Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: How to install a mod for Civ 5

  1. #1
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,424

    Default How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Here I am, about to show you guys how to install a mod on Civ 5. It really isn't complicated and I like it more than the "traditional" way.

    Anyways, here you go:

    Step 1
    Goto the main menu and select "Mods"


    Step 2
    A disclaimer will come up. Click "Accept" and proceed.


    Step 3
    Click the "Browse Mods" button.


    Step 4
    Select the "Online" tab on the top of the screen.


    Step 5
    Find the mod that you'd like to download and select "Download."


    Step 6
    Another disclaimer. Click "Accept"


    Step 7
    You'll see that the download is "Connecting."


    Step 8
    Once it's done, it'll say "Complete"


    Step 9
    Now go back to the "Installed" tab up at the top. Click the "Install Mods" button at the bottom left of the screen.


    Step 10
    Find your mod


    Step 11
    Click the green check button to the right of the mod.


    Step 12
    Go back to the "Mods" page (steps 1-2) and select "Single Player"


    Step 13
    Click "Set Up Game"


    Step 14
    Select "Advanced Set Up"


    Step 15
    Set up the mod appropriately. If it's a scenerio, it will be under the map list.

  2. #2
    Thanatos's Avatar Now Is Not the Time
    Citizen Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    32,974

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Temporarily stickied, at least for now.

  3. #3
    Akar's Avatar I am not a clever man.
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The 12th Plane of Torment.
    Posts
    8,574

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Quote Originally Posted by Thanatos View Post
    Temporarily stickied, at least for now.

    This makes no sense...

  4. #4
    Killerbee's Avatar Valar Morghulis
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8,735

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Now that's a mod-friendly game

  5. #5
    Thanatos's Avatar Now Is Not the Time
    Citizen Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    32,974

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Quote Originally Posted by Akar View Post
    This makes no sense...
    Nonsense!

    What I'm saying is that for now, it's only temporarily stickied. If this becomes popular, I might consider permanently stickying it until say, Civ VI came out or something.

  6. #6
    Ascarona's Avatar Ninja
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sexytown
    Posts
    9,163

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Awesome! Thank you so much dude!
    “Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.”

  7. #7
    Scipio Afracanis's Avatar Equites Cohortales
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Honolulu,Hawaii
    Posts
    4,598

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Love that games are starting to have 1 stop shop mod selections.
    2010 and 2012 World Series Champions: San Francisco Giants
    1962, 1989, 2002

  8. #8
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,424

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Same here

  9. #9
    withfriend2's Avatar Signifer
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    maryland , USA
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    good guide dunno if it should be stickied though...

  10. #10
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    I'm stuck between steps 8 and 9. I can complete 8, where I've told the game to download a mod, and it does, and the green bar finishes and says COMPLETE, but then when I click on the Installed tab, nothing is there.

    I got the game from D2D via Steam, and I play in Offline Mode. That doesn't stop me from viewing and downloading the mods, so I doubt it affects whether I see them or not, but maybe it does.

    Any suggestions?

    >>>>>>>>>>

    On another note, do you all see a problem with the tiles refreshing their overlays? I will often tell a worker to build a mine on a hill, and the bottom half of the tile will start to turn white and show the mine stuff, but the upper half won't. It'll continue to appear as an unimproved hill until I scroll up and bring the bottom edge of the screen near the hill, at which time the entire tile's overlay will update. I have to do this every time I load a game, or every time I make an improvement. I'm playing the DX11 version on a newly (clean) installed Win 7 64, if it matters.

  11. #11
    Akar's Avatar I am not a clever man.
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The 12th Plane of Torment.
    Posts
    8,574

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Quote Originally Posted by Servius View Post
    I'm stuck between steps 8 and 9. I can complete 8, where I've told the game to download a mod, and it does, and the green bar finishes and says COMPLETE, but then when I click on the Installed tab, nothing is there.

    I got the game from D2D via Steam, and I play in Offline Mode. That doesn't stop me from viewing and downloading the mods, so I doubt it affects whether I see them or not, but maybe it does.

    Any suggestions?

    >>>>>>>>>>

    On another note, do you all see a problem with the tiles refreshing their overlays? I will often tell a worker to build a mine on a hill, and the bottom half of the tile will start to turn white and show the mine stuff, but the upper half won't. It'll continue to appear as an unimproved hill until I scroll up and bring the bottom edge of the screen near the hill, at which time the entire tile's overlay will update. I have to do this every time I load a game, or every time I make an improvement. I'm playing the DX11 version on a newly (clean) installed Win 7 64, if it matters.


    You have to go online for it to take effect.

  12. #12
    Double A's Avatar person man
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Cackalackistan
    Posts
    23,355

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Quote Originally Posted by Thanatos View Post
    Nonsense!

    What I'm saying is that for now, it's only temporarily stickied. If this becomes popular, I might consider permanently stickying it until say, Civ VI came out or something.
    People were asking how to install mods for Civ V? When it's the third tab down?

    Also, Civ VI? My blown is mind.
    Jon had taken Donal and Benjen’s advice to heart: Sam may be fat and pathetic, but he is still a member of the watch, and one of the few black brothers who isn't a rapist or thief. (out of context, this sounds ridiculously racist)
    super awesome music thing | political profile
    GSTK member - Join today! (We're restarting. Again.)

  13. #13
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    I just tried to make this work while having Steam in Online mode and it still won't work. I find the mod I want, download it, it says COMPLETE, I click on the Installed button and it just says NO MODS INSTALLED. I click the Online button again and it still says the file has been downloaded.

    So, still stuck between steps 8 and 9. What's the next suggestion?

    EDIT: After more digging, it seems it's a bug that's triggered by the fact that Steam and Civ5 aren't installed in the C drive...

    I'm reading up on this: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1444062

    which leads to this: http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=89645
    Last edited by Servius; October 12, 2010 at 03:05 PM.

  14. #14
    Double A's Avatar person man
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Cackalackistan
    Posts
    23,355

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    You have to let it sit for a few seconds.

    That's all I can think of.
    Jon had taken Donal and Benjen’s advice to heart: Sam may be fat and pathetic, but he is still a member of the watch, and one of the few black brothers who isn't a rapist or thief. (out of context, this sounds ridiculously racist)
    super awesome music thing | political profile
    GSTK member - Join today! (We're restarting. Again.)

  15. #15
    Battletoads's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    755

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    any instructions for traditional way?

    I have a file civ finatics and want to use it

  16. #16
    Akar's Avatar I am not a clever man.
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The 12th Plane of Torment.
    Posts
    8,574

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Go to your "My games" folder, find civ 5, open the file find the "MODS" folder, drag and drop.

  17. #17
    Murakawa
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    I cannot load a mod it says microsoft bits hasnt been started. What is that? I cannot find a mod folder either to do it the old fashioned way. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

  18. #18
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Seriously great explanation Pilgrim. Love the detail of it.

    I have two questions for you and others. This is coming from essentially a newbie. Not to Civilization at all, but a newbie to modding in ANY way.

    1.) I have always been worried about modding games. So, I've never done it and never spent enough time to research it's ups and downs. My question is this - If I use any of the mods I find online, can I easily go back and play the game originally without any of the mods? Or are any mods I do (not scenario mods of course) permanent? Basically I only want to start experimenting with downloading mods if I know I can always go back to the original gameplay if I don't like them.

    2.) What got me into looking at mods, is a type of mod I always had in my head that I wish could be tried. I always thought it would be VERY cool to play the game, where when you capture another civ's capital, that you get their civ's special ability. Therefore, if you are playing as Egypt, you of course have your 20% production towards Wonders. But if you capture Beijing, you would automatically get the Great General bonuses that they had. And, if you continue on and capture Tenochtitlan, you start to get culture bonuses for killing enemies, etc. And if any of them capture their capital back, they get their powers back (probably would be quite difficult in most cases). I think you get the idea. So, does anybody know of a mod like this, or if not, would it be even realistic/possible for one of you smart computer people to make a mod like this?

    Appreciate the help with both questions!

  19. #19
    Hobbes's Avatar Δημοκρατία Σαπρὰ
    Content Staff

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    9,582

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    Excellent guide, my friend!
    This is a signature.

  20. #20
    Ikko-Ikki
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to install a mod for Civ 5

    In step 13 the "set up game" has disapeared after downloading a LOTR mod. only options are "load game" and "custom game" no mods appear in playable list and the map is not in my map list. How do I get the "set up game" option back?!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •