Thread: Im new to the Total War series

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Im new to the Total War series

Hello everyone as you can see im a new member i came here because i dont not own any of the series (yet) and would like your thoughts on which one to start, i am leaning towards Shogun 2 as ive watched 20-30 worth (and it looks a hoot) how sad am i

Here are my questions

1) Will it work on my laptop (Satellite C660-1UP) ive been to http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/intro.aspx it says they will but just over the min req, so does anyone play TW on their laptop?

2) Ive heard Steam is needed to play Shogun 2, Why? (simple answer please) also why is Shogun 2 £29.99 on steam and at gamestation its £4.99? i could buy TW:S2 and TW:FOTS Ltd Ed for £20 so WTF

3) Are the mods easy to instill, i would like to get the game and put mods on straight away

Default Re: Im new to the Total War series

Welcome to the forums!

1) I recommend getting a computer that can achieve the recommended requirements. I played ETW on a laptop (that was smack bang between mid and recommended specs) before I got a desktop PC. I found gaming on the laptop very frustrating as it had long load times, and I couldn't take advantage of the graphics and/or unit sizes. If you can put up with that, then it's still worth it.

2) Shogun 2 is activated via steam. It's compulsory. It enables the game to be updated easily, helps with multiplayer (which is increasingly becoming a part of Total War), enhances social aspects etc. Steam prices are often high, it's to lure impatient people with good internet who can easily be tempted to pay a premium for convenience. Steam does do some awesomely good-value sales, though.

3) Most mods are easy, yes. Some of the larger and better supported ones even have applications to install it all for you.
    Last edited by flonky; April 23, 2012 at 09:32 AM.