Thread: Changing Battle Light Conditions

Default Changing Battle Light Conditions

I'm not really an expert here, but I would like to share all I have learnt before I forgot it.
    Sorry me if I don't use the right words when trying to describe the effect of each value. I would be glad if other people correct me.

0.Related Files
    \data\descr_battle_map_lighting_and_fog_control.txt
    \data\descr_daytypes.txt
    \data\descr_skydome.txt
    \data\descr_solar_system.txt
    \data\descr_pallete.txt

1.descr_battle_map_lighting_and_fog_control.txt
    BI has additional lines in this file not present in RTW nor ATW. But I have verified they work for ATW.

Lighting
    Only affects the landscape, not the units.

-min_light_intensity: This is the darkness of the shadows, and the main reason I have wrotten this tutorial.
    I'm almost sure this is a minimum (not a multiplier), so by increasing it, your are removing (not reducing) the shadow effects when the light is under that value.
    Vanilla value is 1.0 and so they have dissabled completely the shadowing of the landscape... I can't understand it.
    Most mods uses values between 0.7 and 1.0, and I think it really improves the battlemap aspect, but only for morning sunlight.
    If you want to see full shadowing at evening, sunset or sunrise, I suggest to reduce it to at least 0.4. But no less than 0.2 if you want to see something at night.

The problem with this value is that it reduces the lighting for all the enviroment, and there is no way, at least I have not found it, to increase the brightness of the enviroment. Even when there are hundreds of ways to reduce it.

-max_light_intensity: this one is the opposite to previous one, it controls the brightness of light zones.
    Be carefull with high values greater than 1.5, because fog at day could look like ufos coming.

Between those 2 values, it seems you can control the contrast of the enviroment.