Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 164

Thread: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

  1. #81
    StealthFox's Avatar Consensus Achieved
    Librarian Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    7,775

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Can you not run it normally (not in admin mode)?

  2. #82
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Quote Originally Posted by MrKillPillz View Post
    I have been getting the unspecified error CTD message for a while now, the game started off perfectly. I play this game on a Vista 32-bit computer, and it is definitely powerful enough to run this game. I started playing on version 3.2 of this wonderful mod, but it's become unplayable due to the predictable CTD that I'm getting everytime I try to go into a battle.

    I have taken every bit of advice that I could find, with this thread here being the most concise place for advice, which is why I've decided to ask here, can you help fix my game?

    I have "upgraded" what the game records, which I will put links to down below.

    Please help me fix this great mod so I can continue playing it!

    pkh.ai.log
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?du7ucfz2ydbyd5j

    pkh.script.log
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?37hh41hbjkb5abh

    pkh.script2.log
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?l68s4mque9tpevq

    pkh.scriptoutput.log
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?1x14v6jjdh7etwv

    auh.system.log
    http://www.mediafire.com/view/?nyz8kjvpt8slqvn
    Hi there and welcome to the TWC Forums!

    Try this: U have to disable daylight saving settings, for Vista, go to Control Panel, Clock, Date and Time, Change the time zone, Change time zone, uncheck `Automatically adjust clock for Daylight Savings time`.
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  3. #83

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    I just installed TATW 3 and patched up to 3.2. I am on Windows 7. When I double-click the shortcut, it opens a DOS prompt, but does not run the game. The BAT file is there. I've opened it and it looks all right. I've disabled UAC. I've been searching all over, and can't figure out why Win 7 won't run the BAT. Help!

  4. #84
    StealthFox's Avatar Consensus Achieved
    Librarian Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    7,775

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Did you download and install both TATW 3.0 Part 1 and TATW 3.0 Part 2? Do you indeed have M2TW and the Kingdoms expansion with at least one Kingdoms expansion installed?

  5. #85

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Yes. Reinstalling 3.0 Part 1 and 2 again, for good measure. I'm able to run the Kingdoms Americas campaign, although when I just did so, the Stainless Steel mod kicked in. Have you had reports of conflicts with SS? I guess I could try uninstalling that.

  6. #86
    StealthFox's Avatar Consensus Achieved
    Librarian Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    7,775

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    No, there should be no conflict with SS. Are you using Steam? SS and TATW should each have their own folder, as well as the americas campaign.

  7. #87

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Not using Steam. SS and TATW have their own folders. I can run SS. I can run Americas. When I run kindoms.exe directly I get a crash. Hmm. Trying to avoid full reinstall of Kingdoms, but that's all I can think of.

  8. #88
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Open TATW .cfg file in mods/Third_Age_3 with notepad, at the top there should be

    [io]
    file_first= true
    if it doesn't say 'true', change it to 'true'.
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  9. #89

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    It does say 'true'.

    [features]
    editor = true
    mod = mods/Third_Age_3
    [io]
    file_first = true

  10. #90

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Hi. I'm new here. A few days ago I installed Third age for the second time. First time I had it, it worked perfect. After some time it started to crash in the battles. Now, when I try to start a custom battle or enter campaign battle, I get this messaege: "Medieval 2: Total war encountered an unspecified error and will now exit". Medieval 2: total war works, but not Third age. How can I make it work?

  11. #91
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Quote Originally Posted by Shirali View Post
    Hi. I'm new here. A few days ago I installed Third age for the second time. First time I had it, it worked perfect. After some time it started to crash in the battles. Now, when I try to start a custom battle or enter campaign battle, I get this messaege: "Medieval 2: Total war encountered an unspecified error and will now exit". Medieval 2: total war works, but not Third age. How can I make it work?
    I have already answered your question in that other thread, you should not post same questions everywhere around. As I already said to you there in that other thread,try this : disable daylight saving settings, if u have win 7 or Vista, go to Control Panel, Clock, Date and Time, Change the time zone, Change time zone, uncheck `Automatically adjust clock for Daylight Savings time`.

    If u have win xp, simply double click the “clock” time display in the lower right of the windows task bar. In the “Date and Time Properties” dialog box click on the “Time Zone” tab. Below the map uncheck the box labeled “Automatically adjust clock for daylight saving time.”
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  12. #92

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Hi! I was playing a very nice Gondor campaign with TATW 3.1 and Baron Samedi''s submod with the bugfixer. By turn 78 when I hit the next turn button it goes to Rohan (this is supposed to happen) and crashes. I never had this before. Is there a way I can fix my campaign? I spend a lot of time on it and I'd rather not start a new game not knowing if it will happen again.

  13. #93
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Have you tried to delete map.rwm in data\ world\ maps\ base, and add this line to TATW.cfg file found in mods\ Third_Age_3 (open it with Notepad):
    [io]
    file_first = true
    disable_file_cache = true

    Even though, Barone`s submod is a lit bit buggy.
    Last edited by ElvenKind; November 05, 2012 at 06:16 AM.
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  14. #94

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    I added the line and deleted the file, but it keeps crashing.

  15. #95
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portugal, Porto
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    "I have already answered your question in that other thread, you should not post same questions everywhere around. As I already said to you there in that other thread,try this : disable daylight saving settings, if u have win 7 or Vista, go to Control Panel, Clock, Date and Time, Change the time zone, Change time zone, uncheck `Automatically adjust clock for Daylight Savings time`."


    I have no idea how, but that just fixed it for me, thank you so much, also if someone has the spare time, can you explain why this works? ( nothing important, mostly curiosity)

  16. #96
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Viper View Post
    I added the line and deleted the file, but it keeps crashing.
    Well, there is some fix, but is not save game compatible, you will have to start another campaign.
    For fix check here.

    Quote Originally Posted by nochance View Post
    I have no idea how, but that just fixed it for me, thank you so much, also if someone has the spare time, can you explain why this works? ( nothing important, mostly curiosity)
    For some reason, TATW can`t manage summer\winter time changes, maybe cause of script time triggers or something. I`m not a coder or scripter so don`t know for sure.
    Last edited by ElvenKind; November 05, 2012 at 03:47 PM.
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  17. #97

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Thanks for your help!

  18. #98
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Portugal, Porto
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    Quote Originally Posted by nochance View Post
    "I have already answered your question in that other thread, you should not post same questions everywhere around. As I already said to you there in that other thread,try this : disable daylight saving settings, if u have win 7 or Vista, go to Control Panel, Clock, Date and Time, Change the time zone, Change time zone, uncheck `Automatically adjust clock for Daylight Savings time`."


    I have no idea how, but that just fixed it for me, thank you so much, also if someone has the spare time, can you explain why this works? ( nothing important, mostly curiosity)
    It worked for vanilla TA Total War, however, when i installed the MOS submod, it began to happen again, as soon as i started a custom battle, the game found an unspecified error and exited, anyone knows what i can change to fix it?
    Thanks in advance
    Some more info, in the submod post they recommend using cleaner.bat, when i do that, it simply says no file could be found

    Edit: Just noticed a new version of Mos was fixed, im just gonna reinstall all of third age and the submod and see what happens.
    Last edited by nochance; November 06, 2012 at 04:11 AM. Reason: More information added

  19. #99
    ElvenKind's Avatar Enjoy your life!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zadar
    Posts
    6,554

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    For battle CTDs in MOS Submod delete both descr_geography_new files(.txt and .db file) found in data folder.
    TATW Local Moderator
    Proud supporter of TATW,MOS,PCP, DaC!! -
    TWC Guide for new members by
    Shankbot- EK`s Install Thread - * Under proud patronage of one and only StealthFox *
    Want to be a new Justin B ?
    Want to learn pro photo editing?
    Best food in your own kitchen!
    Start your own business, and enjoy it!

  20. #100

    Default Re: -- Before posting: How to fix stability, Vista, Win 7 issues (incl. fatal graphics errors) and broken savegames --

    iv been working on this mod for days now and have had a number ctd's itll say medieval 2 total war or third age has suffered a fatal error and will now exit or it will say cannot find kingdoms.exe pls help itll flash the opening screen go threu to the intro then crash

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •