Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: The "show me how" button is greyed out

  1. #1

    Default The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Like the title says. I started a roman campaine and the advisor pops up and says "hey clicky show me how"*

    I'm running Windows 7 and have the steam version.


    *paraphrased of course

  2. #2
    Brusilov's Avatar Local Moderator
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dublin, ROI
    Posts
    18,590

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Is this the very start of the campaign?

    Did you turn off the advisor?

    Even if you turned off the advisor it will show at the start as this is the way that the script is initiated. Once you've done that (and your treasury will increase by 1) you won't see the advisor again.

    Local Forum Moderator (Total War: Eras Technical Help, Shogun 2: Total War, RSII, RTR, World Of Tanks) - please no PMs

    War Thunder TWC Player Names: here


  3. #3

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Yeah, started a campaign and tried to click the button but it was grayed out and would not allow me too.

    and i can't save or load. they are grayed out as well

    never mind. started a new campaign and it works. odd but whatever
    Last edited by 0bliviousCaboose; September 04, 2010 at 08:09 PM.

  4. #4

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    I've got the same problem. Show me how button greyed out.
    Clicking on the advisor doesn't add 1 credit.
    I've exited the game completely, back to the windows desktop, and started again several times.
    Show me how button is greyed out every time.
    And 1 in 3 times the save and load buttons are greyed out too.
    Even crtl-s doesn't work.
    Tried it with different factions.

    Windows XP Home Edition
    Install path c:\Rome
    Clean install of the Gold Edition.
    Playing campaigns with Alex.
    Advisor on high.
    Last edited by yarro; September 05, 2010 at 01:02 AM.

  5. #5
    Siegfriedfr's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    454

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    +1 for me.

    Advisor doesnt pop up when clicking on cities.

    When i start a campaign /load a game i glimpse the advisor on the top but it disappear immmediately, no time to click on it

  6. #6

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    I've got the same problem. Show me how button greyed out.
    Clicking on the advisor doesn't add 1 credit.
    I've exited the game completely, back to the windows desktop, and started again several times.
    Show me how button is greyed out every time.
    And 1 in 3 times the save and load buttons are greyed out too.
    Even crtl-s doesn't work.
    Tried it with different factions.

    Windows XP Home Edition
    Install path c:\Rome
    Clean install of the Gold Edition.
    Playing campaigns with Alex.
    Advisor on high.
    Restart your computer, and retry. Make sure it is the only campaign you are playing, or restart the mod (when you do this, you need to wait a bit before restarting for the cache to be cleared).

    +1 for me.

    Advisor doesnt pop up when clicking on cities.

    When i start a campaign /load a game i glimpse the advisor on the top but it disappear immmediately, no time to click on it
    If your money increase by one, it means it works, just check it out.

  7. #7

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    The first time any campaign is started the script should autoactivate and add one denarius, and the advisor will pop up very quickly then disappear. Every time after that you must activate the script by clicking on the advisor at the start of the campaign when you reload.


    Under patronage of Spirit of Rob; Patron of Century X, Pacco, Cherryfunk, Leif Erikson.

  8. #8

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    I have the same problem with my save from yesterday. Is there a solution yet?

    Edit: My solution for the problem to restart the game and try it again. It worked out.
    Last edited by Sock; September 05, 2010 at 04:45 AM.

  9. #9

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Hello!

    When i started my Roman campaign->Click on Rome->advisor popped up, but no show me how button active->i click on her and see 1 denarii added->i loose a navy battle and want to reload->reload done she pops up again saying "click me to fully load script"->i do but no denarii is added.

    So when no denarii is added it means the script is still/already running? Please advise.


    As I expected. Thx Brusilov for the info!
    Last edited by Gabius; September 06, 2010 at 03:27 PM.

  10. #10
    Brusilov's Avatar Local Moderator
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dublin, ROI
    Posts
    18,590

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Quote Originally Posted by Gabius View Post
    Hello!

    When i started my Roman campaign->Click on Rome->advisor popped up, but no show me how button active->i click on her and see 1 denarii added->i loose a navy battle and want to reload->reload done she pops up again saying "click me to fully load script"->i do but no denarii is added.

    So when no denarii is added it means the script is still/already running? Please advise.
    As per the release thread:

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Each time the script is activated, a denarius will be added to your treasury. To verify script activation, check to see that your treasury has gone up a single denarius.

    Caveat:

    The script will not activate even if you do click on the "Show me how" button on the advisor if you failed to exit the game upon switching campaigns. To ensure proper script activation, quit from Rome Total War and re-launch RSII via the launcher before starting a new campaign.


    From that and the fact that your treasury did not increase then I'd say the script is not working. Exit out of the game and restart.

    Learn to live with your losses!

    Local Forum Moderator (Total War: Eras Technical Help, Shogun 2: Total War, RSII, RTR, World Of Tanks) - please no PMs

    War Thunder TWC Player Names: here


  11. #11

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Restarting the computer did the trick.
    It all wordks fine now.

  12. #12
    Brusilov's Avatar Local Moderator
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dublin, ROI
    Posts
    18,590

    Default Re: The "show me how" button is greyed out

    Answered & closed

    Local Forum Moderator (Total War: Eras Technical Help, Shogun 2: Total War, RSII, RTR, World Of Tanks) - please no PMs

    War Thunder TWC Player Names: here


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •