Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: Installation issues (How to install on Mac and Steam)

  1. #1
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Icon4 Installation issues (How to install on Mac and Steam)

    Ask here for help in installation and other technical troubles.

    Before posting here, I suggest you read up on the READ_ME file and the PATCH NOTES in the mod (should be located in the main folder) for possible answer to your question.
    Also keep attention on the notes when the installer is running.


    HOW TO INSTALL ON MAC
    (Thanks to Christophus for this guide)

    This post contains information on how to get Lotr-tw working on ur Mac Osx 10.6.4 (might work on others too i havnt tried on any besides this )

    (If Your Not a Mac Noob or if ur just stuck at how to start the game read the highlights (: XD )

    What you need to do first..
    1) Get a Legit Copy of RTW
    2) Make sure u have Wine or Crossover Game
    3) wrap the game with either so it works on ur Mac.

    If you already have the game. (this is for lotr-tw v2.0 OB)

    1) Download Lotr-tw (the .exe file will be named as 'LOTRTW_v2.ob_OB1.exe' )
    2) Once downloaded, install the .exe file with crossover or wine.
    3) MAKE SURE YOU HAVE RTW INSTALLED IN YOUR APPLICATIONS FOLDER.
    ...If you dont have it installed there your app will just bounce and quit, it will ....NOT play.
    4) Make sure the address when you install it reads like
    ...Applications--> Rome-Total war (folder)


    This folder contains ur Rome-tw, Alexander and BI game wrappers from where you start the game.

    5) Make sure u make a copy of the Alexander folder in the data folder
    (Applications --> Rome Total war --> data --> Alexander
    6) After your done installing the .exe file to the Rome Total war folders you will get a ( Alexander folder --> lotrtw ) dont change anyting in that.
    7) After you've copied the alexander folder from the data folder to a safe place forget about it you wont need it again (x (yes lotrtw gets addictive)
    8) Overwrite alexander in the data folder with the one u got after installing the .exe file.
    9) Now this is the part that counts :mrgreen: ..
    10) Once the alexander file has been overwritten.. all you have to do is COPY ALL THE FILES IN alexander --> lotrtw .. and paste them in alexander
    11) DONT DELETE ANYTING you need two copies as address reading is a pain for cidered games

    12) Once you've pasted the files in alexander you will have the same files in both alexander and lotrtw but ofc there will be another folder lotrtw in the alexander folder.

    13) Once that is done right click on your Alexander Expansion wrapper ..
    click on show contents --> resources --> prefrences (not prfrences_bak) --> config

    Open config go TO THE BOTTOM and paste

    [appdefaults\\RomeTW-ALX.exe\\transgaming] (
    "cmdlineadd" = "-mod:alexander"

    at the end of that file..

    Once that is Done Open Alexander Expansion and Voila LOTR-TW SHOULD WORK NOW!
    Last edited by Bardo; May 11, 2011 at 08:40 AM.

  2. #2
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    HOW TO INSTALL WITH STEAM
    (Thanks to micah8224 for this guide)

    Before you actually install the mod, the best thing to do is to update your game cache file through steam, to verify your game is working properly.
    to do this, right click on your Alexander Total War game in the game list, hit properties, then click local files, and scroll down to verify integrity of game cache. let this finish its process then continue on...



    now install the mod....
    *IMPORTANT!*
    since each game is ran through steam they have their own independent folder. so, when you install the mod the folder should be

    C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\rome total war alexander
    this could be different on some computers i'm sure, but i think this should be the general location. find your steam program file, find the folder which holds your game files, and your alexander folder. *NOT YOUR ROME TOTAL WAR FOLDER!*



    after installing the game to your alexander file, next right click on your alexander game in the steam game list, click properties and in the general tab lick 'Set Launch Options' as shown



    next type in the mod info the instructions give you, -mod:alexander/lotrtw in the space provided...



    after doing that click ok, close out properties, then right click on your Alexander Total War game, and hit launch game. it should work for you then

    if you have any problems feel free to post here. i'll try to help you out. enjoy this great mod!
    Last edited by Bardo; May 11, 2011 at 08:41 AM.

