Thread: Window 7 Missing mss32.dll file

Default Window 7 Missing mss32.dll file

I managed to install RTW (works fine) and BI but as soon as I go to start BI, Im told Im missing the mss32.dll file and to re-install the program (which I have)

The file exists inside the RTW folder
    I have disabled UAC
    I have tried running in Windows XP (SP2) compatability mode

All to no avail so far

Ive seen previous posts about how it part of the Miles Sound System and that it should be downloaded.
    My question is download from where safely and where should I install it or could I simply copy the one from the RTW folder?

System spec: Intel Core i5 cpu M430 @2.27 GHz, 4GB RAM and 64 bit operating system

Im no techie, so please provide aan "idiot proof" answer if possible

Many thanks
    Last edited by Clearchus of Sparta; March 14, 2010 at 04:10 PM.
    Semi-Retired RTR Developer and Researcher
    Dont get into a fight if there is nothing to win

Default Re: Window 7 Missing mss32.dll file

Ok, it seems that I have two program folders, both of which appear to have RTW & BI

Program Files
    Program Files (x86)

Both folders have RTW & BI apparently installed

Not sure what the difference is, but anyway, I have put copies of the MSS32.DLL file into both RTW and BI subfolders.
    Now it fails to initialise 3d audio... I have a Realtek High Definition Audio Device

irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii

If you installed the old three cd set, with the UAC disabled, you should only have Rome installed in Program Files (x86). Did you pick the install path or just use the default?

I have Win7 Pro 64bit with UAC disabled and the only RTW?BI folder I have is C:\Program Files (x86)\Activision.

I would call it a bad install and do it , again. If you decide to, pick a place like C:\Games.

I have had no problems with the default location but others have.

Quote Originally Posted by irishron View Post