Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 260

Thread: How to add an existing unit to another faction

  1. #1
    Stephan's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wien
    Posts
    1,575

    Default How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Open the battle_models.modelbd file and search for the unit you had in mind
    it should look something like this

    13 levy_spearmen
    1 4
    60
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/levy_spearmen_lod0.mesh 121
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/levy_spearmen_lod1.mesh 900
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/levy_spearmen_lod2.mesh 2500
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/levy_spearmen_lod3.mesh 6400
    2
    7 england
    79
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_england.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    49 unit_sprites/england_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr
    5 slave
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_rebels.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr
    2
    7 england
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_diff.texture
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_norm.texture 0
    5 slave
    56 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_slave_diff.texture
    56 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_slave_norm.texture 0
    1
    4 None
    10 MTW2_Spear 0
    2
    18 MTW2_Spear_primary
    14 fs_test_shield 0
    16 -0.090000004 0 0 -0.34999999 0.80000001 0.60000002


    now you copy the england texture part and paste it underneath

    then it should look something like this
    dont forget to change the 2 to a 3, because you added one entry

    3
    7 england
    79
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_england.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    49 unit_sprites/england_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr
    7 england
    79
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_england.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    49 unit_sprites/england_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr

    5 slave
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_rebels.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr
    now you change the name, enland, to whatever you want, egypt in this case. the number before egypt is the number of letters used, so you also have to change that


    5 egypt
    79
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_england.texture
    78
    unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal.texture
    49 unit_sprites/england_Dummy_EN_Spearmen_sprite.spr
    now you do the same with the attachments

    3
    7 england
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_diff.texture
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_norm.texture 0

    5 egypt
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_diff.texture
    58 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_england_norm.texture 0

    5 slave
    56 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_slave_diff.texture
    56 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Kite_slave_norm.texture 0
    save the battle_models.modelbd and open the edu (export_descr_units)

    search for your unit and just change this


    ownership england, slave
    era 0
    england
    era 1
    england
    era 2
    england


    to this


    ownership england, egypt, slave
    era 0
    england, egypt
    era 1
    england, egypt
    era 2
    england, egypt


    copy the unit card (data/ui/units) and the unit info card
    (data/ui/units_info) from the enland folder to the egypt one, then the unit will be available in costum battles.

    if youd like to recrute them on the campaign map youll have to do the following

    open the export_descr_buildings

    search for your unit
    , and just add the new faction name.
    It has to look exactly like this
    { ireland, egypt, }
    otherwise the game will crash.
    {-space-faction_name-comma-space-faction_name-comma-space-}
    this time ill add the Saighdeoir to egypt, not the levy spearmen, so dont be confused

    building missiles
    {
    levels bowyer practice_range archery_range marksmans_range
    {
    bowyer castle requires factions { northern_european, middle_eastern, eastern_european, greek, southern_european, }
    {
    capability
    {
    recruit_pool "Saethwyr" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Saighdeoir" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { ireland, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Peasant Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { england, scotland, france, saxons, hre, teutonic_order, denmark, spain, portugal, milan, venice, papal_states, norway, }
    recruit_pool "Sodeer Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { jerusalem, antioch, }
    recruit_pool "S Peasant Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { sicily, hungary, byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "EE Peasant Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { poland, lithuania, russia, }
    recruit_pool "Sudanese Javelinmen" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { moors, }
    recruit_pool "ME Peasant Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { egypt, turks, mongols, timurids, }
    }
    material wooden
    construction 2
    cost 1500
    settlement_min town
    upgrades
    {
    practice_range
    }
    }
    practice_range castle requires factions { denmark, hre, scotland, antioch, france, saxons, jerusalem, england, middle_eastern, eastern_european, greek, southern_european, ireland, teutonic_order, norway, wales, }
    {
    capability
    {
    recruit_pool "Welsh Skirmishers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Saethwyr" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Longbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { england, }
    recruit_pool "Maronites of Lebanon" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { jerusalem, }
    recruit_pool "Highland Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { scotland, }
    recruit_pool "Peasant Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { france, saxons, hre, spain, portugal, milan, venice, papal_states, }
    recruit_pool "Prussian Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { teutonic_order, }
    recruit_pool "Armenians of Celicia" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { antioch, }
    recruit_pool "Norse Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { denmark, norway, }
    recruit_pool "Sicilian Muslim Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { sicily, }
    recruit_pool "Lithuanian Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { poland, }
    recruit_pool "Baltic Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { lithuania, }
    recruit_pool "Bosnian Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { hungary, }
    recruit_pool "Trebizond Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "Desert Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { moors, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Turkish Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { turks, timurids, }
    recruit_pool "Saighdeoir" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { ireland, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Mongol Foot Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { mongols, }
    recruit_pool "EE Peasant Archers" 1 0.34 2 1 requires factions { russia, }
    }
    material wooden
    construction 4
    cost 2500
    settlement_min large_town
    upgrades
    {
    archery_range
    }
    }
    archery_range castle requires factions { denmark, hre, teutonic_order, scotland, antioch, france, saxons, jerusalem, england, egypt, turks, moors, eastern_european, greek, southern_european, ireland, norway, mongols, wales, } and event_counter not_pagan_lithuania 1
    {
    capability
    {
    recruit_pool "Welsh Skirmishers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Saethwyr" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Yeoman Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { england, }
    recruit_pool "Templar Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { jerusalem, }
    recruit_pool "Livonian Auxiliaries" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { teutonic_order, }
    recruit_pool "Noble Highland Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { scotland, }
    recruit_pool "Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { france, saxons, denmark, hungary, norway, }
    recruit_pool "Hospitaller Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { antioch, }
    recruit_pool "Pavise Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { hre, spain, portugal, papal_states, sicily, }
    recruit_pool "Genoese Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { milan, }
    recruit_pool "Venetian Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { venice, }
    recruit_pool "Lithuanian Cavalry" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { poland, }
    recruit_pool "Dismounted Dvor" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { russia, }
    recruit_pool "Lettish Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { lithuania, } and event_counter not_pagan_lithuania 1
    recruit_pool "Byzantine Guard Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "Turkish Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { turks, }
    recruit_pool "Greek Firethrower" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "Dismounted Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { mongols, }
    recruit_pool "ME Peasant Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 4 0 requires factions { moors, }
    recruit_pool "Abid al Shira" 1 0.4 4 0 requires factions { egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Turkish Archers" 2 0.4 2 1 requires factions { turks, timurids, }
    recruit_pool "Longbowmen" 1 0.34 2 0 requires factions { england, }
    recruit_pool "Maronites of Lebanon" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { jerusalem, }
    recruit_pool "Armenians of Celicia" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { antioch, }
    recruit_pool "Sicilian Muslim Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { sicily, }
    recruit_pool "Lithuanian Archers" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { poland, }
    recruit_pool "Baltic Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { lithuania, }
    recruit_pool "Bosnian Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { hungary, }
    recruit_pool "Desert Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { moors, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Saighdeoir" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { ireland, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Mongol Foot Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { mongols, }
    }
    material wooden
    construction 6
    cost 4500
    settlement_min city
    upgrades
    {
    marksmans_range
    }
    }
    marksmans_range castle requires factions { denmark, hre, teutonic_order, antioch, france, saxons, jerusalem, england, egypt, turks, moors, eastern_european, greek, southern_european, ireland, norway, mongols, wales, } and event_counter not_pagan_lithuania 1
    {
    capability
    {
    recruit_pool "Mounted Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { hre, denmark, spain, portugal, milan, venice, papal_states, sicily, teutonic_order, norway, }
    recruit_pool "Helwyr" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { wales, }
    recruit_pool "Late Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { england, france, saxons, spain, portugal, } and event_counter gunpowder_discovered 1
    recruit_pool "Janissary Archers" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { turks, }
    recruit_pool "Dismounted Longbowmen" 1 0.34 2 0 requires factions { england, }
    recruit_pool "Scots Guard" 1 0.34 2 0 requires factions { france, saxons, }
    recruit_pool "Dismounted Heavy Archers" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { mongols, timurids, }
    recruit_pool "Granadine CB Cav" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { moors, }
    recruit_pool "Turkish Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { turks, }
    recruit_pool "Templar Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { jerusalem, }
    recruit_pool "Livonian Auxiliaries" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { teutonic_order, }
    recruit_pool "Noble Highland Archers" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { scotland, }
    recruit_pool "Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { hungary, norway, denmark, }
    recruit_pool "Hospitaller Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { antioch, }
    recruit_pool "Pavise Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { hre, spain, portugal, papal_states, sicily, }
    recruit_pool "Genoese Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 0 requires factions { milan, }
    recruit_pool "Venetian Archers" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { venice, }
    recruit_pool "Lithuanian Cavalry" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { poland, }
    recruit_pool "Dismounted Dvor" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { russia, }
    recruit_pool "Lettish Crossbowmen" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { lithuania, } and event_counter not_pagan_lithuania 1
    recruit_pool "Byzantine Guard Archers" 1 0.4 3 1 requires factions { byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "ME Peasant Crossbowmen" 1 0.3 2 0 requires factions { moors, }
    recruit_pool "Abid al Shira" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Greek Firethrower" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { byzantium, }
    recruit_pool "Turkish Archers" 2 0.4 2 1 requires factions { timurids, }
    recruit_pool "Maronites of Lebanon" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { jerusalem, }
    recruit_pool "Armenians of Celicia" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { antioch, }
    recruit_pool "Sicilian Muslim Archers" 1 0.4 2 0 requires factions { sicily, }
    recruit_pool "Lithuanian Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { poland, }
    recruit_pool "Baltic Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { lithuania, }
    recruit_pool "Bosnian Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { hungary, }
    recruit_pool "Desert Archers" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { moors, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Saighdeoir" 1 0.4 2 1 requires factions { ireland, egypt, }
    recruit_pool "Mongol Foot Archers" 1 0.25 2 1 requires factions { mongols, }
    }
    material wooden
    construction 8
    cost 6000
    settlement_min large_city
    upgrades
    {
    }
    }
    }
    plugins
    {
    }
    }



    good luck
    Last edited by Stephan; April 02, 2010 at 09:28 AM.

    Yes, I know that Ishtar is spelled wrong

  2. #2
    Stephan's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wien
    Posts
    1,575

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    comments please

    Yes, I know that Ishtar is spelled wrong

  3. #3
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,760
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    You're missing changes necessary to enable campaign recruitment, currently if someone follows your instructions the unit will only be used in custom battles or if you bribe an army with the units in it.
    Last edited by Squid; April 02, 2010 at 09:34 AM.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Stephan's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wien
    Posts
    1,575

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    thx
    updated

    Yes, I know that Ishtar is spelled wrong

  5. #5

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    this was immensely helpful, thanks for all the effort you took to write up your guide

  6. #6
    Stephan's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wien
    Posts
    1,575

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    im glad it helped you

    Yes, I know that Ishtar is spelled wrong

  7. #7
    Domesticus
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The north
    Posts
    2,411

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Great! This is just what I needed. Subscribed (because otherwise I won't find this when I'll need it. ).

    Though this entry piece in EDB doesn't have to be like this:
    Code:
    { ireland, egypt, }
    I - for some reason, don't remember it - tested it and it works without the last comma:
    Code:
    { ireland, egypt }
    But, as you understand, this is a very unimportant thing so it has no much worth.

  8. #8

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    i cant recruit the unit I did all this to I am trying to get the english knights and longbowmen and a few other units to scotland but when I starty game and get all the buildings i cant recruit them it dosent show up?

  9. #9
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,095
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Just asked the same question in your other thread:



    I have been trying for the last two days to give scotland some more units I havnet had any errors or crashes
    The first question that should have been asked:
    Are you using this entry in your CFG file?:

    [io]
    file_first = true










  10. #10

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    game crashes when I try to play it in custom battle but I can't see anything wrong:

    Code:
     
    16 ulster_swordsmen 
    1 
    4 
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_lod0.mesh 121 
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_lod1.mesh 900 
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_lod2.mesh 2500 
    60 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_lod3.mesh 6400 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_normal3.texture 
    48 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_sprite.spr 
    14 teutonic_order 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_normal3.texture 
    48 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_sprite.spr 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 0
    14 teutonic_order 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 
    0
    1 
    4 None 
    21 MTW2_Slow_2HSwordsman 
    0 
    1 
    24 MTW2_2HSwordsman_Primary 
    0 
    16 -0.090000004 0 0 -0.34999999 0.80000001 0.60000002 
    20 ulster_swordsmen_ug1 
    1 
    4 
    64 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_ug1_lod0.mesh 121 
    64 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_ug1_lod1.mesh 900 
    64 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_ug1_lod2.mesh 2500 
    64 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/ulster_swordsmen_ug1_lod3.mesh 6400 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_normal3.texture 
    52 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_ug1_sprite.spr 
    14 teutonic_order 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Lmail_Hmail/textures/EN_Lmail_Hmail_normal3.texture 
    52 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_ug1_sprite.spr 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 0
    14 teutonic_order 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 
    0
    1 
    4 None 
    21 MTW2_Slow_2HSwordsman 
    0 
    1 
    24 MTW2_2HSwordsman_Primary 
    0 
    16 -0.090000004 0 0 -0.34999999 0.80000001 0.60000002 
    20 ulster_swordsmen_ug2 
    1 
    3 
    65 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/ulster_swordsmen_ug2_lod0.mesh 121 
    65 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/ulster_swordsmen_ug2_lod1.mesh 1225 
    65 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/ulster_swordsmen_ug2_lod2.mesh 6400 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    74 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/textures/mtw2_EN_Pplate_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/textures/mtw2_EN_Pplate_normal.texture 
    52 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_ug2_sprite.spr 
    14 teutonic_order 
    74 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/textures/mtw2_EN_Pplate_ireland.texture 
    73 unit_models/_Units/EN_Pplate_Plate/textures/mtw2_EN_Pplate_normal.texture 
    52 unit_sprites/ireland_Ulster_Swordsmen_ug2_sprite.spr 
    2 
    7 ireland 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 0  
    14 teutonic_order
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_diff.texture 
    60 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Heater_ireland_norm.texture 0  
    1 
    4 None 
    21 MTW2_Slow_2HSwordsman 
    0 
    1 
    24 MTW2_2HSwordsman_Primary 
    0 
    16 -0.090000004 0 0 -0.34999999 0.80000001 0.60000002
    can anyone help with this???

  11. #11
    hippacrocafish's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,696

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    If anyone is still here I'm having a bit of trouble, I've found the folder you mentioned (Battle-models) but I can't open it. Is there a specific program I need to open it? I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to these forums and somewhat PC-challenged.

    And if there's another way to do this I'd like to know, I just want to add Jinetes to the Crown of Aragon.

  12. #12
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,095
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    right click the battlemodels file and choose 'open with..'
    choose notepad
    Last edited by Gigantus; May 12, 2010 at 11:36 PM.










  13. #13
    hippacrocafish's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,696

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Quote Originally Posted by gigantus View Post
    right click the battlemodels file and choose 'open with..'
    choose notepad
    Alright, thank you.

    I looked in the file and found jinetes, it already has this in there:

    6 aragon
    78 unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_aragon.texture
    79 unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded/textures/EN_Peasant_Padded_normal1.texture
    37 unit_sprites/spain_Jinetes_sprite.spr

    6 aragon
    59 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Iberian_spain_diff.texture
    59 unit_models/AttachmentSets/Final Iberian_spain_norm.texture 0

    So that means Aragon should already have Jinetes? I am confused.

    Never mind, I think I'v'e figured it out.
    Last edited by hippacrocafish; May 13, 2010 at 02:32 PM.

  14. #14

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    I've never modded this game before and have very little experience with other mods, so I hope there's someone here to help me. How do I find this battle_models file and the edu file you talk about?

  15. #15
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Quote Originally Posted by PotentSchraphlon View Post
    I've never modded this game before and have very little experience with other mods, so I hope there's someone here to help me. How do I find this battle_models file and the edu file you talk about?
    You have to unpack the game first. Be sure it's fully patched before you do.

  16. #16

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    I've done that

  17. #17

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Quote Originally Posted by PotentSchraphlon View Post
    I've done that
    If you have done that than u should see the unpacked files.

    BMDB or modeldb file is in your data\unit_models folder
    while EDU or export_descr_unit.txt file can be found in the data folder.

    If u can't find them then search them in the virtual store folder they might have gone there while unpacking.
    C:\Users\*Your User*\AppData\Local\VirtualStore

    On side note after unpacking you also have to delete the
    • descr_geography_new.txt
    • descr_geography_new.db

    files otherwise u will get a CTD on battlefield.

  18. #18

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    OK I've found them now. Many thanks and +rep

  19. #19

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    Your Welcome.

  20. #20

    Default Re: How to add an existing unit to another faction

    I'm having trouble again! I wanted to add armoured sergeants to England but I've found them in the files and it seems to say England already has them. How can I unlock recruitment?

Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •