Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Thread: My short-ish preview

Default My short-ish preview

OK I have the journalists' preview copy of the game and I will give my comment, that will pretty much be in line with other previews published on line (only more informative for us hard core TW players I assume I hope I don't breach any NDAs or etiquette by posting this. I write for non-English magazine, and we do not do previews, so there is no reason for me not to post this here. The preview copy I played is legit.

NTW is somewhere in between heavily scripted Road to Independence campaign in ETW and the short 1700-1750 campaign.

There are three big and two smaller campaigns on the game menu. Three main campaigns are Italian camp 1796-1797, Egypt campaign 1798, and European war 1805-1812.

There is also an introductory Tutorial campaign (that has some small fights in it but is largely aimed at complete noobs), plus Waterloo, but Waterloo is not on Single battles menu, it's on the Campaign menu so I assume it will be some sort of super-mini campaign of 2-3 battles or something.

The only campaign actually playable in the preview copy I've seen is the Italian campaign.

The turns are very short in this campaign, the map of North Italy is very detailed (25 provinces or so). The campaign itself is not too short (I played to 60-some turns) but the game time covered by the campaign is.

There is no research and no technology tree in Italian campaign, and no universities. Buildings are very limited - markets, magistrates, better roads, a farm or two, musket factory.... Forts cannot be built, and there is only one pre-built fort on the whole map (Austrian stronghold of Mantova).

I assume the same will be true for the Egyptian campaign which is, in game time, even shorter.