Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Texture/model uniform changes please

Default Help with Texture/model uniform changes please

Hello everyone, I am new to modding NTW and total war games in general. So far I am up to the stage where I can open the PFM and edit unit stats, weapon ranges, damage, accuract, costs etc. However I want to move on to actually making my own full fledged and unique unit in the game and I feel one of the important features of this is making it look different hence why I came here. I apologise in advance if how to do this has already been stated, I have looked around but its quite a large section and being new to modding, I may be looking at an answer and not realise its what I need.

Ok, so my goal is to make a completly new british infantrymen based on the coldstream guard regiment or elite foot guards. I want to make the texture/model uniform look less generic (I dont like the NTW coldstream uniform) and change it to the same uniform a General wears apart form perhaps the hat. I am curious, is this possible or will the mesh designed for a cavalry unit look strange on an infantry unit or are the meshes for uniform similiar sizes etc? I guess thats my overall goal but I do not even know yet where to find said uniforms or how to change it so it works.

Another question related to the first, would be is it possible to use meshes from ETW, I prefer some of the old ETW uniforms by far especially for some of the infantry and horse lifeguards and it would be nice if i could have my new unit wearing them.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

Steph's Avatar Maréchal de France
    Patrician Artifex

Default Re: Help with Texture/model uniform changes please

If you just want to exchange part of uniform with another, and not actually modify the texture, it's realtively easy.

Open the variant.pack file from your data folder with PFM. That's where the detail of uniforms and textures can be found.