Page 1 of 36 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 718

Thread: Installation Help (now with a MUCH! needed update)

  1. #1
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Icon4 Installation Help (now with a MUCH! needed update)

    MAKE SURE YOU DIRECT ALL INSTALLATION PATHS TO YOUR MAIN MEDIEVAL 2 FOLDER! NO MATTER WHAT IT SAYS!
    Unless specified in the instructions below

    Possible mod folder paths:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Windows XP: C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Call_of_Warhammer
    Windows 7: C:\Program Files (x86)\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Call_of_Warhammer
    Steam (Windows XP): C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war\mods\Call_of_Warhammer
    Steam (Windows 7): C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war\mods\Call_of_Warhammer
    VISTA: C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Call_of_Warhammer


    Installation Order
    Here are the steps one must take when using the Official Download links (here)

    1) Download and install Version 1.4
    2) Download and install the New Music Patch
    3) Download and install Cumulative Patch 1.44
    4) Download and extract the English Translation to your "Call_of_Warhammer/data" folder.
    5) Follow all instructions here.


    Trusted Alternative Links
    Here are the best, most used, and most trusted Alternative download links for users to use without possibly having to wait forever:

    TORRENTS AND DOWNLOADS
    NEW DOWNLOAD LINKS!


    Want to seige a city in custom battles? Now you can!


    This is for the people who are having troubles playing siege battles in custom battles (with pictures!):

    FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY!

    1. Select a map without the little silver box next to it.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:



    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:






    2. Set the settlement level to "Fort"
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:




    Note: It will say "none" for settlement level after this. That's alright!

    3. Select your culture (such as Empire)
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:





    4. Re-select your settlement level (such as Huge-City)
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:





    5. Play the siege battle!
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read:






    Have an enjoyable siege!


    Want smoother gameplay?

    Here's a tool that was made (not by me) to increase your game's FPS (frames per second) a bit. The higher the FPS, the better. It raises my game's FPS from 15 to 20-21 It helps more than you think. All you have to do is run the tool and it works!

    If you want to see your game's FPS, go download FRAPS. It's a handy tool that lets you save your screenshots where you want and it shows your FPS in the top right corner of your screen. You can also disable that number if you want though.

    Link

    With the best intentions,
    The Holy Pilgrim


    For those with steam
    If you have Medieval 2 on steam, try this tool. It may help you if you have any problems.

    OR

    Quote Originally Posted by The Holy Pilgrim View Post
    Big thanks to SteamKnight for this tool


    [I]
    How to run the steam tool



    Credits also go to Sharpe235 for tell me how to add the game to your registry

    How to get CoW 1.4 to work with steam




    Windows 7 Users!
    Problem solved. I just had to delete the teutonic folder in my "C:\Users\My name\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods" folder.

    Anyone using Windows 7 should read this if you are having problems with the sound in version 1.01

    And before anyone closes this thread, I just posted this so that way other people don't post similar threads.

    In order to extract files to another folder, you MUST! disable User Control. Type "Disable User Control" in the help box to find it and put the slider all the way to the bottom. Once you do this, the mod will work.

    Here's how

    1. Open the "Computer" shortcut on your desktop

    2. You'll see a little blue ? mark button in the top right corner of the screen. Click it.

    3. A dialog box will come up. Type "Disable User Control" in the search box up at the top. Press Enter once typed.

    4. Click on "2. How do I change the behavior of User Account Control by using the slider?"

    5. Follow the instructions at the bottom of the page. Once you do that, you can play the mod (you may want to reinstall it though)


    why close it? I'll make it sticky
    -Beregond


    How to make separate mod folders for CoW
    Quote Originally Posted by The Holy Pilgrim View Post
    Hey guys,

    Since some of the CoW players have been wishing to make two CoW folders to play more than one sub-mod, I'm here to show you guys how.

    STEP 1
    -Download CoW and install all necessary fixes. Keep this folder as an unmodified backup so that way if you try a sub-mod and you don't like it or you messed something up terribly, you have the vanilla folder with clean files to rely upon

    STEP 2
    -Copy the CoW folder and rename it to whatever you like. It can be "Call_of_My_Little_Pony" if you'd like it to be*.

    STEP 3
    -Open the new folder. It should have all of the files your original CoW folder had before the copy process. You should see a "warhammer.bat" and a "warhammer.cfg" in the folder (NOT in the data folder, though).

    STEP 4
    -Open the "warhammer.cfg" file with any text editing program, preferably Notepad or Notepad++. You will see a section that looks like this:

    Code:
    [features]
    ;editor = true
    mod = mods/Call_of_Warhammer
    change the red phrase to have the same name as your new folder. We'll use the "Call_of_My_Little_Pony" example for the sake of consitency.

    Code:
    [features]
    ;editor = true
    mod = mods/Call_of_My_Little_Pony
    Save your changes and exit Notepad.

    STEP 5
    -Right-click on your "warhammer.bat" file and select "EDIT." This will bring up a text window that should look something like this:

    Code:
    del /Q ".\data\text\*.bin"
    del /Q ".\data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\*.rwm"
    cd "..\.."
    start kingdoms.exe @mods\Call_of_Warhammer\warhammer.cfg
    Once again, change the red to have the same file name as your new folder

    Code:
    del /Q ".\data\text\*.bin"
    del /Q ".\data\world\maps\campaign\imperial_campaign\*.rwm"
    cd "..\.."
    start kingdoms.exe @mods\Call_of_My_Little_Pony\warhammer.cfg
    Save your changes and exit Notepad.

    STEP 6
    -Play with your new mod folder and have fun

    *NOTE: I strongly advise new folder names to have underscores "_" instead of spaces " ". This will reduce any errors that spaces " " may cause.


    If you are having problems with the torrent, copy these questions and answer all of them (if they apply):

    1. Do you have Kingdoms version 1.5?

    2. What other mods do you have?

    3. What Operating System do you have (eg. Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7)? If you have either Windows 7 or Vista, did you turn off the UAC (User Account Control)?

    4. What extraction system are you using (eg. 7-zip, Winrar, WinZip etc.)*?

    *Try using 7-zip. It seems to cause less issues than winrar or winzip. I don't know why, but people who use 7-zip seem to have less CTD errors on start up.

    Older Post Contents
    Irrelevant, Older, instructions (just for safe keeping)
    Possible mod folder paths:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Windows XP: C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\teutonic
    Windows 7: C:\Program Files (x86)\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\teutonic
    Steam (Windows XP): C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war\mods\teutonic
    Steam (Windows 7): C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\medieval ii total war\mods\teutonic
    VISTA: C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\teutonic


    The Holy Pilgrim's method
    Here's the updated installation order:

    1. Version 1.02 (found here)

    2. Version 1.01 sound patch (found here)

    3. Version 1.01 translation (found here) (extract to the "teutonic/data" folder)

    4. Version 1.02 translation (found here) (extract to the "teutonic/data" folder)

    5. Version 1.03 (found here) (post #3)

    6. Version 1.03 hotfix (found here) (post #4)

    If you follow these directions exactly, you can play with the campaign and custom battles without frequent (there are still a few bugs in the campaign, but it's pretty stable) CTD's

    Hope this solves your problems


    All in one download here!
    Here is a torrent that contains all of what you need in order to play the game

    LINK TO HAPPINESS


    Official Install Method (thanks to Katoneo!)

    Quote Originally Posted by Katoneo View Post
    Well I've just installed 1.02 full version.

    1. Place all parts in one folder. (for me it was "coh")
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    2. Open your 7-Zip File Manager
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    3. Go to your "coh" directory. Check file with .001 ending and use extract option
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    4. I did extracted it to another folder and I've received
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    5. Just run your installation

    For me It worked fine, I didn't have opportunity to test it in-game campaign, i've just installed it and started the game, so far it works. Sorry for thumbnails but I hadn't got time to resize imgs.
    Last edited by The Holy Pilgrim; February 27, 2012 at 05:03 PM.

  2. #2
    KaiserJoe's Avatar Signifer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Used the files in the links and installed in that exact order, but now it'll load the splash screen in the beginning then crash to desktop.

    Edit: Tried it again and it just refuses to start using the hotfix. Left the hotfix out and the game started fine and was able to start a campaign. But on the third turn the game crashes every time without fail.
    Last edited by KaiserJoe; January 19, 2010 at 10:25 PM.

  3. #3
    Murakawa
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    I can't open the 1.01 installer, it just makes e.explorer crash.

  4. #4
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Quote Originally Posted by KaiserJoe View Post
    Used the files in the links and installed in that exact order, but now it'll load the splash screen in the beginning then crash to desktop.

    Edit: Tried it again and it just refuses to start using the hotfix. Left the hotfix out and the game started fine and was able to start a campaign. But on the third turn the game crashes every time without fail.
    You have to reinstall the mod. First, delete the enitre teutonic folder. After you do that, follow those instructions to the letter. This is the method I followed and it works perfectly fine for me. What other mods do you have btw?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicha11 View Post
    I can't open the 1.01 installer, it just makes e.explorer crash.
    What do you mean? Is it when you try and download or install?

  5. #5
    KaiserJoe's Avatar Signifer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Quote Originally Posted by The Holy Pilgrim View Post
    You have to reinstall the mod. First, delete the enitre teutonic folder. After you do that, follow those instructions to the letter. This is the method I followed and it works perfectly fine for me. What other mods do you have btw?
    Yeah I delete the entire Teutonic folder each time I reinstall it. I'll give it another go after this post though. The only other mods I have for M2TW right now is Stainless Steel, I uninstalled the others and the empire mods just lack the quality of M2TW mods so I've come back.

    Edit; Nope, deleted every mod and Teutonic folder, reinstalled exactly using the directions and it crashes on the splash screen with the hotfix installed and lets me play to turn 2 before crashing without the hotfix on 1.01 or 1.02.
    Last edited by KaiserJoe; January 20, 2010 at 10:36 AM.

  6. #6
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Do you have kingdoms version 1.5? If so, try replicating the error and post an error log, which can be found in your logs folder (C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\logs)

    Also, if you are using Windows 7, look here

  7. #7
    Ashigaru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    I've done everything except the music patch. It works but I'm wondering if I can aplly the music patch now without it causing a crash??

  8. #8
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Yes. You can download the music patch. The only time you can't install the music patch is if you want to play on Hamachi.

  9. #9
    ChaosReigns's Avatar Aquilifer
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Thanks, this was a great help.

    +rep

  10. #10
    Scipio praeditus's Avatar Hastatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Freistaat Bayern
    Posts
    511

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Hey, I just followed your instructions, and I'm finally able to play an Orc campaign past the first turn.
    I'm not sure if something has been fixed in the files I re downloaded or if it had something to do with me extracting the translation files in the wrong order before, but it works now, thanks alot.
    "Denken, was wahr, und fühlen, was schön, und wollen, was gut ist, darin erkennt der Geist das Ziel des vernünftigen Lebens."

  11. #11
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    You're welcome

  12. #12
    KaiserJoe's Avatar Signifer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Quote Originally Posted by The Holy Pilgrim View Post
    Do you have kingdoms version 1.5? If so, try replicating the error and post an error log, which can be found in your logs folder (C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\logs)

    Also, if you are using Windows 7, look here
    Alright the problem was stupid and my fault. The download link to the 1.02 patch's program installs it to 'C:\Program Files\Medieval 2 - Total war' where my (and probably a lot of other American's) main kingdoms folder is in C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval 2 - Total War.

  13. #13
    Yoshihara
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Quote Originally Posted by KaiserJoe View Post
    Alright the problem was stupid and my fault. The download link to the 1.02 patch's program installs it to 'C:\Program Files\Medieval 2 - Total war' where my (and probably a lot of other American's) main kingdoms folder is in C:\Program Files\SEGA\Medieval 2 - Total War.
    Thank you very much, I made the same mistake and could not figure it out...

  14. #14
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Sorry, that was my fault. I said to direct all installers to your medieval 2 directory no matter what it says in all of my other post on this subject, but not here

    Updated first post

  15. #15
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: If you are having trouble with installing version 1.02, look here

    Updated first post with possible installation paths for different systems.

    Also, Can someone please tell me the default path for VISTA? I have never had VISTA, so I don't know. Any help would be greatly appreciated

    PS: Can a moderator sticky this thread, please?

  16. #16
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Icon4 New tool thats makes your game run smoother

    Here's a tool that was made (not by me) to increase your game's FPS (frames per second) a bit. The higher the FPS, the better. It raises my game's FPS from 15 to 20-21 It helps more than you think. All you have to do is run the tool and it works!

    If you want to see your game's FPS, go download FRAPS. It's a handy tool that lets you save your screenshots where you want and it shows your FPS in the top right corner of your screen. You can also disable that number if you want though.

    With the best intentions,
    The Holy Pilgrim
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by The Holy Pilgrim; January 22, 2010 at 02:42 PM.

  17. #17
    Valiant Champion's Avatar Equites Alares
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    5,282

    Default Re: New tool thats makes your game run smoother

    Did you guys know that warhammer.cfg has

    grass setting at 9000

    It is not quoted out.

    This means that even if you change the setting in game it will go default back to high grass which can contribute to some lagging issues.

  18. #18
    Kahvipannu's Avatar The winter is coming.
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,994

    Default Re: New tool thats makes your game run smoother

    This sounds great, but I'm curious what this tool exactly does in detail?
    Edit:
    Is it similar to this?
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=270604
    That one actually worked too

  19. #19
    The Holy Pilgrim's Avatar In Memory of Blackomur
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Not that long ago, in a galaxy not so far away.
    Posts
    11,426

    Default Re: New tool thats makes your game run smoother

    It's exactly that.

    Here's a tool that was made (not by me)


    The higher the FPS your computer has, the faster it runs, thus less lagg during gameplay

  20. #20
    Kahvipannu's Avatar The winter is coming.
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,994

    Default Re: New tool thats makes your game run smoother

    I was just thinking if this is something else, and maybe better
    Well good thing that you posted it here, will help people a lot
    And I have used this a lot before I upgraded my laptop, so it really works.

    Couple of points maybe to add to OP?
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Quote Originally Posted by YassirX View Post

    Important:
    1. Run the Exe as Admin.
    2. This Script is only able to increase your overall gaming performance when your components are each other up to date! A 4 Year old Graphiccard with a new CPU like E8400 will hardly be able to support each other! Even this Script will not be able to cause any increase than!


    3. Make sure you exit the Exe before your Computer shuts down.
    (1). Tell the Script manually to shut down viá pushing any button (while the script windows has been opened)
    (2). Tell the Script manually to shut down viá Task Manager (klick on "Exit Task")
    (3). Click on the Cross of the Window that appears while openend the Script.
    (4). Click on the Script at your Task-Bar with Right-Click and click on "Exit".
    (5). Toggle your PC off viá Task.

    5. If your Computer has been inflicted by a Crash do the following, its not needed, but I recommend it:
    (1).Start your computer,
    (2).Start the Script,
    (3).Exit the Script,
    (4).Shut down your computer.

    6. Those who overclocked their components can use the script at likely but its not fully tested with overclocked components and I dont recommended it. Also I will not be liable for any problems caused by this!


Page 1 of 36 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •