Thread: The Conundrum of the French Empire

Lord Agelmar's Avatar Tiro

Default The Conundrum of the French Empire

Well, Ive been playing as France for nearly 30 years now. I have booted England off mainland Europe, consolidated the old HRE, started the annexation of Southern France, Denmark and Northern Italy. Here is the problem: Money is very tight, so supporting the armies of France is very difficult. I have also just gone to war with the mighty Byzantines who are exploding out of the Balkans and Asia Minor. I could repel the Byzantines but Poland, Bohemia and Hungary are still alive. Should I deal with these smaller nations first so they cant backstab me or go straight for the larger problem of Byzantium?
    "We've made the ferryman wait this long, lets make him wait a little longer."
    "The Legions will not fail you, do not fail them." Roma Mod

Default Re: The Conundrum of the French Empire

Can you hold off the byzantines?

If so, go with the smaller nations - You would be able to encircle the byzantines and in the process, gain some new territory for funds. If you can't hold off the byzantines, then it may be smarter to go for them first.

I would wonder if you shouldn't seize the whole of italy first, and prepare marine invasions of greece instead of going through the balkans towards them.

Yeah, I think I can hold off Byzantium for now. They have lots of infintry but it is of mostly lower quality. Im thinking just going ahead and dealing with Bohemia and Poland and such is a good idea. Unfortunatly the Muslim faction in Spain is beating the crap out of Castille and Aragon. A new Charles Martel might have to step up and push them back to Africa, but hopefully the other problems will be delt with.