Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 191

Thread: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

  1. #1
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    At present (after July Steam update) the tool is obsolete - use this method instead to start your mod in steam.

    Spoiler for original article
    One day I got tired trying to explain how mods are installed with Steam and then Squid came along with his Kingdoms Launcher App. A short time later musicdemon applied the tool to Third Age and wrote an instruction on how to do the stuff hands on.
    And then I came and generalized that instruction. So without further ado I give you the "Mod Install for Steam" tutorial:

    All credit (and rep) goes to:

    - musicdemon for first publishing this in the Third Age forum
    - Squid for making the Kingdoms Launcher App


    Step by step instruction

    1. Run your game at least once before installing any mods (thanks bohema)
    2. Make sure you run this program as administrator
    3. Install your brand new mod, but make sure to change your install directory as follows:

    32-bit Windows Users:
    From - C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War
    To - C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war
    64-bit Windows Users:
    From - C:\Program Files (x86)\SEGA\Medieval II Total War
    To - C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war

    • Repeat step two for any other parts\patches of this mod
    • Download the Kingdoms Launcher App designed by Squid. This tool modifies the necessary registry entries to enable a mod start via Steam's Medieval II\Kingdoms Launcher.
    • Run the Kingdoms Launcher App


    Step 1:


    • Click "File\New mod"




    Step 2:





    Step 3:


    • Browse to your mod's base folder and click\highlight it
    • Click 'OK'



    Step 4:


    • Your Config file details and Path to the mod will automatically be entered
    • Click "OK"



    Step 5:


    • The name of your mod's entry appears now in the list of the Launcher Application
    • Click "File\Exit" or use the close button on the top right of the frame




    Step 6:


    • Run the Kingdoms Launcher and select your mod from the list
    • Play





    Note: the above instructions are for version 1.4 of Squid's Kingdoms Launcher Application. Please drop me a PM if this is outdated at any time.

    Removing an entry:
    Simply open the application, high light the entry and then click 'File\Delete Mod Settings' - this will only remove the installation from the launcher, you will have to remove the actual mod installation via the mod's uninstaller or do it manually in your browser.

    Other info:

    • I have gotten a report where the restart of Steam solved the problem when the game launcher's shortcut to a mod did not work correctly (started a new launcher).
    • Some member released a new M2TW launcher, it might be of interest for Steam users. Please note that support for that launcher will have to be through that site\link.

    Last edited by Gigantus; August 06, 2014 at 10:19 PM. Reason: temporary new method due to tool being obsolete
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  2. #2
    IZob's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    9,760
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Very usefull, well done.

  3. #3
    Gonxas's Avatar Hastatus
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lisboa, PORTUGAL
    Posts
    583
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    This is great Thank you guys!

  4. #4
    Vexillifer
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    160
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Trying to use this to run Lands to conquer but cant find the cfg. file were i find it
    thanks

    EDIT: lol nvm

    2 EDIT: now with the path section, when i go to mod carpet it only shows the 4 kingdom mods, theres no LTC mod and gives me error if i click the LTC carpet
    Last edited by Jorge Juan; January 05, 2011 at 02:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    It appears you installed LTC into the main game folder instead of into the \mods subfolder. Most probably you renamed the path and did not add the extension for the mod's install.
    With carpet you mean the folder symbol?
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  6. #6
    General500's Avatar Taihō no heishi
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    553
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Steam Id:Jhoge555
    Multiplayer freak!-LOVES Empire Total War. <- Me when Total war came out
    So Sad

  7. #7
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default

    Link is for this forum where your identical link is to the same forum - please update with correct link.
    Last edited by Gigantus; January 23, 2011 at 10:39 PM.
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  8. #8
    Aoba
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Im getting a fatal error every time I try and start expanded Americas using the launcher.

  9. #9
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    A fatal error could indicate that you used the incorrect EXE setting. Is "Expanded Americas" for kingdoms or medieval? To check, right click the BAT file of the mod , choose 'edit' and see whether it says "kingdoms.exe" or "medieval2.exe".

    Please post your log as well (compress and attach if it is too big).

    It appears this solution might help.
    .
    Last edited by Gigantus; January 26, 2011 at 09:34 PM.
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  10. #10
    Aoba
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    The fatal error is from the Total War launcher menu not the Kingdoms launcher app. I have it set as a kingdoms mod like its supposed to do. I did need to launch that in administrator mode however. Where is my log and how to I compress it?

