Page 1 of 12 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Latin Language during and after the Late Antiquity. Originally: Pronounciation of Aetius

Diocle's Avatar Comes Limitis

Default Latin Language during and after the Late Antiquity. Originally: Pronounciation of Aetius

How should one pronounce Aëtius name correctly?

/ Joar

---

By Diocle:

I'll follow more frequently RAT forums! one thing: I studied seven years Latin, in Aetius AE is diphthong, so why the funny chuh over the E?
    Last edited by Diocle; August 26, 2016 at 11:20 AM. Reason: After years and tons of posts I find unbearable that people come here and give his personal version of the name of Aetius.

Magister Militum Flavius Aetius's Avatar δούξ θρᾳκήσιου
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

Default Re: Roman Army Talk

Yeah, it's spelled that way in English. Natuarally the Ae is pronounced as an I, and u is a double oo. So it's I-TI-OOS. In english they put the funny thing over the e.

Blatta Optima Maxima's Avatar Vicarius Provinciae
    Free Democratic People's Republic of Latvia

So it's not pronounced "Itioos"?

no it's not pronounced that way. It's pronounced "Aaitius" ae = aai

Blatta Optima Maxima's Avatar Vicarius Provinciae
    Free Democratic People's Republic of Latvia

Ah, the way I originally thought.

It's just that he's called "Itioos" on the TV.

Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won

In english it's more like the words 'I' and 'shush' combined.

It should be pronounced A-etius ( one should hear the "e" ) also demonstrated in the Greek Ἀέτιος. It's called a diaeresis ( the two dots are called a trema). Other examples are words like naïve or the Brontë sisters etc.

mmh, I could be mistaken but I don't think it's supposed to be pronounced that way. I'll ask my Latin teacher on Monday and I'll let you guys know what it is according to him

Quote Originally Posted by total war lover View Post