Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 207

Thread: TATW Battle Editor (Tutorials, Help, Manual, Development)

  1. #21
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: -- 'Battle of Helms Deep' /// Version 1.3 /// [Single Player Scenario & Multiplayer Battle] --

    Quote Originally Posted by KingTheoden1 View Post
    Hey jan , i thought you might find this interesting :
    Click to view content: 

    Code:
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 286 23
    
        year_founded 1
        fortification 5 northern_european, walls 3 towers 3 gates 3 gate_defences 1
        population 4500
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator sicily
    package_path settlements/north_european/castles/fortress/north_european_fortress_a.world
    You need to add this under your 'faction milan' line in descr_battle , so it looks like this :
    (milan is rohan in-game)
    Code:
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ; >>>> start of factions section <<<<
    
    faction    milan
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 286 23
    
        year_founded 1
        fortification 5 northern_european, walls 3 towers 3 gates 3 gate_defences 1
        population 4500
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator milan
    package_path settlements/north_european/castles/fortress/north_european_fortress_a.world
    }
    character    Theoden, named character, blahblah
    army
    unit        yourunit                soldiers 16 exp 4 armour 2 weapon_lvl 1
    
    }
    
    <other units>
    Now , we (axnsan and i) haven't gotten it to work yet , but i think we're very close . Here's what we know/think so far :

    Code:
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 286 23
    
        year_founded 1
        fortification 5 northern_european, walls 3 towers 3 gates 3 gate_defences 1
        population 4500
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator milan
    package_path settlements/north_european/castles/fortress/north_european_fortress_a.world
    }
    Settlement : Followed by either 'city' or 'castle'
    tile : wich tile the whole battle is being fought . Same as all armies
    level : Followed by : town , large_town , city , large_city
    year_founded : Not important , should match the founded year as you said in the editor though
    fortification : level of fortification . I suppose it should match the level of fortification like in the editor
    northern_european : Not sure bout this one . i think the culture of the city , but in TATW , the editor only has : men , dwarven , elvish , mesoamerican (these aren't the correct names !)
    walls : don't know , could be either the level of the walls , or the amount of walls in the city
    towers : don't know . i think this one defines wether it's arrow towers , balista towers , or the other one . I also suspect 0 = arrow tower , 1 = other tower , 2 = ballista tower . Not sure though
    gates : don't know . I suspect the level of the gates (how strong it is)
    gate_defences : don't know . Might have something to do with boiling oil , perhaps ?
    population : population of the city . Not important i think
    faction_creator : who made the city . i suppose it should be the same as the faction who owns it in the battle
    package_path : should be following the path to the custom city you chose when you placed it with the battle editor

    Alright , that's pretty much it . If you found a way to complete it or got it to work , please tell either me , or axnsan

    Greats,
    KingTheoden1

    nice thank you - but i was there a few days ago - but after that i found out, that forts are no sttlements. if you look at the map of the campaign
    for kingdoms britannia you will see that wales has two forts with troops
    in it. as you know settlements are scripted like you posted here - but forts
    dont. if you take a look at the "descr_strat" of the britannia campaign, you
    can see that forts are simply scripted as this:
    Code:
    fort     78 144 stone_fort_a culture northern_european
    no assignmets, no defence configurations, no owner adn creator, no population, no fortification - nothing.

    in the "descr_strat" these fort are simply assigned to a faction by putting
    som nuits on the same coordinates as the fort. but this is not possible for
    a battle map.

    i know that it has to be possible to assign a fort to a faction, becasue in
    a campaign game the game hast to know which fort belongs to which
    facton when it is beeing attacked (to recognize it as an attack - relevant
    for war-declarations and alliance breaks)

  2. #22

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - New Release - With reinforcements

    Some nice heads-up there jan

  3. #23
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by jản View Post
    for all other settlements (like castles and citadels):

    \Mediewal II - Total War\mods\Third_Age\data\models_strat\residences
    Fail.


    ...settlements/culture_name/castles/...
    ...settlements/culture_name/cities/...

  4. #24
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by axnsan View Post
    Fail.


    ...settlements/culture_name/castles/...
    ...settlements/culture_name/cities/...
    strange thing but i dont have that folders - the only
    "settlements"-folder i have is the TATW folder "data".
    and in there are only two folders "noth_european" and "water".

  5. #25
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by jản View Post
    strange thing but i dont have that folders - the only
    "settlements"-folder i have is the TATW folder "data".
    and in there are only two folders "noth_european" and "water".
    That's because there was no need to put them in TATW. They are taken from the main m2tw folder
    And obviously you replace culture_name with north_european, south_european, etc...




    The paths you posted are strat map models, forts have that too

  6. #26

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - New Release - With reinforcements

    Then i suggest jan copies all entries axnsan posted in his TATW directory ?

  7. #27
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - New Release - With reinforcements

    No, they are taken from the M2TW folder.
    I don't have them in TATW either. Neither do you.

  8. #28
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - New Release - With reinforcements

    Quote Originally Posted by axnsan View Post
    I don't get it why the I'm getting a crash

    Code:
    faction    sicily
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 286 23
    
        year_founded 1
        fortification 0 northern_european, walls 0 towers 2 gates 2 gate_defences 1
        population 4500
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator sicily
    package_path settlements/north_european/castles/fortress/north_european_fortress_a.world
    }
    character    Ecthelion, named character, male, age 30, x 286, y 23 portrait Ecthelion
    army
    etc....
    have you typed the packagea_path yourself here? because if so,
    i know where the error comes from. changing those package_paths
    is somthing that doesnt work. because you need the correct link in
    the "descr_battle.txt" and in the "map.wfc" but na matter which one
    change, it always crashes the game. even if you change the link in
    both files. i dont know how to set in the right links.

    Quote Originally Posted by KingTheoden1 View Post
    Anyway You have some problems there axnsan , perhaps this pic can help you :

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    This is how i put up my citadel/fortress

    EDIT : meh , i give up This is the last thing i tried .

    Code:
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 286 23
    
        year_founded 1
        fortification 5 northern_european, walls 3 towers 3 gates 3 gate_defences 1
        population 4500
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator sicily
    package_path settlements/north_european/castles/fortress/north_european_fortress_a.world
    }
    I think this line is the problem:
    fortification 5 northern_european, walls 3 towers 3 gates 3 gate_defences 1
    no it is not. this is at least something i figured out. you can deelte
    this line and it still works fine. here is what you can delete which
    changes nothing in the game:

    Code:
    faction    sicily
    settlement castle
    {
        level large_city
        tile 318 246
    
        year_founded 2010
    
        turns_owned 10
        fortification 4 gondor towers 2
        population 59000
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator sicily
    package_path settlements/Middle_Eastern/Castles/Wooden_fort/Middle_Eastern_wooden_fort_A.world
    }
    all other things are essential and makes the game crash if
    deleted. only the package_path is something you can delete, but
    this results that the settlemetn is not assigned anymore.

    NOTICE

    i think that this definition of the settlement only defines it that
    the AI nkows what siege eqiupment to field if availlable.

    EXAMPLES:


    Code:
    settlement
    {
        level village
        (...)
    }the enemy fields no siege eqiupment

    Code:
    settlement castle
     {
         level village
        (...)
    }the enemy fields only rams
    Code:
    settlement castle
     {
         level large_city
        (...)
    }the enemy fields rams, ladders and siege towers
    Code:
    settlement castle
     {
         level huge_city
        (...)
    }the enemy fields only rams and huge siege towers.
    here is a list of all settlemet types (example Gondor):
    Click to view content: 

    village

    moot_and_bailey


    town

    wooden_castle

    large_town

    castle

    city

    fortress

    large_city

    citadel

    huge_city

    fort


    this settlemetns definition can be chagned for every
    settlement. if you only have placed a model of a
    wooden_fort but change it to 'castle' and 'large_city'
    the enemy fields rams, ladders and towers which they
    can't even use.

    so i assume that the type of a settlement (the mesh
    and .world definiton) can not be setted in the 'descr_battle.txt'.
    only in the 'map.wfc' via the battle editor. but this
    does not solve the fort problem, becasue forts can
    not be assigned to a faction - not in the battle editor
    or the 'descr_battle.txt'.

    man i really dont know what do to?
    Last edited by jản; July 19, 2009 at 09:05 AM.

  9. #29

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    What i find strange , is that there's no 'edit city' button or no option to edit it (atleast for as far as i know) in the battle editor , now that i've placed it ..

  10. #30
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Double click it

    BTW Jan, I made some portraits for eomer and the two isengard guys (well, one is from VE) for your helms deep battle. If you're interested Pm me or leave a message on my profile

  11. #31

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    I also made portraits for Faramir You would've noticed if you actually played the battle

    Btw , can generals have custom portraits ?

  12. #32
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Generals '(named character') yes. Captains ('general') no.

  13. #33
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by axnsan View Post
    That's because there was no need to put them in TATW. They are taken from the main m2tw folder
    And obviously you replace culture_name with north_european, south_european, etc...
    The paths you posted are strat map models, forts have that too
    but i dont have that folders in the main-directory.
    the link from the descr_battle at a sample-battle i made says:

    package_path settlements/Middle_Eastern/Castles/Wooden_fort/Middle_Eastern_wooden_fort_A.world

    but i dont have that directory or that file - but the objects i correctly
    shown in the battle. (the only place it is listed is in the file "pack_contents.txt")

    i don't understand that - i guess it is packed anywhere.

    Quote Originally Posted by axnsan View Post
    BTW Jan, I made some portraits for eomer and the two isengard guys (well, one is from VE) for your helms deep battle. If you're interested Pm me or leave a message on my profile
    yeah but i could only include this picture in the battle when i make
    Eomer a named character - but than he will fight AI controlled. but
    he sucks fighting AI controlled - he takes forever to get dowen that
    hill and start to attack. after all they all get killed very fast. so he
    has to remain a reinforcement character that is added to my units.

    BTW - i updated the first post of this thread and created a nice
    second one
    for editing the "descr_battle.txt". take a look at it.



    but i still have not made an progress with the fort beeing assigned
    to a faction. i guess you neither?


    .
    Last edited by jản; July 19, 2009 at 09:53 AM.

  14. #34
    axnsan's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    4,437

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by jản View Post
    but i dont have that folders in the main-directory.
    the link from the descr_battle at a sample-battle i made says:

    package_path settlements/Middle_Eastern/Castles/Wooden_fort/Middle_Eastern_wooden_fort_A.world

    but i dont have that directory or that file - but the objects i correctly
    shown in the battle. (the only place it is listed is in the file "pack_contents.txt")

    i don't understand that - i guess it is packed anywhere.
    Have you unpacked your game?

  15. #35
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: Minas Tirith battle - Released - !

    Quote Originally Posted by axnsan View Post
    Have you unpacked your game?
    no and i dont think this would change something for i can access
    the files as you see. anyway it makes no difference for the fort.
    and this is the only thing that is not working in the whole battle
    editor workaround. i about to go crazy - it has to be possible !

  16. #36

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Quote Originally Posted by Aye View Post
    Hmm I've been planning to make map of Eriabor (the lonely mountain) in which two big fights have happened, The Battle of Five armies and The Battle of Dale. Now after three failed time consuming attempts to make a good, one big mountain, to the maximium height. Of course it can't be as wide as it is in reality (around 15km thats roughly nine mails). But still planning to make it big as I can. So I've come here for tips as I see you have made some nice mountain work in this map :--) And maybe some assistance with it, if you want to. This should be easier project than the MT one I hope :-P
    Quote from the Helms Deep theard, still looking to make this map but haven't really tried for two days but I'd be glad for any tips.

  17. #37
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    ///

    go here to the first post of this thread and after that especially look
    at the second post for editing the "descr_battle.txt". that will help
    you al lot - but we will always try to help you whereever we can.

    ///

  18. #38
    Zikko's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Pressing both LMB and RMB makes the object disadpear for me atleast, not undo, disappear. Cant really try anything more complex maps because of that since I cant rotate objects

  19. #39
    jản's Avatar █ kept in suspense █
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Berlin / Germany
    Posts
    1,450

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Quote Originally Posted by Zikko View Post
    Pressing both LMB and RMB makes the object disadpear for me atleast, not undo, disappear. Cant really try anything more complex maps because of that since I cant rotate objects
    me too - i cant rotate them as well. [user]axnsan[/user] can - maybe you should ask him.

  20. #40
    Zikko's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: -- BATTLE EDITOR for TATW (Tutorials, Help, Development) --

    Anxsan, please tell us how to rotate objects

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •