Thread: Most Efficient Late Game Greek Army?

Default Most Efficient Late Game Greek Army?

Just as some background...
    I'm playing with version 5.9.20 and I've conquered macedon, thrace, syracuse, cyrencia, rhodes, byzantium, and have just launched an invasion into rome.

So far I'm fairly successful but i'd like to hear some good battle strategies (since i'm a noob). I created a "fantasy" army not really thinking about strategy but more interested in the skins and units.

My current army (which is subject to change), consists of 4 armoured phalangites, peri hoplites, athenian hoplites, two sacred bands, two hypaspists, 6 thorakti, 3 epliptikoi cavalry (sp?) and a general.

My hoplites are in shield wall formation. Attached is my basic strategy.

Pinkie Pie's Avatar Comes Limitis

Default Re: Most Efficient Late Game Greek Army?

i would go with 5 units of armoured phalanxes, 2 units of spartan royal guards, 4 units of Cappadocian cavalry 2 units of rhodian slingers 4 units of syrian archers and 3 generals but its not very cost effective and not easy to retrain
    "I, Pinkie Pie, declare that these treats are fit for a king, or a queen, or a princess!"
    "Me? Ruin? I'm not the ruiner, I'm the ruinee! Or is it ruinness? Ruinette?"
    "She's ahead of the litter all right. The pick of the litter. The cat's pajamas. Oh wait. Why would Applejack take some poor kitty's pj's? That's not very sporting of her."
    "More balloons! No, that's too many balloons. More candy! No, less candy. Ooh! I know! Streamers!"
    "Oh my gosh. Hold on to your hooves – I am just about to be brilliant!"

Quote Originally Posted by martin616 View Post
    i would go with 5 units of armoured phalanxes, 2 units of spartan royal guards, 4 units of Cappadocian cavalry 2 units of rhodian slingers 4 units of syrian archers and 3 generals but its not very cost effective and not easy to retrain