Thread: ERE tips and advice

Incontinenta Buttox's Avatar Protector Domesticus

Default ERE tips and advice

I am hoping to get some good advice on how to play the ERE early on.

I am no noob. I am a MTW veteran and usually play on VH/VH. But I have been getting my shorts pulled down as the ERE.

The problem is the Turks. I usually start by racing to take the two rebel settlements in Anatolia as fast as possible. Every time so far it has led to a confrontation with a full Turkish stack of Elite Cavalry. Every time I gathered up all the best troops I could muster and attacked them. But the Turkish stack is full of very high quality troops who make mincemeat of anything I throw against them.

How do the Turks get access to so many elite troops early on? There just seems to be no counter to them. I have had Turkish light horse archers charge my spearmen head on then proceed to slaughter them in melee. I'm sorry but light cavalry should not be able to charge uphill straight into to fully formed up spearmen and then slaughter them in melee easily.

Don't get me wrong. It's great to have a proper challenge at last. I would just like to know how other players have handled this challenge.

Perhaps I should avoid war with the Turks at all costs early on?

Default Re: ERE tips and advice