Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Laggy Gameplay.

  1. #1
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Icon9 Laggy Gameplay.

    So I have been playing Medieval 2 and RTW for a while now and all of a sudden the whole games starts lagging and I don't know why. I always played with high graphics settings before and there has never been a problem.
    These are my laptop specs:

    • Windows 7 Home Premium
    • Intel Core i7 CPU
    • 6.00GB RAM
    • 64 bit Operating System

    Anything I can do? Or should I get a professional to take a look?

  2. #2
    limes's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,000

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    What's your graphic card?

    A) First you should make anti virus scan. Very often reason of game slowdown is virus. Hope you're not caught by bot-net ,
    B) You may set resource parameters of your game play by: using CTR+alt+del, then go to particular game proces, (i.e. rtw.exe, bi.exe) and press right mouse button, then set PRIORITY TO HIGH.
    C) ...
    Last edited by limes; April 20, 2012 at 10:51 AM.
    http://s10.zetaboards.com/aeelysium/index
    CLICK THE SIG !!! ANCIENT EMPIRES & AE ELYSIUM MOD FOR RTW BI. WAY TO THE THRONE MOD FOR MTW2

  3. #3
    Ferdiad's Avatar Legatus Legionis
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Limerick, Ireland
    Posts
    27,234

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Whats the clock rate of your CPU. Rome is 1 core.

  4. #4
    limes's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,000

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    It was never any problem to have 2 core processor at least. I've got: 2 core, AV running in background, mass of "heavy" changes (big models, trees, etc.) in my RTW mod and game works perfectly. The same with MTW2. Of course MTW2 graphic settings are more complex than in RTW.
    http://s10.zetaboards.com/aeelysium/index
    CLICK THE SIG !!! ANCIENT EMPIRES & AE ELYSIUM MOD FOR RTW BI. WAY TO THE THRONE MOD FOR MTW2

  5. #5
    BrokenLantern's Avatar Discens
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    R:TW's engine can only utilise one core of your CPU.
    What's your GFX card like?

  6. #6
    limes's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,000

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    The fact RTW don't use 2 cores simultaneously is not reason of laggy game play. As you said the most important thing is GFX capacities and settings or sth not standard (like virus, or resource consuming process).
    http://s10.zetaboards.com/aeelysium/index
    CLICK THE SIG !!! ANCIENT EMPIRES & AE ELYSIUM MOD FOR RTW BI. WAY TO THE THRONE MOD FOR MTW2

  7. #7
    Ferdiad's Avatar Legatus Legionis
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Limerick, Ireland
    Posts
    27,234

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Having a high speed CPU and sufficient RAM is important too.

  8. #8
    MortenJessen's Avatar Pili
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,930

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Important question to OP; Do you use disc version or steam version?? I case you use steam, try to see if steam is causing the lag (done by playing in off-line mode)....

  9. #9
    Ferdiad's Avatar Legatus Legionis
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Limerick, Ireland
    Posts
    27,234

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Steam hardly takes up any resources.

  10. #10
    MortenJessen's Avatar Pili
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,930

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Do you know what the difference between lag caused by steam in online mode (maybe connection problems or hardware related) and a copy running from disc is? No !? I thought so too.
    It was never a question of resources, more likely drivers or other-wise software related problems.... But I mentioned the steam option just to make sure it was an option to be looked at if it was the case....
    Of course there is a million options, but unless OP takes it here Total War: Eras Technical Help and posts a dxdiag, there are no real reason guessing...

  11. #11
    MortenJessen's Avatar Pili
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,930

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdiad View Post
    Having a high speed CPU and sufficient RAM is important too.
    No, not at all. The opposite is actually more often than not the problem, as these games are so old that they cant utilize modern cpu and gpus properly.....

  12. #12
    Ferdiad's Avatar Legatus Legionis
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Limerick, Ireland
    Posts
    27,234

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Theres a considerable difference with having 2GHZ and having 4GHZ.

  13. #13
    MortenJessen's Avatar Pili
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,930

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    RTW has a 1GHz minimum requirement, and a 2GHZ prefered..... So even my 3.4GHz only smoothens slightly little extra.

  14. #14
    Ferdiad's Avatar Legatus Legionis
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Limerick, Ireland
    Posts
    27,234

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    I have 4.4GHZ. I' noticed quite a difference between the standard clock and 4.4GHZ.

  15. #15
    limes's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,000

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Ferdiad is right. To play game by Steam you need much more PC resources than processing game individually via your CPU/GPU/RAM system. Steam needs resources+game. It's unjustified extravagance.
    http://s10.zetaboards.com/aeelysium/index
    CLICK THE SIG !!! ANCIENT EMPIRES & AE ELYSIUM MOD FOR RTW BI. WAY TO THE THRONE MOD FOR MTW2

  16. #16
    MortenJessen's Avatar Pili
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,930

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    First, how does that make statement make Ferdiad right...?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdiad View Post
    Steam hardly takes up any resources.
    Second, OP are using a Intel Core i7 CPU, and they all have Intel HD Graphics that can easily play RTW...

  17. #17
    Whujios's Avatar Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Laggy Gameplay.

    Download CFF Explorer and change your RTW app to handle more than 2gb of ram. This makes a huge difference.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •