Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

  1. #1
    ket222's Avatar Taihō no heishi
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Atlanta, GA (my thoughts are always in Europe)
    Posts
    496

    Default how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    how many ships will i need to transport an army of about 8-10 units? can i use trade ships ? (I'd rather make lots of those instead of expensive war ships) can i transport with the most basic war ship (i think it just shoots arrows
    "If God does not exist, everything is permitted."
    Dostoevsky

  2. #2
    Shisai
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    414

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Well its really simple answer, do you haul/attempt to haul a army in a ship if attacked can be sunk with no problems by Pirates or Enemy vessels? No the investment in the ground units should be worth the investment in the transportation at sea.

  3. #3
    Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    EST
    Posts
    2,579

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by ket222 View Post
    how many ships will i need to transport an army of about 8-10 units? can i use trade ships ? (I'd rather make lots of those instead of expensive war ships) can i transport with the most basic war ship (i think it just shoots arrows
    You CAN transport your army with trade ships. However, I am not sure if you really WANT to do it. It's ok if you can grab your troops (from a port) and sail to a coast in one turn. On the other hand, if you want to have a long sea voyage, better put your army on something more solid... AI likes to build fleets too.

  4. #4
    Aoba
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    How many unit cards can be transported with one ship though? Or does it depend on the ships (medium bune can hold more than a bow kobaya)?

  5. #5
    Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    EST
    Posts
    2,579

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by Luderhow View Post
    How many unit cards can be transported with one ship though? Or does it depend on the ships (medium bune can hold more than a bow kobaya)?
    Any 1 ship can transport a full stack

  6. #6
    dutch81's Avatar Sōkō no yari
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,250

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by Slaists View Post
    Any 1 ship can transport a full stack
    Exactly, in my Tokugawa campaign most of the Imagawa Clan just boarded on a single bow koboya including 3 generals I am so tempted to sink them myself but have so far decided to play the good vassal. I do hope they get intercepted I 'escorted' them at a polite distance most of the way then lost sight of them. If only we could commission our own Wako pirates ...

  7. #7
    Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,860

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by ket222 View Post
    how many ships will i need to transport an army of about 8-10 units? can i use trade ships ? (I'd rather make lots of those instead of expensive war ships) can i transport with the most basic war ship (i think it just shoots arrows
    For the record, you have invisible transports. Whenever an army embarks to sea they go on invisible transports that are "escorted" by whatever ship (even a single trade ship) you put them on.

  8. #8
    Death_Sheep's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    760

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by nameless View Post
    For the record, you have invisible transports. Whenever an army embarks to sea they go on invisible transports that are "escorted" by whatever ship (even a single trade ship) you put them on.
    I've wished they appeared in sea battles since Empire...

  9. #9
    Pili Posterior
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,860

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    I don't see what the purpose would be for. It'd be adding more stuff to the system.

    Last I recalled, transports aren't equipped for ship-to-ship combat so they wouldn't serve a purpose in the battlefield. The second their escorts are gone they're dead meat.

    If they were in the battlefield I can imagine it would be a pain trying to stop the enemy fleet from landing its army since all you would do is put the transports at the edge of the map and have them run away while the battlefleet engages.

  10. #10
    Death_Sheep's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    760

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Quote Originally Posted by nameless View Post
    I don't see what the purpose would be for. It'd be adding more stuff to the system.

    Last I recalled, transports aren't equipped for ship-to-ship combat so they wouldn't serve a purpose in the battlefield. The second their escorts are gone they're dead meat.

    If they were in the battlefield I can imagine it would be a pain trying to stop the enemy fleet from landing its army since all you would do is put the transports at the edge of the map and have them run away while the battlefleet engages.
    For flavor. Delicious Flavor.

    Also, I can see troop transports acting as ships for boarding actions and the like. But these are idle thoughts of mine...

  11. #11
    dutch81's Avatar Sōkō no yari
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,250

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    Well since the days of ETW & NTW cargo vessels most certainly carried cannon and it is such vessels that would have carried troops across an ocean ... now barges might be used if it was a matter of crossing a channel of some sort and these would have been vulnerable to just about any ship with cannon.

    Now, in TWS2 what is really the difference between most early ships but the size and complement of troops certainly adding hundreds of extra troops to them would have only increased their boarding assault ability!

  12. #12
    Aoba
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: how to transport army with ships? trade ship ok?

    One ship/fleet can hold a maximum of 20 units and 3 agents I've found. It's risky transporting so many troops in one ship though unless it's a short journey made in one turn or you can criss-cross from port to port each turn for protection against enemy ships/fleets.

    It's a lot more intelligent to transport a full stack army with full stack navy (10 ships) though for better protection. I once killed a full stack Tokugawa army at sea easily because they were foolish enough to transport it with just one ship

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •