\data\supertexture.pack\world_" empire_preview
      • ETW and NTW
        Stupid writes 2 bitmaps :
        • a colour map (filename.bmp);
        • an alpha map (filename.alpha.bmp) that defines where water is.
          Both files provide a minified view of supertexture.

        Stupid also writes some basic information about the supertexture to the console
      • S2TW
        Stupid writes 2 bitmaps :
        • a colour map (filename.bmp)
        • a normal map (filename.normal.bmp)

        Both files provide a minified view of supertexture.
        Stupid also writes some basic information about the supertexture to the console.

    3. EXTRACTING SUPERTEXTURE
      • CLI
        stupid extract <path to supertexture> <path to extracted bitmaps> <x position of first tile to extract> <y position of first tile to extract> <width in tiles of the extracted section> <height in tiles of the extracted section>

        example:
        stupid extract "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\napoleon total war\data\campaign_maps\nap_europe\display\Supertexture\supertexture" nap_europe_tile 8 8 16 16
      • ETW and NTW
        Stupid writes two bitmaps :
        • a colour bitmap (filename.bmp) ;
        • an alpha map (filename.alpha.bmp) that define where water is ;

        Both files contain a subsection of the full resolution supertexture.
        You could use this to extract the entire supertexture at once, but be aware that for the Empire supertexture this would be a 6GB colour map and 2GB alpha map!
      • S2TW
        Stupid writes two bitmaps :
        • a colour bitmap (filename.bmp)
        • a normal map (filename.normal.bmp)

        Both files contain a subsection of the full resolution supertexture
    Any idea why my test.bmp is coming out as only 40mb and 100% black (open in Photoshop) but the test_normal.bmp comes out correct with 1.7gb.
    I followed the command: stupid extract "C:\s2tw\supertexture" "C:\s2tw\test" 0 0 50 32 to get these out.

    unsure of what other #s I could use besides 0 0 50 32 , as I dont understand where you are getting ur height and width values from.

  16. #656
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Director Patrician Citizen

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    10,432
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Sorry for necroposting this thread. I'm totally new in Shogun 2 and I'd like to know what do I need (tools, tutorial, info, etc...) if I want to look on how to mod that campaign map. As mentioned above, there's the Stupid Tool. I've seen mentions of TEd as well as of 3ds Max and some others.
    However, I have to admit that I'm a bit confused. Some advices would be welcome. Thanks in advance for your time and inputs
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader



  17. #657

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Here you have tutorial how add new region, and here you have tutorial how edit land
    Generally, if you want edit campaign map you need 3DS Max 2010, Shogun 2 Assembly Kit and PFM or RPFM, if you want edit detail (such as shroud, borders, bridges, etc.) you need tools as stupid tool and TAW converters

  18. #658
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Director Patrician Citizen

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    10,432
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Thanks Sara

    By TAW converters, do you refer to these? Do I need all of them?

    Edit: Nvm, I've found out with this thread
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; March 16, 2019 at 07:25 AM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader



Page 33 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •