Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

  1. #1
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Hi,

    I have been trying to mod the mundus_magnus 1.2. It's the only one that actually works for me, the other ones just ctd to desktop

    Anyways, I asked this in another thread and nobody paid any attention so I might as well start a new one.

    I've recently started modding RTW...again after a year or so. I'm not good at it to be honest but can manage a thing or 2. Here is the deal:

    I want to remove a few regions in mundus_magnus and place somewhere else, rename them and give them to other factions. I started with the region of Zufar, Ubar which I placed in the Peloponese near Sparta, renamed the region to Messenia, Messene. Edited the corresponding rebel.txt files, region and settlement names files (pasted at the bottom) deleted map.rwm, launched the game and got booted back to campaign select screen.
    I quit the game and got a message saying error descr_region.txt line 13, column xx "couldn't find tribus_brigantes in the string table". This is quite weird since I haven't even touched the entry of that region. So I removed the Messenia to Italy, renamed it to Picenum, Asculum, re-edited the corresponding text files, deleted map.rwm, launched the game, same error!!!

    Does anyone know what triggers this or what I'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Lü Bu's Avatar "Mightyest Man Alive"
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Split,Croatia
    Posts
    5,419
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    wrong thread man
    Proud patron of Wlesmana
    Assyria Total War
    Check update thread for new HQ models
    My Workshop™


  3. #3
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,011
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Moved out of the tutorial section as this isn't a tutorial.

    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Paedric's Avatar RS local moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,288
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    You'll need to edit the descr_strat too, as well as the descr_region file.
    Under the patronage of apple.
    Patron of ybbon66.

  5. #5
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Paedric View Post
    You'll need to edit the descr_strat too, as well as the descr_region file.
    Thanks for the reply, Paedric. I had almost given up.

    Both files have been edited. I even pasted them at the bottom/end. It's the error that doesn't make sense since it's referring to the very first entry of descr_regions.txt, which I haven't altered in any way whatsoever.

    I hope someone can figure this out because my IT knowledge only goes so far....

  6. #6
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Praefectus Legionis
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,481
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=351

    Check out the tutorials... there is too much to explain.

    Check out the Trivium Map Editor...

  7. #7
    lolIsuck's Avatar WE HAVE NO CAKE?!
    Content Staff Citizen

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Heerlen, Limburg
    Posts
    9,998
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Is there an entry for this rebel type in the rebel files?

  8. #8
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Mathias, lollosuck, thank the both of you for the reply.
    I have checked that link, been there done that.

    To answer your question lollosuck, yes that entry was there before, because everything that I placed in "my map", belongs to the mundus_magnus 1.2 map. I just copied everything and placed them in "my map" folder. Every relevant files where edited, descr_rebels, rebel_sm_faction.txt, descr_region.txt, descr_strat.txt.

    I just don't understand how the show_err tells me that the error lies with an entry I haven't even edited!!!

  9. #9
    lolIsuck's Avatar WE HAVE NO CAKE?!
    Content Staff Citizen

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Heerlen, Limburg
    Posts
    9,998
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Damn, thought Tribus_Brigantes was a rebel type. Is this Tribus_Brigantes in the imperial_file_with_the_very_long_name.txt? This is normally the cause of that error.

  10. #10
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Quote Originally Posted by lolIsuck View Post
    Damn, thought Tribus_Brigantes was a rebel type. Is this Tribus_Brigantes in the imperial_file_with_the_very_long_name.txt? This is normally the cause of that error.
    It certainly is!!

    Tribus Brigantes is a region in England on the mundus magnus map, I'm trying to get rid of some of the regions in the Sahara region, Southern Arabia and the Steppes.

    Like I said, the mundus_magnus v 1.2 works perfectly. all the files mundus_magnus has I put in "my map" folder. edited all the relevant files, and then edited those in data and text folder. I even deleted the map.rwm of the imperial campaign (read it in a tutorial somewhere) and still same error.

  11. #11
    lolIsuck's Avatar WE HAVE NO CAKE?!
    Content Staff Citizen

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Heerlen, Limburg
    Posts
    9,998
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Are you running Vista or W7? Do you have Virtualstore activated?

  12. #12
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    I'm running windows 7 64 bit. I don't know about virtual store. How would I know when it's activated or how can I find that file so I can activate it if it isn't activated?

  13. #13
    lolIsuck's Avatar WE HAVE NO CAKE?!
    Content Staff Citizen

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Heerlen, Limburg
    Posts
    9,998
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    You should actually deactivate it as it's probably active.
    I will find you the instructions.

    edit: Here it is: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=397636
    Last edited by lolIsuck; April 25, 2012 at 09:02 PM.

  14. #14
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Will this virtual store still affect the game/modifications even though the RTW is not installed in any of the program files?

  15. #15
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Thanks for the info, unfortunately that didn't help either. Still keeps telling me no descr_regions.txt tribus_brigantes in string_table

    edit: I've discovered something interesting, though I don't know if it could be the root of the problem.

    I used vercingetorix pak extractor to extract the ui and models_building_texture.pak after I've installed the mundus magnus mod. So when I tried to play the mm provincial campaign, I had a ctd saying that it couldn't find in models_building_texture #&desert_path_stony.tga. When I checked, indeed the models_building_folder didn't even have a texture folder in it. Do you think it could've screwed up when I extracted the pak files?

    edit: Yes, using the vercingetorix pak extractor did mess up the files. I've deleted the data folder and placed a back up data I had saved, played an imperial campaign, no prob. Then I placed the mm mod, started a provincial campaign, played a turn, no problems either.

    As it is late, and I really want to go watch episodes of Game of Thrones, I'll continue tomorrow/later and I'll keep you posted.
    Last edited by LiquidSantanero; April 26, 2012 at 12:33 AM. Reason: interesting discovery

  16. #16
    Muizer's Avatar member 3519
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7,528
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Here's one thing to check when you get "stringtable" errors:

    The files in the "text" folder are encoded in the "UCS-2 Little Endian" format. When you modify anything in the "text" folder, check that you haven't unintentionally changed the format to ANSI, which is the format used for all other txt files.
    "Lay these words to heart, Lucilius, that you may scorn the pleasure which comes from the applause of the majority. Many men praise you; but have you any reason for being pleased with yourself, if you are a person whom the many can understand?" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca -

  17. #17
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Muizer View Post
    Here's one thing to check when you get "stringtable" errors:

    The files in the "text" folder are encoded in the "UCS-2 Little Endian" format. When you modify anything in the "text" folder, check that you haven't unintentionally changed the format to ANSI, which is the format used for all other txt files.
    Hi Muizer,

    You're right. when I saved the modified txt.files it was in ANSI format. These are the only encoding I have when saving txt. files:

    Unicode, ANSI, Unicode Big Endian, UTF-8. Which ones should I use now?

    edit: I tried saving the descr_regions.txt in unicode format, still I get the same problem, just in the unicode language. Like, it's still the string_table in descr_regions. I honestly don't know what more I can do. I'm running out of options!!!
    Last edited by LiquidSantanero; April 28, 2012 at 06:55 PM. Reason: tried saving txt in unicode

  18. #18
    Muizer's Avatar member 3519
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7,528
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Download Notepad++.
    "Lay these words to heart, Lucilius, that you may scorn the pleasure which comes from the applause of the majority. Many men praise you; but have you any reason for being pleased with yourself, if you are a person whom the many can understand?" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca -

  19. #19
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    366
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Muizer View Post
    Download Notepad++.
    I have notepad ++ already. I just don't regularly use it. Besides, the notepad ++ I have doesn't have UCS-2 little endian format either

    Edit: I'm an idiot. I just have to choose in the encoding tab to ucs-2 little endian format and save it in plain txt.file, right?

    Or does it have to be saved in UCS-2 little endian? If so, then I'm stuck again because I don't have that save option. The best I can do is UTF-8.
    Last edited by LiquidSantanero; April 30, 2012 at 12:07 AM. Reason: think I found the encoding

  20. #20
    Muizer's Avatar member 3519
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7,528
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: I need help with modding Mundus_Magnus 1.2

    Select everything, open the "format" tab and select " convert to ucs-2 little endian. Then save. IIRC, if you do this, whenever you place the crusor anywhere in the file, the option "Encode in ucs-2 little endian" should have a bullet next to it in the format menu.
    "Lay these words to heart, Lucilius, that you may scorn the pleasure which comes from the applause of the majority. Many men praise you; but have you any reason for being pleased with yourself, if you are a person whom the many can understand?" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca -

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •