Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Modelling Questions (especially about the compatibility of "sculptris")

Kaunitz's Avatar Centenarius

Default Modelling Questions (especially about the compatibility of "sculptris")

Hello!

After very frustrating modelling attempts with blender and milkshape, I've found "sculptris" (it's free! ). It seems as if this is the only programm that enables an absolute newbie like me to create models that look okay. Now, before I delve fully into it and spend lots of time, I wanted to ask some expert if there are any problems to use the models that I create in sculptris in the game? One can reduce the triangle amount in sculptris, so that the models won't have more polygons than the original files. Also, I've already successfully exported a hat into milkshape. So basically speaking, do you know of any "hidden" obstacles or can I continue to model and to learn (and ask ) about LODs, atlases, etc.? I haven't found a lot of posts/topics about sculptris in this board, so I'm kind of insecure.

scratch built WIP tricorn in sculptris (by far too many polygons, don't worry about them; edges need to be smoothened, etc. etc.)

(One problem I had when I tried to import a vanilla coat into sculptris is that an error message popped up telling me that there were too many faces connected to a single point/vertice - is there a way around that? Modelling coats from scratch seems to be a bit difficult )
    Last edited by Kaunitz; April 30, 2012 at 03:24 AM.
    KAUNITZ PROJECT
    - a modding project for a better representation of XVIIIth century warfare -

wangrin's Avatar Unguibus et Rostro
    Patrician Artifex

Default Re: Modelling Questions (especially about the compatibility of "sculptris")

This software seems interesting.
    Maybe not to create a new model but to optimize it or help to create a "real" normal_map texture.

About your problem with "too many faces connected to a single point/vertice", what models do you have used ?