  11. #11
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    The log will either be in the root of the medieval2 installation or in a sub directory called 'logs'
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  12. #12
    Aoba
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    32
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Is this it?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    The log does not indicate a fatal error. There are massive errors in the EDCT, but those are usually not fatal.
    The errors themselves indicate that the game starts (hence this tutorial was successful), but it will not have anything to do with the set up for STEAM.

    If you have followed all the steps as in the first post and the suggestion in post #9 didn't solve the problem, then I would suggest to ask directly in the forum of your mod. There are several versions\patches of the mod out I believe.
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  14. #14
    Eothese's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,223
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Flyersfan314, that log is from the americas expansion, not the expanded_americas3.2 mod...

  15. #15
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    11
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Okay, so i install this launcher, and i'm trying to get it to work for the Westeros mod. Except once i've filled in the required fields, and i click ok, it says an unhandled exception was encounted. It says i don't have access to the registry keys, and yet i am an administrator, so i don't understand why this problem is still arising?

  16. #16
    Char Aznable's Avatar I came to laugh at you
    Vault Staff

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    My flagship, the Litany of Truth, spreading DESPAIR across the galaxy
    Posts
    10,409
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    That happened to me as well

    House of Caesars:
    Under the Patronage of Inkie Pie: Patron of Dante von Hespburg









    Duchara Total War

  17. #17
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Quote Originally Posted by AlNut View Post
    Okay, so i install this launcher, and i'm trying to get it to work for the Westeros mod. Except once i've filled in the required fields, and i click ok, it says an unhandled exception was encounted. It says i don't have access to the registry keys, and yet i am an administrator, so i don't understand why this problem is still arising?
    Inquire in the technical forum how to go about the permissions for that.
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

  18. #18
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,018
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    You need administrative permissions on the computer for the launcher to work. Its just telling you, that you don't have those permissions. If you are using win 7 or vista you likely need to be running in elevated admin mode, not just as an admin account.

    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  19. #19
    Centurio
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    443
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    Gigantus: it may be useful to update the tutorials with a few additional pointers:
    • Path doesn't need to be mods/ModName. It can be pretty much anything, e.g.: C:\M2TW-Mods\MyMod. The only restriction is that if you don't use the GameExe for a custom program you need to ensure it doesn't contain any spaces. Otherwise it will trip up the game when it attempts to load your mod.
    • Advanced: GameExe can be set to a custom program. Then the launcher will use that. It may contain spaces. For example C:\My mods\MyMod.bat will make the Launcher launch the bat file.
    • The result is that with the entries for the Launcher set properly, and using a custom GameExe entry you will be able to run your mod from *anywhere* even if it is installed outside the Kingdoms/M2TW installation directory. In turn, this means you can safely install M2TW/Kingdoms to the Program Files on Vista or 7, yet have a mod function correctly by installing it elsewhere.


    For launching a mod from arbitrary locations like this, a mod could bundle a simple batch file[*] inside the modfolder, like this:

    Code:
    @echo off
    rem Launch kingdoms with a given mod. change to medieval.exe for m2tw
    rem %~dp0 expands to the absolute path to the directory which contains
    rem the batch file itself. Therefore this batch file must be located in the 
    rem modfolder of your mod.
    kingdoms.exe "@%~dp0\settings.cfg" --features.mod="%~dp0"
    This will work because the GameExe is called from inside the M2TW/Kingdoms directory so even if the mod is installed outside of that you can run the game directly.
    [*]Note that without such an interstitial script the Game is actually called with slashes in the paths rather than backslashes, and I did not test this particular code. (I use a more elaborate JScript version.) It's more to give you an idea of what such a custom GameExe should actually do.

  20. #20
    Gigantus's Avatar I woke up, lifted my arms, moved my knees, turned my neck. Everything made the same noise: Crrrrraaaacccckkk. I came to a conclusion: I am not old, I am crispy!
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    33,446
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Creating a World - Mod Install for Steam

    I am sure Squid will know the ins and outs of this - I just compiled it into a manual.
    .

    Member of the H.E.L.P. Project

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (1 members and 1 guests)

  1. Valurog

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •