Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 142

Thread: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

  1. #61
    Alpha Zeke's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    The US of A
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    I could not find in your guide, how to find the rank of a general?

  2. #62
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    It's the little number shown on him. They are from rank 1-3 and gain/lose rank by winning/losing battles.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  3. #63
    Alpha Zeke's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    The US of A
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Hmm. I never saw it before, but, I will look for it now

  4. #64

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Hi Garnier,

    I haven't played yet but I will, congratulations on a new project. Having a blog will definitely help, also I see you're actively supporting the software

    I used your mod in M&B and you were helpful there too, so I think this mini project can go a long way if you keep the interest.

    Below is my tiny contribution to your project:


    • It's a bit late but before going manual troubleshooting I found the solution in your command line post for 64-bit, therefore I suggest you move this line into 1st post with a big NOTE FOR 64-BIT USERS
    • I strongly recommend a Wiki to be set up ASAP, if there were one I could (re-post) 64-bit thing today at 2:25 AM (not sleepy) and in a week you may have a massive doc set. You'll be amazed how these things take off with community.
    • I see you have a hosting site but if somehow you need PM me and I'll gladly try to arrange a minimal hosting for P&C
    • I was trying to get it installed for the last 15 minutes and I'm in the IT, so I think it'll be good to have another installer, possibly displaying two short 'NOTE!' screens at the startup or end (note1 'read the doc or wiki <here>' and note 2 '64-bit users, type this command')

    ok I just launched the game first quick comments
    • visual - fog of war in caps as it's an abbreviation FOW
    • sound - music as said before, even a single quick single track background music would be better than now
    • visual - tooltips for menu options (to save time/assist people) for example mouse hover on "edit mode:" and tooltip says "with this enabled you can do blah blah"
    • I didn't get functions of the three arrows (pointing left - right - bottom) in create game screen in a second, it's better to make it so much simpler if you don't mind. like, "back" (left arrow), "Go!" (right arrow), "back from the other door?" (bottom arrow)

    ok got first 'bug' report below or maybe I'm doing something wrong...

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    --------------BEGIN REPORT------------------
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ArgumentException: An item with the same key has already been added.
    at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentException(ExceptionResource resource)
    at System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2.Insert(TKey key, TValue value, Boolean add)
    at PAC.ScopeGUI.SetToGUI()
    at PAC.Game..ctor(WindowPainter painter)
    at PAC.G.PrepareGame()
    at PAC.Menu.StartGame(String param)
    at PAC.Function.MakeCall(Message msg)
    at PAC.Function.MakeCall(String call)
    at PAC.GSButton.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
    at PAC.GameScreen.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
    at PAC.MenuMouseHandler.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
    at PAC.GameGUI.MapBox_MouseDown(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseDown(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4952 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    P&C
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/tmp/Plot%20%26%20Conquer/P%26C.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
    Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SlimDX
    Assembly Version: 2.0.10.43
    Win32 Version:
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/SlimDX/2.0.10.43__b1b0c32fd1ffe4f9/SlimDX.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.4926 built by: NetFXw7
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    msvcm90
    Assembly Version: 9.0.30729.4926
    Win32 Version: 9.00.30729.4926
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/WinSxS/x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_508ed732bcbc0e5a/msvcm90.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.DirectX
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
    Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:
    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
    --------------------------END REPORT-----------------------


    I'll check later on, thanks and good luck

  5. #65
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Good points all of them, mrwho.

    I added the 64-bit note in the first post. I think I fixed your bug also, it should update next time you run the game. I've never had that one happen to me so I can't know for sure that it's fixed.

    Adding more info to the installer is a good idea, for when I have time. Making the menus more intuitive is also important.

    A wiki is a very good idea, I still need to figure out what sort of web hosting to settle on first.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  6. #66

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    1) feature request

    I run P&C.exe again, it prompted for an update I said YES, updated & launched the game. Bug was still there.

    I quit the game.

    I run P&C.exe again, there was another update, therefore my recommendation to improve the behaviour of the autoupdater is, to let the user now there are 1 or more available updates therefore they should quit and rerun the game which will autoupdate again.

    (note: an obviously better approach would be to apply all updates at once but that may require longer coding at this stage, so the method above might be optimal?)

    2) ta

    after 2nd update I saw the tooltips, and 3rd arrow is gone, cheers. I never thought I'd miss the third arrow

    3) bug report
    Hardware: Dell XPS M1210 Laptop, T5600 @1.83Ghz, 4.00(3.25usable)Mem
    Software: Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600] / 64-bit Windows 7 with all the latest critical updates applied
    Steps to re-create bug on this system:

    1. Right click on P&C.exe & run (or run as administrator = same result)
    2. now at main menu, v=43 9/9/2010, click Create Game
    3. Click continue (w/o any changes to defaults)
    4. now at set path browser window, type in C:\tmp\aa.sav
    5. now at set master pwd window, type in "123456"
    6. now at choose map, click Continue with default & only option Europe
    7. now at chose scenario, click Continue with default & only option 1793
    8. now at choose nations, click Continue with default optinos (France & Britain=user I guess) others AI
    9. now at start game, click Start Game, here is the error output:
      Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

      See the end of this message for details on invoking
      just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

      ************** Exception Text **************
      SlimDX.Direct3D9.Direct3D9Exception: D3DXERR_INVALIDDATA: Invalid data (-2005529767)
      at SlimDX.Result.Throw[T](Object dataKey, Object dataValue)
      at SlimDX.Result.Record[T](Int32 hr, Boolean failed, Object dataKey, Object dataValue)
      at SlimDX.Direct3D9.Texture.FromFile(Device device, String fileName, Int32 width, Int32 height, Int32 levelCount, Usage usage, Format format, Pool pool, Filter filter, Filter mipFilter, Int32 colorKey)
      at SlimDX.Direct3D9.Texture.FromFile(Device device, String fileName)
      at PAC.PMap.LoadMapCache_Highlighting(String regionsPath)
      at PAC.PMap.LoadMap()
      at PAC.PMap.LoadMap(String mapPath, String mapName)
      at PAC.G.PrepareGame()
      at PAC.Menu.StartGame(String param)
      at PAC.Function.MakeCall(Message msg)
      at PAC.Function.MakeCall(String call)
      at PAC.GSButton.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
      at PAC.GameScreen.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
      at PAC.MenuMouseHandler.MouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
      at PAC.GameGUI.MapBox_MouseDown(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseDown(MouseEventArgs e)
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseDown(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
      at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
      at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


      ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
      mscorlib
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4952 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      P&C
      Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
      CodeBase: file:///C:/tmp/Plot%20%26%20Conquer/P%26C.exe
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Windows.Forms
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Drawing
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback
      Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
      Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.AudioVideoPlayback.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      SlimDX
      Assembly Version: 2.0.10.43
      Win32 Version:
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/SlimDX/2.0.10.43__b1b0c32fd1ffe4f9/SlimDX.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Core
      Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
      Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.4926 built by: NetFXw7
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Configuration
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      System.Xml
      Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
      Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      msvcm90
      Assembly Version: 9.0.30729.4926
      Win32 Version: 9.00.30729.4926
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/WinSxS/x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_508ed732bcbc0e5a/msvcm90.dll
      ----------------------------------------
      Microsoft.DirectX
      Assembly Version: 1.0.2902.0
      Win32 Version: 5.04.00.2904
      CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC/Microsoft.DirectX/1.0.2902.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.DirectX.dll
      ----------------------------------------

      ************** JIT Debugging **************
      To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
      application or computer (machine.config) must have the
      jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
      The application must also be compiled with debugging
      enabled.

      For example:

      <configuration>
      <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
      </configuration>

      When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
      will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
      rather than be handled by this dialog box.

    4) feature request
    Country names on flags, I know everyone is supposed to know at least 25 major players in political arena in late 1700s but still would be good to have a reminder

    5) feature request
    on top of 4, an additional brief info for each country (or force) which is 1 to 5 paragraphs long. if you're not in mood even a single sentence would do such as "France is in turmoil, can you save her before buoneparte? blah blah" (idea 100% inspired from RTW screen ) then I'll be so keen n play all night just to save her

    thanks

  7. #67
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    1)
    I do all updates at once, so you never download outdated stuff. You just happened to update right before I deployed the next update.

    2)

    I only removed it in cases where it does the same thing as the down arrow.

    3)
    This is a different bug, something is wrong with directx while loading one of the map highlighting files. Try going into your Modules\Main\Maps\Europe and deleting the "Cache" folder. It could have got corrupted when your last bug was happening.

    4)
    Done.

    5)
    No, are you crazy?
    Actually it's a good idea but I don't have time to write anything of the sort. Maybe I'll put placeholders in and someone else will write them and give them to me.
    Last edited by Garnier; September 09, 2010 at 03:51 PM.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  8. #68

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    1) ok I see now
    2) yes noticed now, its' actually needed in some cases. perhaps in the future we could have buttons with more graphic like main menu with a circled arrow etc. we need a photoshop guru I think, it should take 5 minutes to do all few buttons
    3) deleted cache, and for the first time I got the nice map, thanks. I will play tonight
    4) thx
    5) I think you could use some teamwork. if you set up some kind of team work site I can do tiny bits of work for this project. if we get 30 guys do tiny bits (say an hour a week), it becomes a 1x fulltime game developer but we need a site in the forum/PM/email it'll get messy quick

    thanks for quick response

  9. #69
    Stuntdawg5's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    752

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Yeah, I could help out with the writing portion of what mrwho said. I'm a decent writer. Plus I have a good amount of time on my hands. If ya make a website let me know and I'll most likely be willing to help out

  10. #70
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS



    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  11. #71

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Well done Garnier, added only a layout guide see if you'd like to keep it? I will add some more articles when I've some more to say on the game... thanks

  12. #72

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Quote Originally Posted by Stuntdawg5 View Post
    Yeah, I could help out with the writing portion of what mrwho said. I'm a decent writer. Plus I have a good amount of time on my hands. If ya make a website let me know and I'll most likely be willing to help out
    @Stuntdawg5,
    Just a suggestion, perhaps you could start contributing in the Wiki [where any user can 'write'] and then Garnier could import them into the game later?

    This is getting better... I wonder about background music now
    Last edited by themrwho; September 10, 2010 at 05:53 PM. Reason: Edit - corrected Wiki bit

  13. #73
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Give me some public domain music and some time I'll figure out how to set that up.

    Also anyone can edit the wiki, no need to register.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  14. #74

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Someone may provide better but here are some MIDIs...

    EDIT: OK corrected wiki post above.
    Last edited by themrwho; September 10, 2010 at 06:02 PM.

  15. #75
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Some of us are preparing to start a new MP game, we're going to wait until we have 7 people before starting it. If more sign up that's fine too.

    The winner is the player with the most regions after 50 turns.

    We need to fill these slots:

    France - Garnier
    Britain - Alpha Zeke
    Prussia - AlaskanAvenger
    Russia - Tiberius
    Austria
    Spain - Pedroskivich
    Ottoman Empire - Senshi

    So far we have these players:
    Garnier
    AlaskanAvenger
    Pedroskivich
    Tiberius

    Senshi
    Alpha Zeke


    Anyone interested can sign up by posting here or PMing me. I'll need an email address for you so that you can get alerted when it's your turn.
    Last edited by Garnier; September 12, 2010 at 07:13 PM.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  16. #76
    Alpha Zeke's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    The US of A
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    I'm interested! Since I'm being crushed in our other game
    I'll play as Britain, if not possible then Spain?

  17. #77
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    Only one more player needed before we start.


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  18. #78
    Alpha Zeke's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    The US of A
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    JW, does it need an email? Since I don't check it often at all.

  19. #79
    Friend
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Beautiful America
    Posts
    8,626

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    That's how you get alerted when it's your turn. You can also check the status page as well of course. How were you knowing when it was your turn in our last game?


    Retired moderator of TWC
    | Under the patronage of Atterdag

  20. #80
    Alpha Zeke's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    The US of A
    Posts
    2,931

    Default Re: Plot & Conquer - Free Multiplayer TBS

    I checked whenever I had time

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •