Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What if Napoleon had won at Waterloo ?

Default What if Napoleon had won at Waterloo ?

This question has kept me up for entire nights. Well, not really, but since this forum is full of history buffs, I'd like to hear some opinions on the topic. Do you think Napoleon could have remained Emperor ? Could he have re-conquered most of Europe ?

I'm no expert on the topic but my belief is that France was pretty much spent by the time of Waterloo. Most of the old veterans were dead and the nation was exhausted, both physically and morally. At best, I think that he could have negotiated some kind of peace that let him remain at the head of the French state but there's no way that he could have mustered the resources to go on another pan-European rampage.

Juvenal's Avatar love your noggin
    Patrician Content Emeritus

Default Re: What if Napoleon had won at Waterloo ?

Napoleon's conquering days were over. France would be unlikely to support wars of aggrandizement any more.

As for his chances after a Waterloo victory, well... what he needed was to detach Austria from the coalition. A stunning military victory would be required for this; on a par with Ulm. It would all have had to happen very quickly, before the Russians and German States forces could intervene.

I really don't see such a thing happening. The French no longer had the training and doctrinal superiority of 1805, nor the advantage in motivation that Nationalistic fervour provided. Napoleon would have to invade Austria with a force consisting of 50% worn and battered ex Armee du Nord, and 50% raw conscripts (who had been assembling near Paris under Davout).

I know Napoleon had achieved some stunning victories in 1814, but they were small battles in friendly territory. Large battles diluted the 'Napoleon effect' leading to attritional affairs which favoured the Allies.
    imb39 ...is my daddy!
    See AARtistry in action: Spite of Severus and Severus the God