Thread: Heavy Rain

Default Heavy Rain

I enjoyed this game so much that I decided to write down my opinion, even though this game was release almost 2 years ago. I have never written a review before, so don't be overly critical!

Heavy Rain

Heavy Rain was released in February 2010 exclusively for PS3 and has since received critical acclaim by reviewers and gamers. Quantic Dream's game does not fall under the usual categories. I would describe it as an interactive movie, rather than a game. Let’s find out why and if this good or not.

Trailer:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

The Plot:
    Heavy Rain follows the stories of four individual characters revolving around the mysterious kidnaps and murders of young children. The player gets to control each of the four characters in turn. The plot unfolds by chapters and follows a very interesting and innovative system which allows the player’s decisions to affect the next chapters. Whatever your decisions and however you play the game, Heavy Rain will adapt and continue. This system enhances replayability since you can experiment with different decisions and watch a different storyline. The only drawback is that the game-changing decisions are not obvious, which means that you are not sure what decisions of your will change the story and to what direction.

The characters: