Hi, I'm an amateur modder and I've been recently modding the Rise of Kings mod for M2TW patch 1.2. As it seems that that mod is dead, I was wondering if anyone here is interested in the things I was able to do. I am a big fan of the first Medieval and would've liked to see the same kind of atmosphere on the campaign map in Medieval 2. Hence, I too have been trying to make Medieval 2 as close as possible to Medieval 1. Some things I've already finished are:

1) The map. The original Rise of Kings map is a much larger map than the vanilla map, and I was able to spread out all the cities so that everything is balanced. And I maxed out the number of provinces so that an army won't spend too much time marching around doing nothing (ie, instead of adding more movement points, I kept it pretty much the same. The difference is that there are so many cities that are not too far from each other that you can move from city to city in no more than two turns, especially in Europe).

2) Also, I saved screenshots of the original medieval 1 map and was able to give each faction the original colors from medieval 1 (ie, just one solid color, no secondary color outlining borders on the campaign map). The only colors I diverged on were The Italians, which I kept the Venetian red but made it darker, the portuguese (because they werent in medieval 1), the russians and the byzantines (i kept it the same)

3) I organized the factions around particular "cultures". Basically, I kept it like medieval 1, with The English, The French, The Germans, The Italians, etc. Since the political kingdoms were just a mess, and since dynastic families are just as bad, I decided to keep it to nationalities, even though they are anachronistic, because it kept things simple, and anyway it's like medieval 1.