Thread: Got Rome Working(finally)

Default Got Rome Working(finally)

So I got it working finally, discovered I had to delete the entire folder after uninstalling or else the fresh install wouldn't work. (Odd)

Uploaded 5.0, and I started playing as my favorite faction, Scipii.
    I like Scipii because you're immediately at odds with the Greeks and the Carthaginians, unlike Julii where you can fortify passes or Brutii where you'e safe on the mainland.

Starting out was difficult, always is and I almost lost Messana.
    Right out of the blue the Greeks attack Messana, where I have a Garrison of my Faction Leader, Aulus Scipio, Three Hastati, Two Triarii, some Archers and some Velites.

A very tough battle, two Spartan units and several hoplite companies later Messana is secure.

Several turns afterwards Aulus leads a patrol near the Greek City and assasinates Dyionnisus of Sparta as he rides in the countryside with his guards.

I form the First Legion, and place it under the command of my Faction Leader at Messana, two years later the Second Legion is Formed of Two Light Battalions, a Skirmisher Battalion, and a Cavalry Squadron.
    (I'm used to Napoleonic Warfare and unfamiliar with Roman terms, to me a Legion in R:TW is equatable to a Regiment)

Light Battalion:
    4 Hastati - 1 Slinger
    Skirmisher Battalion
    4 Velites
    Cavalry Squadron
    4 Equites

My First engagement with the 2nd under Aulus is at Palermo, where Aulus besieges the City and is attacked by a very large Carthaginian force which includes three units of War Elephants, plus the Garrison of the City.

The site of battle was a heavily forested area with a dirt road running through the middle.
    I chose to engage the Carthaginians inside the forest, as this would put them at a greater disadvantage since 2nd Legion was entirely made of light infantry.