Thread: A few questions.

Default A few questions.

I am basically new to the whole Shogun series, I am having a hard time with the economy. I usually always out spend myself on Units to fight off invading armies or stretching my borders way to far by taking provinces. My few questions are

: How many stacks should I recruit to balance out, my income and mililtary strenght. Should I follow the quality over quantity theory and recruit the professional armies in smaller numbers rather than large and inferior trained troops?

: Which faction should I start out with, since I am new to the Shogun series

: Should I auto fight or fight the battles myself to minimize casualties?

: What is a good effective fighting formation for Offense and Defense

Default Re: A few questions.

Quote Originally Posted by SS_Ghost_Of_War View Post
    : How many stacks should I recruit to balance out, my income and mililtary strenght. Should I follow the quality over quantity theory and recruit the professional armies in smaller numbers rather than large and inferior trained troops?

As to how many troops you need, this varies alot due to things like your econmomy, how far along the campaign you are and also how good you are at fighting battles. In general make sure that you are always making a profit and you wont go far wrong. At the start of the game you wont be able to support many samurai troops so I suggest building mostly Ashigaru since they're nice and cheap and losses can be replenished anywhere.

Deffinitly the Chosokabe, you start on an island with just a couple of weak neighbours that you can take over fairly easily. By the time you control your island you should have a decent handle on the game.

I would suggest you fight them yourself, most of the fun of the game is in the tactical battles. The naval battles are a blast this time round as well.