Thread: Hearts of Iron II: The First Steps

Default Hearts of Iron II: The First Steps

I bought this game on steam and I have heard that it is still superior to HOI III and I started playing it and I was lost. I did not know what to do or what units I should produce. I started playing as Germany in 1936 and I would like to know, what are the first things I should do as this country or any of the other countrys I may suggest later on? What should I do in between 1936 and 1940? Also, when I attack Poland in 1939 why does France and England both attack me? How can I get them to not do so, so that I can focus on attacking Poland?

Lord Romanus III's Avatar Primicerius

Default Re: Hearts of Iron II: The First Steps

Quote Originally Posted by Civ001 View Post
    I bought this game on steam and I have heard that it is still superior to HOI III and I started playing it and I was lost. I did not know what to do or what units I should produce. I started playing as Germany in 1936 and I would like to know, what are the first things I should do as this country or any of the other countrys I may suggest later on? What should I do in between 1936 and 1940? Also, when I attack Poland in 1939 why does France and England both attack me? How can I get them to not do so, so that I can focus on attacking Poland?
    In WW2, France and the UK honored an alliance with Poland and declared war on Germany. All you have to do is put three garrison divisions in a corps on each of your beaches to stop the UK. Keep nine divisions under a general in each province along the French border and they shouldn't attack you, either. The rest of your men can go to killing Poland.