Thread: When to take Rome?

Default When to take Rome?

Hey all. I'm a noob to RTW, but fairly experienced with MTW, so I understand the game mechanics and what not. Anyway, this is my first game with RTW and my situation is as follows:

1. Playing as the Julii, current year is 153BC.
    2. I hold essentially all of Europe except for Greece and Italy south of Rome. I have destroyed Gaul, Spain, Britannia, Germania, and Thrace. Currently in the process of finishing the Scythians. Carthage, Numidia, Macedon, the Greek Cities, and Pontus are also gone at the hands of the Brutii, Scipii, or Egyptians. My most significant border is with the Brutii, who hold all of Greece, including Macedon and the Bosphorus, as well as Asia Minor. The Scipii have a strong naval force but are confined to Sicily and all of Africa west of Egypt.
    3. The Brutii have by far the largest military force, though I have an advantage in production, population, and territory.
    4. I have received the message that says the people would welcome me if I chose to march on Rome and the Senate screen indicates I am hated by the Senate (although I hold all but one of the offices) and loved by the people.

I guess my question is: What do I need to do before I take Rome?

How will the Brutii and Scipii react when I attack Rome? Will they try and defend Rome or will they invade my territory wherever they can? Should I build up a massive invasion force and attack all of their major cities simultaneous with attacking Rome?

Also how do you force a faction to become a protectorate?--I've received the mission many times, but everytime I'm either flat out rejected or the faction asks for about 20 territories.

A civil war will erupt, it will be you vs. rome, sicipii and brutii, so be prepared on all fronts, and have fun, good luck, but id suggest taking greece quickly, rich cities will take the brutiis capacity down alot. -Leon