Thread: Realistic Units, Need Opinions and Feedback

Default Realistic Units, Need Opinions and Feedback

Foreword: To moderators, If this is in the wrong section, my apologies, I am quite new to Total War and the forum. I will happily move to a new section

If you do not want to read what became an essay, skip to the bottom.

After hunting bookstores for resources on samurai warfare, I have come to the same conclusion many in the community have already reached. The unit types are historically off. Formations of katana samurai/ mounted katana samurai did not exist, as the katana is a side weapon or, more rarely, used in an honor duel (I'll go into details with this if requested).
    The vast, absolute vast majority of early to mid Sengoku period Samurai "on foot" carried the yari. Other foot samurai of this approximate time frame carried the nodachi (seriously limited use) the naginata (limited use) the bow (which was a job moving to the ashigaru) and various clubs and bludgeons (like the Tambo, and again, limited use). All samurai carried the katana... as a backup, because quite frankly in a one on one fight the yari can outclass the katana... and yaris in formation? If you're a "katana samurai," just go home.
    Towards the end of the end of the era samurai "on foot" were either using the matchlock and the yari or leading foot soldiers into battle. But even our beloved yari was under threat, as the experiences in the invasion of Korea showed, that the matchlock outclassed all and was the definite future.

Mounted samurai of the early- early mid period were multitasking "lancer calvary." They would never use the katana solely, only after they lost their yari in some poor ashigaru's chest. When they could they would use their bows to harass and then move in for a charge. There was no separation of roles. Rich samurai would have a servant follow or receive them to pick up a new yari or drop off his bow.