Thread: Western Roman Empire Tips

Default Western Roman Empire Tips

Well I've tried again and again and again. Anyone got any points for a complete Noob I play on M/M I know I need to get rid of the Goths but those huge armies look very very imposing, should I move all troops to deal with them and then build my econ back up whilst holding onto as much territory as possible?

I'm lost here guys any help?

master88's Avatar Miles

Default Re: Western Roman Empire Tips

1) Disband boarder troops so that you have money.

2) Get rid of barbarian noble calvary (too expensive) and troop you know would take you past 5 turns to reach the place where u need defending

3) Let them sack rome (goths) it wont hurt u in the long run.

4) Know how to defend and if u know you cant win a siege kill as many as possible. It will help u in regaining the territory.

5) Cities that if u drop your tax level and they would still riot raise the taxes to the highest and put out your troop of the city and on the next turn (most times) their would be alot less people to rule (due to them leaving and riots) and place back the troops in the cities.

6)Arles........Conquer it on your first turn with little troops lost. The three closest armies closest to it should siege it while the other (cause their is 4) should siege another place. The I.C faction (Imperium Constantini) is already in debt and cant come out so they sending armies to save besiged cities is rare.

7) About the goths, u have some seriously cool troops in italy (more so in the north) take them out of the cities and put them in armies with the generals and keep them (the armies with the generals) close by as to support them. After the goths sack rome they would be moving north. An easy way to win is to get 2 generals with full stacks or close to full stack and stand close to the mountains or on bridges they know they must pass on.

These tips should help u (though they are many more)