Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tips for a begginer ? thanks in advance

tudor93's Avatar Primicerius

Default Tips for a begginer ? thanks in advance

hello, so I just started playing XC, this is my first mod (I only played vanilla), I want to say, great work, the new units are cool, the HUGE map is awesome but I can't handle it .... I mean, at the beggining of any campaign my cities have income like -1000 , -2000 ; so what must I do ? I turn the taxes to very high, still they don't have a positive income, the other factions have huge armies and they attack me, I don't have such big armies, on the second turn I don't have any money left, can you give me some tips, a easy faction ... what buildings should I build first (beeing used to vanilla buildings/cities, when I saw 3 different types of barracks, 2 types of farms and so on, I was like "wtf !?" ... thanks
    Īnfrānt nu eşti atunci cānd sāngeri,
    nici ochii cānd īn lacrimi ţi-s.
    Adevăratele īnfrāngeri,
    sunt renunţările la vis.

Zarax's Avatar Triple Chaosmaster

Default Re: Tips for a begginer ? thanks in advance

First, pick a faction that has a good economy from start, Carthage or egypt (Ptolemaic empire) have a relatively easy position and you can usually pick one enemy at the time.

There are a few guides stickied but here's some starting tips:

- choose your faction heir wisely, a bad leader will ruin your empire unlike in vanilla
    - ports are vital for your trade, markets adds nicely to the tax income
    - don't recruit elites until you have plenty of cash, they are powerful but will drain your income
    - orchards give you a nice tax bonus but are not a good choice in small settlements as you won't get as much pop growth
    The Best Is Yet To Come:

Quote Originally Posted by Zarax View Post
    First, pick a faction that has a good economy from start, Carthage or egypt (Ptolemaic empire) have a relatively easy position and you can usually pick one enemy at the time.