Thread: I need some help

Default I need some help

Alright, so i just joined and all, but i've been coming here for a while downloading mods and such for RTW, but after my recent upgrade to my computer i've been getting horrid performance, BTW im not computer blunt or anything, im a computer tech so i know my rig should be able to max this game out with ease.
    My Rig:
    AMD Phenom II 955 @ 3.74
    2x 4850 @ 680/1103 (In CrossfireX)
    4gb Ocz DDR3 Memory @ 1470
    GA-MA790XT-UD4P

So my rig isnt anything to be laughed at, i mean i can max out Crysis at 40 fps and 2xAA, btw my monitor res is 1440x900. If i lower AA in game it just gets worse graphics (Obviously) and i only gain 2 frames, so that doesnt matter, but the game already does not look great and with it maxed even on a battle with 4000 troops it lags like hell, so when im in a really big battle (ie using Roma Serrectum) with 8000 or more, i only get about 10-20 fps, Medieval II is a bit better but not by much. So, if any of you have found a fix, or a way to make it work with semi-good performance, please help me out. Thanks

irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii

Default Re: I need some help

The game is old by today's standards.

It only uses one cpu core and one gpu core and is not optimzed good for a machine ten years old, much less yours or mine. You have found the limitations of both Rome and Medieval2.

Either way, if its only using 1 core, then its still using a 3.74 Ghz core, with a newer arcitechure than the old cores, so its still around three times faster than any cpu they had then