Thread: western empire realy THAT bad?

Default western empire realy THAT bad?

my first campaign in IBFD was the WRE and i realized that public order in africa and span was REALY and by REALY i mean REALY bad like 0% public order even in low tax??? wow..... the hordes i understand like yeah they sacked rome i mean... yeah was it REALY that bad? i mean you get all of africa revolting after 2 turns and you have armies that drain your treasury....

BTW: if comitatentes...(spelling?) were the field forces in the l8 roman army then shdent they be recruited in 1 turn and the prima cohors 2 turns? why 3 and 4?

sorry im not too good at historical accuracy but its just to clear my questions

thx

Default Re: western empire realy THAT bad?

Quote Originally Posted by raphael View Post
    my first campaign in IBFD was the WRE and i realized that public order in africa and span was REALY and by REALY i mean REALY bad like 0% public order even in low tax??? wow..... the hordes i understand like yeah they sacked rome i mean... yeah was it REALY that bad? i mean you get all of africa revolting after 2 turns and you have armies that drain your treasury....

BTW: if comitatentes...(spelling?) were the field forces in the l8 roman army then shdent they be recruited in 1 turn and the prima cohors 2 turns? why 3 and 4?

sorry im not too good at historical accuracy but its just to clear my questions

thx

The WRE was pretty much Bankrupt at this point. It didn't have half the economy of the ERE and it just had a crappy all around strategic position.

The public order is low because at this poin in the WRE history it was any ones game. Local Rulers, Generals were the one in control, not Rome.

The Further off provinces, Spain, north Africa, Britannia, Gaul, pretty much everywhere but Italy, was semi independent.

And the Armies were very expensive, it isn't cheap too keep the loyalty of your men, especially in the dark ages.

The WRE relied heavily on the Barbarians in their armies.