  3. #3
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Como instalar sobre Steam (Español)
    (Gracias a kernelpanic por esta guia)

    Buenas. Aquí os dejo las instrucciones para instalar el mod para los que tenéis el Alexander instalado vía Steam:

    1. En el foro en inglés recomiendan ANTES de instalar el mod, verificar la "Integridad de caché del juego". Esto se hace en propiedades del juego, pestaña "archivos locales", botón "VERIFICAR INTEGRIDAD DE CACHÉ DEL JUEGO":



    Yo este paso no lo he realizado para instalar el mod, pero es interesante saber antes de hacer nada si está el juego instalado y funcionando correctamente.

    2. Tenemos que conocer dónde ha instalado Steam el juego. Todos los juegos Steam se instalan dentro de la carpeta de instalación del propio Steam, en <carpeta raíz de Steam>\steamapps\common. En mi máquina: E:\Steam\steamapps\common\rome total war alexander



    Quedaos con esta ruta porque es la que se pide en la instalación del mod

    En el caso en que no sepáis dónde está instalado Steam, podéis verlo en el acceso directo del propio Steam, pulsando en botón derecho y propiedades del acceso directo:



    3. Instalar el mod, poniendo la ruta de Alexander que se indica en el paso 2.



    4. Después de instalado el mod, hay que modificar las propiedades de inicio de Alexander en Steam. Botón derecho y propiedades de Rome: Total War - Alexander -> Pestaña general -> Botón "Establecer opciones de lanzamiento". Se abre una ventana. En el campo de texto que aparece ponemos:

    Code:
    -mod:alexander/lotrtw
    Y pulsamos OK



    Con esto ya podemos arrancar el juego Alexander y directamente cargará el mod de El Señor de los Anillos. A disfrutar...
    Last edited by Bardo; October 06, 2010 at 10:57 AM.

  4. #4
    Murakawa
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Sorry but I cant find the readme file, can you tell how can I translate the game to spanish?

  5. #5
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    The readme is named Lotrtw_Readme_v2.08.txt.
    How to activate Spanish or Italian traduction, as well as other mini-mods like "0 recruitment times":

    1. Execute the program JSGME.exe (Jonesoft Generic Mod Enabler)
    2. Select the traduction or mod in the window "Available Mods" and click button ">" until it is moved to "Activated Mods"
    3. Then you can close the Generic Mod Enabler. Or to use the button "<<" to return to original version.
    --------

    Una vez has instalado el parche 2.08:
    1. ejecute el programa JSGME.exe
    2. Selecciona la traduccion española en la ventana que pone "Available Mods" y dale a ">" para que aparezca en la ventana de la derecha "Activated Mods"
    3. Luego puedes cerrar el JSGME. O darle al boton "<<" para volver a la version original.

    Tambien aconsejo borrar el archivo temporal:
    ...\Rome - Total War\alexander\lotrtw\preferences\advice

  6. #6
    Wulfburk's Avatar Equites
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3,551
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Someguy at ModDB asked this

    "First I just want to say that I love it! But I'm having a problem, I'm playing as the noldor elves and I must be up to something like the 181st turn and it keeps crashing whenever I click the button to end my turn. I've tried starting new games with other races and they work fine. I was wondering if you could help me? I was really excited too as I just gained the ability to train the really powerful elves with the gold armour at the grey havens."

    Got any clue for what may cause this, perhaps related with the 'reform'?
    Last edited by Wulfburk; February 07, 2011 at 01:06 PM.

    "If they can prevent me from going as an Emperor, they cannot
    prevent me from abdicating and going as a Fatherland Volunteer"
    - Dom Pedro II during the Paraguayan invasion of Brazil.

    War In Our Doorstep (LOTR_TW Rohan AAR )
    A Cobra Vai Fumar! (Brazilian HoI 3 TFH AAR)
    Age of the Bren (EB Casse AAR)



  7. #7
    wlesmana's Avatar ILIKE2MOVEITMOVEIT
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    411
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Possible it's the script related to Noldor, so most likely the spawning of High Noldor units.

  8. #8
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    It is hard know, it'd be useful if he can send us the savegame.
    He can try to reload the game without activating the scripts, or to delete the temporary file:
    .../preferences/advice

    Such CTDs are caused sometimes by revolts in some cities where there are no recruitable unit, but it is hard to know and to fix.

  9. #9
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Heyy I got your mod a while ago, and what i'v played of it, it's fantastic, one of the best! But I have a big problem, for some reason I can no longer play campaign, It CTD just as the campaign map loads, I'v tried your tips on how too stop it. (Deleting the advice & map.rvm files) But it hasn't worked!

  10. #10
    timpi's Avatar Taihō no heishi
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ardooie, Belgium
    Posts
    595
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Well, the most effective way to keep this game running is to uninstall and reinstall the game every week.
    History repeats itself, first as tragedy, second as farce.
    Karl Marx


    I repeat... that all power is a trust; that we are accountable for its exercise; that from the people and for the people all springs, and all must exist.
    Benjamin Disraeli

  11. #11
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    I'v done that several times, I'v even reinstalled the actual game, but too no avail, it's very strange though, one minute it works fine, then it doesn't..

  12. #12
    landon.c77's Avatar Murakawa
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Cagliari, Italia/ Plesant view, TN
    Posts
    15
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    can you help me i dont understand how to download the patch 2.08 for steam

  13. #13
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    I don't have steam, but I guess you need to install patch 2.08 at same place that you installed 2.0, where rome total war files are placed.
    It should be something like:
    C:\Steam\steamapps\common\rome total war alexander\

  14. #14
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Ok so i am new at this and please bare with me. I bought and the downloaded versions of RTW and RTW ALX. on amazon, the I downloaded the lotr 2.0 first then the 2.08 patch. It says to click on the icon that it creates after the 2.08 patch. when i do the opening picture shows up i hear a ding and it just freezes right there. If i push any button the picture goes away and my screen kinda fashes and i go straight back to my desktop page. So then i tried down loading steam and following its instructions, but since i did not get the games on steam i do not have the same options as shown in you example. im stuck and frustrated BC i got the games only to play the LOTR MOD. what am i doing wrong and can you help me. Also i have a PC with windows 7, just so you know.

  15. #15
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Verify that you install both 2.0 and 2.08 in your RomeTW folder. When the installer ask you for the destination, choose manually your RomeTW folder, the one where it is placed the file RomeTW-ALX.exe.
    It is harder to install mods over steam or mac versions, that is why there are specific tutorials for them in this topic. The installation with your downloaded version over windows7 should be straight forward.

  16. #16
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    There are two folders on my desktop. 1 is RTW with RTW Barbarian Invasion, The 2 folder is the RTW ALX. I can play both games but neither folder have a file that is specifically ROMETW-ALX.exe. I have downloaded both 2.0 and 2.08 to the RTW Folder multiple times and can download it again from that folder as well since the download app is in the folder. There are a bunch of lotr files in RTW Folder including the one that you double click on to start the game, however all it does is make my screen flicker and give me a beep. I have followed both the 2.0 and 2.08 instructions and both get me to the intro picture then freeze and i have to exit out.

  17. #17
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Sorry if i am trouble, just realy want to play this game and i appreciate all you help and what help you can give me.

  18. #18
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help (How to install on Mac and Steam)

    I have steam, I also installed the new patch.
    The game works, I just have a few problems.
    One is when I am on the battlefield sometimes my units move in a very odd manner. i.e. telling them to run to point A and the will turn around, walk, walk somewhere else, maybe eventually run, etc.

    Also, I was playing the wildmen, I took an orc city, I could then recruit orc units in that city.

  19. #19
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help

    Bardo is there anything that you know of that can help me out, or am I screwed or am just plain stupid when it comes to comps?

  20. #20
    Bardo's Avatar Princeps
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Tournaments Joined
    0
    Tournaments Won
    0

    Default Re: Troubleshooting Help (How to install on Mac and Steam)

    Sorry me the late answer, but I'm not sure how to help you, tminto.
    I did not know that the downloaded version of AlexanderTW installs the game in a different folder than RTW.

    The first thing I'd test is to install the lotrtw mod in the RTW-ALX folder. Which file do you use to launch the AlexTW game? It is named "ROMETW-ALX.exe" in most installations. If it is a shortcut, right click it and select properties to see the destination.
    Is there a folder named "/data/" and another folder named "/alexander/" inside the RTW-ALX folder?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •