Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: what did ireland do during the napolean wars?

JustShoveJayOhBe's Avatar Decanus

Default what did ireland do during the napolean wars?

I was just curious about this as I'm from the US and all my family lived in Ireland prior to the 40s, so I don't really know much about the Napolean era (it isn't really taught in American schools) and I studied literature so pretty much everything I know about the Napoleanic wars is limited to Wordsworth and romantics being all enthusiastic about the French Revolution and then being horrified when it went south.

So anywho, did Ireland basically just serve the British? When I visited Ireland I noticed that the tower James Joyce lived in was said to be have been built along with a whole bunch of other sea forts to defend the island from Napolean invading. Why would Napolean have invaded there instead of britain, did he want it for some reason?

Bloodzen's Avatar Decanus

Default Re: what did ireland do during the napolean wars?

I'm from Ireland so I could probably give you a nice description of Ireland in that period but I just got home and I'm feeling lazy....so heres something I copied and pasted

In 1789 the French Revolution occurred during which French peasants overthrew the monarchy. Out of the bloodshed emerged a new democratic French republic. For many peasant people across Europe, this new democracy concept was very appealing, since it gave the power to them and not to the aristocracy. In 1791, the newly installed French government offered military assistance to any group who wanted to overthrow their own King. This was very worrying for the surrounding monarchies of England, Spain, Germany and Austria and war soon broke out between them and France.