Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

  1. #1
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    I've read a lot about this, but there doesn't seem to be any one solution that fixes it. I bought Medieval 2 over Steam before Christmas and ever since then I've been trying to get it to work. I already know the launcher is broken. I basically don't get anything but a white square where the content should be and then after a while it tells me I don't have an internet connection (which I obviously do or I wouldn't be able to post this). Clicking on Settings gives me an error and a bunch of stuff about proxies. Clicking Play just gets an error telling me that I don't have an internet connection and basically doesn't launch the game at all (It was not possible to connect to the update server). Steam is running and I don't know why it would want to connect for updates if I can't even play the game.

    Additionally, if I try to open the medieval2.exe directly, it simply crashes.

    Going by some of the suggestion on this forum, I've tried to by-pass the launcher altogether by deleting launcher.exe and renaming medieval2.exe but that doesn't seem to do anything. I also already checked and fixed the UAC setting and that didn't fix it either.

    I'm not going to start raging about Sega or CA or Steam. I just want to play the game, but I've reached the end of my patience. If anyone has any ideas I'd greatly appreciate it.

  2. #2
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    45,338

    Default Re: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    maybe this will help. http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=230971

    Welcome to TWC.

  3. #3
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    I've tried most of what's in that link, and I'm convinced this isn't a problem with Steam. I can play Empire just fine but not Medieval 2. I looked up the error information and this is what I get:


    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    at System.Security.Cryptography.RijndaelManagedTransform.DecryptData(Byte[] inputBuffer, Int32 inputOffset, Int32 inputCount, Byte[]& outputBuffer, Int32 outputOffset, PaddingMode paddingMode, Boolean fLast)
    at System.Security.Cryptography.RijndaelManagedTransform.TransformFinalBlock(Byte[] inputBuffer, Int32 inputOffset, Int32 inputCount)
    at System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStream.FlushFinalBlock()
    at System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStream.Dispose(Boolean disposing)
    at System.IO.Stream.Close()
    at CoreLib.Security.DecryptString(String encString, String phrase, String salt, String initVector)
    at UpdateLib.UpdateCore.get_Password()
    at Launcher.ConnectionSettingsForm.ConnectionSettingsForm_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5448 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Launcher
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/launcher.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5446 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5447 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    CoreLib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/CoreLib.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    SkinLib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/SkinLib.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    AxInterop.SHDocVw
    Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/AxInterop.SHDocVw.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Interop.SHDocVw
    Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/Interop.SHDocVw.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Accessibility
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    UpdateLib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    Win32 Version: 1.0.2669.20298
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Medieval%20II%20Total%20War/UpdateLib.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
    Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.DirectX
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
    Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5420 (Win7SP1.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    Some times the launcher doesn't come up at all and all I get is:

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/560/mederror3.jpg/
    Last edited by Rakaman; January 01, 2012 at 02:09 PM. Reason: link

  4. #4
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    45,338

    Default Re: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    The launcher is Steam and Sega's problem, unfortunately, as they decided to use it for the game's DRM.

    Since Medieval2 and Empire use the same dx9 and .Net drivers, common sense says both should work UNLESS you don't have your permissions et right through your firewall/antivirus/router.

    Another possibily, have you tried verifying the game cache?

  5. #5
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by irishron View Post
    The launcher is Steam and Sega's problem, unfortunately, as they decided to use it for the game's DRM.

    Since Medieval2 and Empire use the same dx9 and .Net drivers, common sense says both should work UNLESS you don't have your permissions et right through your firewall/antivirus/router.

    Another possibily, have you tried verifying the game cache?
    I have this exact problem as described. I'm getting very aggravated about this. I have ben scouring the internet for a week now and haven't ben able to find a suitable fix.

  6. #6
    irishron's Avatar Moderator
    Moderation Mentor Vault Staff Artifex

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    45,338

    Default Re: Medieval 2 and Steam issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by gecko1501 View Post
    I have this exact problem as described. I'm getting very aggravated about this. I have ben scouring the internet for a week now and haven't ben able to find a suitable fix.
    Have you ever been able to start a campaign?
    Have you installed any mods?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •