Thread: Diplomatic Options

Ybbon's Avatar The Way of the Buffalo
    spy of the council

Icon5 Diplomatic Options

Hey,

I am currently fighting a brutal war against Macedonia - they were my Allies, and started sending armies to stand outside my cities and then tried blockading Tarentum with one trireme (I had a stack of 4 right next to it! stupid AI), anyway I'm also allied with Carthage and Iberia.

They are obviously taking advantage as Carthage has sent a small army (3 units) onto Sicily and Iberia sent 2 ful stacks through Gaul towards Massilia. In both places, I have more than enough troops to repel them for now and still keep fighting Macedonia.

I have a diplomat off in the East trying to get new alliances but both Armenia and Ptolemy do not give me an alliance option when I open talks with them. Selucid and Pergamon are no more, Pontus will soon be no more so I can try with Bosporan, Parthia and Samartian, but what triggers when an alliance is offered as a diplomatic option? I'd use force diplomacy but there is no option to force them into an alliance.

Also, maybe I'm thinking of MTW, but is there no option to tell a faction to remove their troops from your land? Macedonia were trying to force a war from some point back but I needed more armies first. Now I have 7-8 and attacking them in 3 places, but I would rather have been able to demand they remove their troops first and delay starting a war until I was ready without suffering the penalty of devastation.

ta.

ps, never ever ever attack a load of phalanxes across a bridge with an onager to back it up. minced legion

King Nud's Avatar Praepositus

Default Re: Diplomatic Options

for example: you and pontus are allies, pontus are at war with Armenia, thus being why the armenians won't ally with you. However if you cancelled the alliance with pontus, you could ally with armenia. but as long as they are at war, you cant ally with both.