Page 1 of 54 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 51 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 1080

Thread: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

  1. #1
    Gorrrrrn's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    here
    Posts
    5,547

    Default Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    The new compilation works very well but there are a few bugs that have crept in.

    To stop them being buried in the general compilation thread and help those wanting quick fixes I'll start a thread for known issues - if you can post the necessary corrections that would be helpful too!


    The next post I'll reserve for known issues and any fixes.

  2. #2
    Gorrrrrn's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    here
    Posts
    5,547

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    ************************** Known Issues in the new RC/RR compilation and possible fixes ******************************

    Front end:

    The Late campaign - previously I had got a CTD on launching but with Hotfix Oct30th this is no longer the case.
    (Got a CTD after fighting a bridge battle outside Frankfurt - last routing HRE unit refused to quit the map.
    I Ecsaped to quit the battle (I had won overwhelmingly) and got a CTD.)

    ----

    Unit issues:

    Some units have roman peasant cards - these are being dealt with in hotfixes as and when they can be updated.

    Some people have reported square smoke from catapults.

    PB has released new installation files - available from OP of the main thread - which address the installation problems
    with Win7 64 bit systems

    ---

    Faction issues:

    TO emergence, Venetian crusade and Bulgarian uprising all may have issues that need sorting out.

    Galway and Munster provinces have no garrison. -Fixed in latest hotfixes

    ---

    Agent issues:

    4 Bulgarian heretics pop up in the sea off Genoa when the Bulgarian uprising is triggered - fixed in latest Hotfix

    Generally the naming of heretics has too many "of Bulgaria" names - do they need a "surname"?
    Also found a "Cathar Heretic of Bulgaria"

    ---

    Traits issues:

    Grand Duke of Lithuania gets a -2 Loyalty when achieving the Crown of Lithuania.
    I suspect it's meant for people from other factions? Can the trait check for faction before giving -2 Loyalty?

    (see Byg's reply below)

    Have gone through the nonbyg character traits and ancilliaries files and sorted a couple of issues flagged up by the ATVTW tool by squid.

    Have also commented out a couple of triggers that were causing unnecessary mental health issues for generals and family members

    Here are the export_descr_character_traits.txt and export_descr_ancilliaries.txt in 7z compressed directory. Copy then int the main stainless steel data directory.

    Note they are not for Byg versions of the compilation.

    Attachment 61774

    ALso the new version of Squid's excellent tool has thrown up some issues with traits in the descr_strat.txt files for early and late campaigns.
    Here's the replacement versions of the 2 vanilla files. If you have modified versions I'll also post the necessary changes.

    for the late era:
    Attachment 62613

    for the early era:
    Attachment 62614

    and the changes needed are:

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    note these are for traits and not faction personalities - so leave sailor in lower case for those. there should be only 1 lower case sailor trait.
    (thanks to Byg for pointing this out.)

    FactionLeader - change to Factionleader
    FactionHeir- change to Factionheir
    sailor - change to Sailor
    WifeIsGreek- change to WifeisGreek
    LoyaltyStarter 2 / 3 change to LoyaltyStarter 1
    ReligionStarter 2 / 3change to ReligionStarter 1

    ---

    Campaign Script -
    there is a problem with campaign script relating to the TO, Venetian Crusade and Bulgarian uprising sieges.
    Game plays through them OK but wouldn't reload a saved game from after their emergence.
    PB is aware of issue but no full solution has been put forward yet.
    You may be able to play past them and save /reload.
    Or you can try commenting out the sections in the campaign script
    (put ; at start of each line.)
    --

    If you are having any issues always check you have the latest hotfix installed available from the O/P of the main RC/RR compilation thread.

    Some updates may require you start a new campaign before they take effect.
    Traits can be messed with if they are updated.
    Save games may be playable if you can put up with minor problems -
    (but don't report them as bugs - check bug occurs with a new campaign before reporting.)
    Last edited by Gorrrrrn; December 31, 2009 at 05:48 AM. Reason: updated

  3. #3
    Seether's Avatar All Men Are Brothers
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    FloRida
    Posts
    3,994

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Other crowns grant -2 Loyalty; Sicily is one for certain.

    As far as the 'of Bulgaria' byname, I would suggest taking it out of descr_names and names.txt, as well as editing it out of the campaign_script for the Bulgarian Uprising. Although the byname adds some flavor to the Bulgarian Uprising, it isn't necessary, especially when it causes issues in other places.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    The minus 2 loyalty for crowns is intentional I expect. The reasoning is that if any non-king character gets hold of it he may revolt, whereas the king is not affected by the loyalty attribute. All perfectly logical. I recently added the -2 loyalty into the description. It has always been there though, just hidden. Maybe it is best hidden.
    Last edited by Byg; October 15, 2009 at 01:56 PM.

    NEW BGR V 20150324! . . . . . . . .. . . .BGRIV_E

  5. #5

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Actually I have to disagree with the previous poster (i.e. me). As crowns are only earned by Faction Leaders and not transferable then the loyalty is entirely redundant.
    They should either be made obtainable by whoever conquers the settlement and keep the disloyalty or kept as they are and the loyalty description removed (silly me for adding it). No need to remove the effect because it has no relevance if only FLs can get these ancs as FLs don't have loyalty.
    Last edited by Byg; October 15, 2009 at 05:08 PM.

    NEW BGR V 20150324! . . . . . . . .. . . .BGRIV_E

  6. #6
    TheBromgrev's Avatar Ducenarius
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Early Norwegian Sword militia (can't remember their name) unit cards stick out like a sore thumb. Their background is blindingly white. Then new English unit cards are distorted. Cairo is still the first crusade target, and Baghdad is still the first Jihad target. Flaming ammo from siege weapons produce square smoke. The new/old portraits seem distorted, with heads that are twice as big as they should be. Family members can only hold one title (is this intentional?).

    I'd like to be able to customize the music, but not all of the files are in the Data\sounds\music directory.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    I agree with you, a lot of that stuff was a bandaid stuck on to get the release out, and yes the one title thing is intentional.

  8. #8
    Gorrrrrn's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    here
    Posts
    5,547

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    um - not seen a jihad on Baghdad recently -first target is usually Jerusalem in my games.
    Cairo is usually the crusade target though - Vilnius comes after Gaza and Frankfurt (if HRE have upset the Pope!)

  9. #9

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    I'm 90% sure I didn't do anything with Jihads, especially considering I have no idea how they work

  10. #10

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Hello

    I have installed correctly the mod (at least I think) and the last hotfix, but I am not able to start both Early and Late Campaign.

    Choosing Late Camp brings me to an immediate CTD.
    With Early I can reach the Faction Selection Screen, but when I actually start the campaign I am redirected to the Campaign Selection Screen. I have already tried to delete the map.rwm file but this not helped.

    Well, I have also tried Custom Battle (selecting HRE) and I just saw tons of unit cards missing. This brings me to think to a corrupted install. I'll try to download again all the big pack, even if this Filefront download seems pretty slow :-(
    Last edited by Andrea69; October 16, 2009 at 07:19 AM.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Make sure you installed in Medieval 2 folder, NOT SS6 folder.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Hospitaller foot knights for the Crusader States have the RTW peasant pic. on the unit card, haven't checked them in battle to see if they have skins and textures yet.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Fixed in hotfix already

  14. #14

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Hi guys,
    I'm still playing my Byzantine VH/VH campaign and loving it. However, I've noticed a few issues with the campaign AI (im about 60 turns in). Don't know if any of these were brought up already but here they are.

    First thing I noticed was a problem with the Bulgarian uprising. They army that spawned laid seige to Adrianople but on the ensuing turn, when I was expecting a really difficult battle to keep my castle, they lifted seige and marched into the woods. Then, on the next turn, they came back, somehow launched an assault on Adrianople without any siege equiptment whatsoever. I entered the battle and it instantly said I won yet there were no loses on either side. Back on the campaign map, their leader croaked and the army was destroyed. However, I witnessed the other rebel army take a hungarian city with no problem.

    Second was the Venetian crusade on Constantinople (which had me sweating, at first).
    I got the warning event just fine but when the actual attack event popped up there was nothing. no boats, no army anywhere. Also the script on the event window for the attack included the script from the previous event warning me of the attack. On the next turn the boats and 2 armies showed up around Constantinople both laying seige to it. This got me excited but on the next turn they both lifted seige and started marching away. I ended up completely destroying the smaller, general-less army as the larger one marched into hungary (which they were at war with also).

    Thirdly there just seems to be a general non-urgent mindset in the campaign AI. example: I am currently laying siege to damascus which is in Fatamid hands and there are several large armies within striking distance of me yet all they are doing is marching back and forth, occasionally heading PAST me to attack the Crusader states. Also im noticing the AI often doing the "siege one turn and quit" strategy all across the board.

    Lastly im still getting square catapult smoke trails. I saw this was brought up sometime last week and didnt know if it was getting addressed.

    Thanks PB for the this awesome compilation. really brought me back into this game.

    Edit: forget what I said about the fatamids. they brought up 2 more armies and are now kicking my ass. But one thing I did forget to bring up is Norman Sicily's habit of loading full armies onto a single boat unit and attempting to get by my navy to invade greece. If they could actually GET their armies to land I would be in trouble. There a way to get the AI to make bigger stacks of naval units when transporting full stack armies?
    Last edited by RomaVictor87; October 16, 2009 at 02:53 PM.

  15. #15
    Gorrrrrn's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    here
    Posts
    5,547

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Bulgarian uprising script issue sounds similar to the one with the TO.

    The script probably needs revising to make sure they maintain the siege for a turn before attacking on turn 2.
    (I'd better let someone who knows how to write the code do this!)

    I haven't looked at their armies composition.
    It might help if they can have catapults (I need to check if rebels can have siege weapons!)
    (Bulgar - rebels don't have ownership of any siege weapons, so their script must give them time to build siege equipment.)

    I've moved the 4 heretics who spawn between Genoa and Corsica to northen italy
    (who are cathars and not bogomils.)

    Should we spawn some heretics in Bulgarian to aid their uprising?
    I need to start another campaign anyway checking the english and scottish spies in Ireland to see if that helps get Ireland involved in the game
    (as a region I know it's not a faction.)
    Last edited by Gorrrrrn; October 16, 2009 at 05:33 PM.

  16. #16
    Seether's Avatar All Men Are Brothers
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    FloRida
    Posts
    3,994

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Quote Originally Posted by Rozanov View Post
    Bulgarian uprising script issue sounds similar to the one with the TO.
    Same thing for the Venetian Crusade script. They seige Constantinople for 1 turn then move away.

    Should we spawn some heretics in Bulgarian to aid their uprising?
    Yes, perhaps 1 per region that they invade; so 3 in total.

  17. #17
    TheBromgrev's Avatar Ducenarius
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Hmm, the sounds.rar file is missing the events and voices files. I can now properly change the music to what I want, but I lose ALL voices and sounds. events.dat and events.idx, when they're rebuilt the game can't find the correct voice and SFX files, so those sounds are missing. I checked the mod workshop concerning custom music, and it mentions extracting the files out of the existing .dat and .idx files. Does anyone know how to do that? Or is there a better way?

  18. #18

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    Quote Originally Posted by Moranimator View Post
    I've been having a problem with square smoke since the most recent hotfix. Anyone have any ideas on what I can do?

    (sorry pic is upside down)

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    how can I fix it??

  19. #19

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation


  20. #20

    Default Re: Bug reports for new RC/RR compilation

    [QUOTE=Andrea69;6139871]Hello

    I have installed correctly the mod (at least I think) and the last hotfix, but I am not able to start both Early and Late Campaign.

    Choosing Late Camp brings me to an immediate CTD.
    With Early I can reach the Faction Selection Screen, but when I actually start the campaign I am redirected to the Campaign Selection Screen. I have already tried to delete the map.rwm file but this not helped.

    Having exactly the same problem. Only the 1450 campaign works (sortof) Finding a lot of "unlocalised placement cards" and the first time I attempted a battle, got a ctd.

    Should I go for a full reinstall? So far as I can figure out, I've installed correctly on this one.

Page 1 of 54 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 26 51 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •