Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: American Civil War Quotes

Default American Civil War Quotes

Hey people, i have two things to say in this thread.

1: This is for the ACW team. Are you going to add Civil War related quotes for the loading screens?

2: What quotes do you; the community thing are good from the Civil War period.

I'm gonna start by posting some good quotes said by my namesake Ulysses S. Grant:

"Although a soldier by profession, I have never felt any sort of fondness for war, and I have never advocated it, except as a means of peace."

"I know only two tunes: one of them is "Yankee Doodle," and the other isn't."

"I propose to fight it out on this line if it takes all summer."

"There never was a time when, in my opinion, some way could not be found to prevent the drawing of the sword."

"In every battle there comes a time when both sides consider themselves beaten, then he who continues the attack wins."

"The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on."
    Last edited by Ulysses S. Grant; December 08, 2010 at 10:51 AM.
    Art //

kenniston5's Avatar TAR local moderator

Default Re: American Civil War Quotes

Americans love to fight. All real Americans love the sting of battle.
    Gen.George S. Patton

Battle is the most magnificent competition in which a human being can indulge. It brings out all that is best; it removes all that is base. All men are afraid in battle. The coward is the one who lets his fear overcome his sense of duty. Duty is the essence of manhood.
    Gen.George S. Patton

No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country.
    Gen.George S. Patton

oops...... sorry wrong war
    god bless america

'Gunny's Avatar Überrock über alles
    Content Emeritus