Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: error when starting a campaign

  1. #1
    midnite's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    new england area
    Posts
    7,031

    Default error when starting a campaign

    os is vista
    tried running rs2 with rtw and with bi
    path is C:\Romasurrectum2\Rome - Total War

    error -> started a roman campaign.
    reached the screen that says "chosse your exe".
    Was given two options rtw or bi.
    Selected bi (had the bi disk in my drive)
    message popped up -> "please select an item from the list"
    at this point stuck in a "loop" , cannot go forward
    had to exit out of the program

    upon exit from the program the following error -> "script error descr_strat.txt line 12 expected start date"

    tried both the romans and carthage with the bi disk with the same results
    tried both rome and carthage with rtw disk with the same results

    -------------------

    note: at the start of the launcher selected to play rome with BI
    changed to carthage with bi, changed to rome with rtw, changed to carthage with rtw
    memory of Midnite, Pumpkin and Bear-- my friends -- 4/2/2010, 5/24/2010 and 11/27/17

    Under the esteemed patronage of Elrond

  2. #2
    apple's Avatar Searching for 42
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norrtälje Sweden
    Posts
    11,714

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Strange. Are you sure that your RTW/Bi was fully patched before installing the game?
    Son of Legio
    Father of Paedric and Remlap
    Roma Surrectum II, Ages of Darkness II & Rome Total Realism Developer















  3. #3
    midnite's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    new england area
    Posts
    7,031

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by apple View Post
    Strange. Are you sure that your RTW/Bi was fully patched before installing the game?

    I will check it again!!! It was a clean install
    memory of Midnite, Pumpkin and Bear-- my friends -- 4/2/2010, 5/24/2010 and 11/27/17

    Under the esteemed patronage of Elrond

  4. #4
    apple's Avatar Searching for 42
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norrtälje Sweden
    Posts
    11,714

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Ok. Some RTW/BI are actually 1.3 (I think).
    If that doesn't solve it try this: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...84#post8022884
    It could work for this issue to.
    Son of Legio
    Father of Paedric and Remlap
    Roma Surrectum II, Ages of Darkness II & Rome Total Realism Developer















  5. #5
    Brusilov's Avatar Local Moderator
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Dublin, ROI
    Posts
    18,589

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by midnite View Post
    message popped up -> "please select an item from the list"
    There are two reasons for this message.

    1) You've not patched your RTW to the correct level. I've usually seen this error with RTW BI but I guess it would also be possible with RTW. There is only one version of RTW Alexander and that's 1.9.

    2) When starting a 'faction specific' campaign make sure that on the 'Faction' Campaign menu you select the 'Click here to start (faction) Campaign....' (1) before clicking on the arrow (2) in the right hand corner.

    Hopefully this is clearer from this screen:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 



    Local Forum Moderator (Total War: Eras Technical Help, Shogun 2: Total War, RSII, RTR, World Of Tanks) - please no PMs

    War Thunder TWC Player Names: here


  6. #6
    midnite's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    new england area
    Posts
    7,031

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Thank you gentlemen. RS2 is now working fine. My original copy of rtw/bi was version 1.6 but my copy of RTW/BI where I installed RS2 was only version 1.4. Thank you once again. Great job!!
    memory of Midnite, Pumpkin and Bear-- my friends -- 4/2/2010, 5/24/2010 and 11/27/17

    Under the esteemed patronage of Elrond

  7. #7
    apple's Avatar Searching for 42
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norrtälje Sweden
    Posts
    11,714

    Default Re: error when starting a campaign

    Enjoy playing mate.
    Last edited by apple; September 08, 2010 at 09:41 AM.
    Son of Legio
    Father of Paedric and Remlap
    Roma Surrectum II, Ages of Darkness II & Rome Total Realism Developer















Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •