View Poll Results: Are you for or against Capital Punishment?

Voters
82. You may not vote on this poll
  • For

36 43.90%
  • Against

46 56.10%
Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: The Death Penalty

Tom Paine's Avatar Mr Common Sense
    Patrician

Silver Spring, Maryland (inside the Beltway)

Default The Death Penalty

As an English resident, I have no experience of the death penalty. I have also lost no relatives (to my knowledge) to violent crime. So I am starting this topic up in order to see what kind of views others have on the death penalty, and why. By the way, I am anti-capital punishment, but can see some arguments for it and I suppose I might have a different view in different personal circumstances.

Bovril's Avatar Primicerius
    Civitate Patrician

I'm not a fan of the death penalty for three main reasons:
    1. You can't appeal after being executed.
    2. It costs so damn much. In the U.S killing people often costs more than putting them away for life.
    3. I think civilised, compassionate societies should aim to reform, not just to punish, criminals.

I just dont understand how we are supposed to teach people to not kill by killing people. Its quite a paradox
    "I will call them my people,
    which were not my people;
    and her beloved,
    which was not beloved"
    Romans 9:25

Quote Originally Posted by Bovril
    I'm not a fan of the death penalty for three main reasons:
    1. You can't appeal after being executed.
    2. It costs so damn much. In the U.S killing people often costs more than putting them away for life.
    3. I think civilised, compassionate societies should aim to reform, not just to punish, criminals.